We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Believe It!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I am a Choice Hotel employee so when traveling I always stay at a Choice property. I have stayed in many Choice Hotels, and this is by far one of the WORST I have ever been to. I don't even know how they could have ever passed their Choice inspection! When checking in the person at the front desk (the GM) gave us a hard time. Neither person at the front desk were in a Choice standard uniform. The lobby smelled and was hot because according to the gsr, the manager "never wanted to turn on the ac unless she threatened to kill him." There were panels missing out of the ceiling and lights were flickering in the hallway. In the room there was blood on the walls and on the floor, and there were stains all over the matress. The carpets didn't looked vacuumed, and the tub was dirty. We heard dogs barking on the second floor all night. It was the dirtiest, most unprofessional hotel I have ever been to. If it wasn't for the cancellation policy and the fact that ever other hotel in town was booked, I would have definitely stayed somewhere else. This hotel really gives the Choice brand a bad name! I will never go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMC856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnsalisbury, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thanks for writing about your recent experience at our hotel. We really appreciate it. As far as the problems that you claim to have encountered, I would like to respectfully disagree because if you were the employee of another comfort inn hotel, I am sure you very well know that you had a " deeply discounted " rate which you could not have found if you stayed at other hotels and because all the hotels in the town were sold out, you would have paid for one night then the combined two night stay total for your stay. The carpets are brand new and DO NOT have any stains whatsoever. Also, there were unauthorized guests in the room for which you were not charged and we allowed those extra people to stay too. It is really regretful that someone can stoop so low in making allegations for a hotel that has just gone through some major renovations and replaced old carpets, furniture, television etc. and put in new carpets that have no stains whatsoever. We take pride in what we offer to our customers and are lucky to have customers who come back to us for the " friendliness" of front desk staff. The person who checked you in was me and I do recall that you did not have enough money on debit card and wanted to pay one night at a time when you had reservation for two nights and we went above our way to allow you to do that when no other hotel will do that. You are expected to pay for the entire duration at the time of check in and this hotel made an exception to that and you still were not happy ? For a hotel who is trying everything it can to make sure it upgrades the property so the guests have better experience at the hotel, someone like you really does injustice to the hotel by making up things that do not exist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because all other hotels were booked. We will not stay here ever again. It is a lower-class hotel with nonworking toilets and air conditioning. We had to call each day about our toilet. Both days it took the maintenance guy one hour to fix which delayed us because we had to stick around. One night when we returned back to the hotel there were two stray dogs in the hall with the maintenance guy. He was looking for their owners no one was to be found.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLTLincolnPark_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnsalisbury, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

This complaint has no merits and is simply because hotel refused to issue refund to the customer. We stand by our standards of cleanliness and will assure you that we operate at a much higher level then what is being told of us by this reviewer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed here because all other hotels were booked. We will not stay here ever again. It is a lower-class hotel with nonworking toilets and air conditioning. We had to call each day about our toilet. Both days it took the maintenance guy one hour to fix. don't stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLTLincolnPark_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnsalisbury, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thanks for writing a review for our hotel on tripadvisor.com. I will come straight to the complain you had about our plumbing problem. The toilet did stop working and we did send a maintenance person in to fix it but because you were in a hurry, you did not allow the maintenance person to finish his job. we even offered to move you to a different room and you refused. we allowed you to use another bathroom until we fixed the problem and also spoke to you about this when you checked out. Just because we did not accept your demand of giving you a full refund does not mean that you can go on the internet and write bad review about our hotel. This may sound like an offensive language but we have hundreds of repeat customers who always stay with us and we get blamed by someone who stay with us for entire duration, enjoys breakfast and refuses to move and yet, asks for a refund when checking out of the hotel. We refused to do that so now we are slapped with a bad review. What a shame !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

yeh it's wore out. worst showers i've experienced out of 100's of hotels i've stayed at. instant scalding (water temp is way above 120F) then instant ice cold water about every 60 seconds. miserable after a long cold day at work. bathroom fan was as loud as a lawn mower for 2 days then it quit altogether. windows were caulked shut so there was zero ventilation. my room was a cave. pet friendly is mutually exclusive to guest friendly. barking dogs. welcome to the comfort kennel! so you get the usual filthy hotel carpet with pet dander. when on business there i usually stay at another hotel which was full. if that happens again i'll stay at the motel 6. at least the showers will work and they leave the light on for ya.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluesSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnsalisbury, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thanks for writing a review on tripadvisor for us. We appreciate it. As far as your comments are concerned, we respectfully disagree. We do not have filthy carpets at this hotel. We recently replaced all our interior and exterior carpets and every piece of carpet whether it be hallways, breakfast area or guest room, it has been replaced so I am not sure where you saw the filthy carpets. As far as the dog show is concerned, yes we did have a dog show and we had lots of dogs but all the area hotels rely on that dog show for their source of revenue so there is not a whole lot we could do. As far as the water temperature is concerned, we had an equipment malfunction in the middle of the night which caused the hotel to have no hot water for two hours but we did call an emergency plumbing company and they were able to fix the problem before 6 AM so this was a one time deal and not a daily problem. With all the renovations taking place, i do not think this hotel is an old cow anymore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

First of all, I want to say the staff of this hotel is outstanding. That said, the hotel is undergoing renovations that it sorely needs. The rooms are very outdated. Stairs only to second floor, no elevator. It is very affordable and maybe worth looking at in a few months when remodeling is done.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnsalisbury, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor for us. We take this review as a positive because we feel that it reflects a true picture of the hotel as experienced by a real consumer. I do agree that the hotel is older and needs renovations and as you mentioned in your own words, that is exactly what we are undergoing. With the best location in the town, we will definitely benefit from these renovations once complete ( in about two weeks ). I apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced because of these renovations and hope to have you back in Salisbury to stay with us in our newly renovated rooms. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Needs updated bad worst comfort inn I've ever been in! You cant even open the window because it was screwed shut! Dust all over. the hotel phone didn't even have address on it like every hotel! Co worker and I had to move the tv to middle of the room so we could both see the tv. No flat screen. Found a spoon while moving dresser/tv. Not worth the price. The lady at front desk was snippy! Ill Never stay here again. Only thing I can say good about this place is the location has plenty of places to eat around it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleeonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnsalisbury, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback. We really appreciate it. I would like to say one thing and that is we are going through a major renovation right now so there is going to be some dust issues etc. AS far as no flat screen televisions issue, we would like to say that we have new televisions that have just arrived and are being installed in the rooms. As far as front desk employees are concerned, they have been here for years and are trained to provide best customer service. We have front desk staff that has been here for 10 and 20 years and the only reason why they are still working here is because they provide BEST customer service. I feel that you had some inconveniences due to the ongoing renovations but once complete, we will have brand new carpets, furniture and beds. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stopped for a quick night stay with our dog. Friendly helpful staff. Door did not latch, outside door did not latch, so people could easily walk dog. Why stay in a room on a inside hall if the outside door is unlocked? Room was old, needed a good cleaning large cobweb under sink, very dusty chairs, beds comfy and clean. room smelled of mothballs!

Room Tip: Very good hot breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsgramboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnsalisbury, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thanks for your recent stay at our hotel and thanks for your comments about your experience. I certainly understand your concern about the updating that needs to be done for our property. We are in the process of replacing the entire furniture as well as carpets and also getting rid of our older beds to replace with new serta perfect sleeper hotel beds. I apologize for some of the issues but would like to assure you that we maintain a very strict cleanliness standards. We invite you to visit us during your future visit to Salisbury and I am sure you will see the change. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
454 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury
2.2 mi away
Best Western Salisbury Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Salisbury
Courtyard Salisbury
#4 of 14 in Salisbury
260 reviews
1 mi away
Residence Inn Salisbury
Residence Inn Salisbury
#7 of 14 in Salisbury
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 2701 N Salisbury Blvd, Salisbury, MD 21801-2144 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £41 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get more value for your hard-earned money at the Quality Inn® hotel in Salisbury, MD, ideally located near Salisbury University. Our pet-friendly Salisbury hotel is also near: University , Wicomico Youth & Civic Center Henry S. Parker Athletic Complex Chincoteague Island Rehoboth Beach Salisbury Zoo Our amenities offer so much value, you'll feel like you've found a bargain. They include: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Free coffee Free parking All of our inviting guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and TVs. Some rooms include whirlpools. Get your money's worth at the Quality Inn. Salisbury hotels help you relax and focus on the people and experiences you came for. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Salisbury
Comfort Inn Salisbury
Salisbury Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing