We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just hosted a two day industry summit at the Inn for a host of trade association staff. Our event couldn't have been better. Accommodations are stellar, and the staff could not have done more to make us feel at home or to make our meeting a success. This is a beautiful facility - whether you are spending a romantic weekend away or you are planning a conference - I can't say enough good things about the Inn or its management. Having visited on business, I am anxious to return on my own time and take advantage of all the Inn and St. Michaels have to offer.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious, the furnishings and amenities luxurious, and the views are stellar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianPlaska, Director of Sales at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear RobTCH,

I sincerely thank you, on behalf of our hotel and staff, for the lovely comments you've shared.

We are delighted to know that your stay at our hotel exceeded your expectations and that your group had a successful meeting.

We value all comments and they encourage us to keep working every day to better our service and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Plaska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    212
    80
    51
    21
See reviews for
111
714
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Belmond Inn at Perry Cabin is a lovely historic inn (with new additions) situated beautifully along the water. The property is kept up well and there are many people working to keep it beautiful. The staff is largely helpful. However, there was a very noisy group one night just above our heads (insufficient insulation - we heard them all night). we asked to be moved to another room and left for the day. When we came back (at "check in time") our new room was not ready. This was not "exactly the same room" as we had been in before, and as was promised. They did send a note and a bottle of wine as an apology, but it just shouldn't have happened. The furniture in the living area (we sprang for a suite) was well past its prime and needs replacing. It is really expensive by any normal measure and while we liked being there, I'm not sure we'd return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water, hopefully not blocked by trees or construction vehicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trackervienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianPlaska, Director of Sales at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear TrackerVienna_VA,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to Inn at Perry Cabin. I was pleased to read that the staff and setting were to your liking. I apologize for the noise complaint and for your room not being ready at the appropriate time. We are in the early stages of planning our next renovation which will include guest room furnishings.

We do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Brian Plaska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, MD
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staff was wonderful from the second we arrived - greeting us at the car with umbrellas (it was pouring) and checking us in quickly and efficiently. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and the Inn provided a complementary room upgrade (to a suite) and a nice bottle of red wine to enhance our celebration. We enjoyed a lovely evening by the water on the lawn swing. I only wish we had more time there to try the amenities. We did not get to use the spa or the pool, but other guests were commenting on how much they enjoyed those amenities.

The bed was very comfortable, room was clean, very spacious and very quiet. Although we were right next to the elevator, we never had any noise from outside our room. Many nice touches. It would have been nice to have in room coffee and tea service. Those were only available by order. Turn-down service included delicious cookies and bottled water.

The only meal we had was at the bar on our first night and although the food was okay, you will get a much better meal for the money at one of the many nice places on Talbot Street.

We would return again, but only if we planned to spend more time at the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianPlaska, Director of Sales at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear MaggieN,

Thank you for selecting Inn at Perry Cabin for your 30th Anniversary. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable visit and we certainly do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Plaska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Michaels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Went to the Inn at Perry Cabin with my new wife for our minimoon! It was PERFECT. We rode bikes into the quiet town, went to the winery, brewery and a few bars and met very nice people. The Inn was amazing and truly first class.

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianPlaska, Director of Sales at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Sean P,

Thank you to both you and your new wife for selecting Belmond Inn at Perry Cabin for your minimoon. I was pleased to read that everything was perfect and we certainly do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Plaska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our one-year anniversary. It was a wonderful experience! The room was beautiful and comfortable and the staff (with the exception of one waitress) were friendly and helpful. We brought our golden retriever along and he was treated like a king! Even had a canine room service menu which we ordered from as a treat for our old boy.....it was brought on a silver tray with a napkin and home-made dog treat! He was on dog heaven!

I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianPlaska, Director of Sales at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Julie M,

Thank you for selecting Belmond Inn at Perry Cabin for your Anniversary celebration. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable visit and was most pleased that you brought your Golden Retriever with you as we are indeed, both the hotel and the town of St. Michaels, very dog friendly.

We do hope to see the three of you again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Plaska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were looking to get away for the Memorial Day weekend and were told about the Inn by a friend. Looked at the reviews and we said it can't be this good, so we had to try it. From the moment we pulled into the drive we felt welcome. The staff at reception, I wish I could remember their names, made us feel like we belonged there. The grounds were beautiful as were all the buildings on the grounds. Everything was well maintained. Then we got to our room, or should I say suite. From the thick soft carpet throughout the suite, to the living room with the romantic fireplace, the hugh bathroom with the giant whirlpool tub ad the bedroom with the king sized bed, get the picture, this was luxury at it's finest.
The shuttle to town was great so you don't need to drive and look for parking, but if like us you enjoy a nice walk, town is close enough for a little stroll.
We wanted to get away for everything so the next two days were spent relaxing by the beautiful pool, where the staff kept you hydrated with water(at no cost) or reasonable priced cocktails.

Room Tip: Go to the hotel sites and look for deals on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianPlaska, Director of Sales at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Arnie J,

I sincerely thank you, on behalf of our hotel and staff, for the lovely comments you've shared.

We are delighted to know that your stay at our hotel exceeded your expectations.

We value all comments and they encourage us to keep working every day to better our service and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Plaska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London W.8.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

. . . that the new owners don't alter the place too dramatically. Yes, it is a little tired in places and some updating is a good idea but the point of it all is that it is relaxing, comfortable and in the most delightful spot.

We arrived straight off a flight from Europe and a 2 hour drive from Dulles Airport - exhausted. We were completely charmed by our welcome and the ease of it all. The room was extremely comfortable, the bathroom excellent and the service, on the whole, was very good. St Michael's itself is a delightful place with a wonderful Maritime Museum and the town is chockablock with 18th and 19th century clapboard houses.

Back to the hotel - we did sense amongst the staff a slight nervousness in the air about the future - it seemed that no one quite knew what the changes might be. It would be a shame if this turns into the sort of place frequented by the glitterati along with their perishing motor boats and designer handbags. At the moment all is peaceful and calm, the occasional yacht gliding by, the garden a triumph of harmony. Long may that last. One minor hiccough was some dire music pumped over the terrace on a couple of occasions - we did plead for it to be switched off. Who on earth requires a cacophonous accompaniment to breakfast - isn't the turning of a newspaper page enough?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianPlaska, Director of Sales at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Shellfire,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to Belmond Inn at Perry Cabin. Judging by your comments is certainly seems that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

We do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Plaska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
459 reviews
18.2 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
585 reviews
7.8 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.8 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
0.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond

Property: Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Address: 308 Watkins Lane, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Award Winner, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, is a 78 room waterfront estate with a nod to the legendary history of Maryland's fabled Eastern Shore. Cradled by the Chesapeake's Miles River, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond sits on the edge of St. Michaels, a town steeped in the region's crabbing and oystering traditions. The Inn boasts a top-rated spa, a zero-edge pool, acclaimed dining, Afternoon Tea and countless activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Perry Cabin By Orient-Express Hotel St. Michaels
Hotel At Perry
Inn Perry Cabin
Inn At Perry Cabin By Belmond St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing