We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time”

Historic Savage Mill
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Savage
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

While visiting Baltimore we saw the brochure for Historic Savage Mill. It was Saturday and it stated it was open 10am - 9pm. We got there around 4:30, was a 40 minute drive . Quaint place on first entering. Unfortunately over half of the stores were closed by 5:30. Very disappointing! Most that were still open were very expensive. Did not go to Rams Head Tavern, just wanted to leave. Then we had a 40 min ride back to our Hotel. If you are there for a short visit, go somewhere else!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“arts, crafts, one of a kind gifts all under one roof.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Women will like the upscale bric-a-brac and furniture. There are a lot of things you can touch, handle, but couldn't ever afford. Men will enjoy buying one of a kind gifts for the women in their lives. One building handles auctions of antiques. There is a large basement full of things sold on consignment. I have held a genuine Roman sword, pawed through jewelry dug up by archaeologists, and view countless items of American memorabilia. If you like the show "Pickers" you will enjoy this place. There is a restaurant and a sandwich place which serves ice cream and floats. If you get bored you can climb ropes and slide down zip lines for a small fee. I buy many gifts for girlfriends at Savage Mill. If you look carefully you can find something unique and handmade for every budget. A number of stores sell craft supplies. This places gets very crowded on weekends. If you must visit on a weekend plan on coming as soon as the stores open.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elias David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fun shops, antiques, and a bar to boot!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good place to shop and browse. They have gallerys, clothing, a really good clock shop, a game store and more. Ther is also a good bar/restaurant (Rams Head Tavern) and beautiful walking trails near by.

The complex is big and you should check out their website if you are thinking of going.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank masd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastlake, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food at Ram's Head and Quaint Atmosphere in Savage”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

While visiting Baltimore, we met up with family who lived in the D.C. area. They suggested that we meet in the middle which put us to Savage, Maryland. They had a recommendation for the Ram's Head Tavern so we met them for lunch. The food was delish and plentiful. We went in the Spring and it was nice to walk from the overflow parking area and see all the beautiful houses and gardens and trees in bloom (Spring hadn't quite made it to Ohio yet). It was a nice sunny day that even my kids enjoyed walking the ground and appreciating the beauty and step back in time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsBeagle912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Quaint place”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Neat local place with charm. Interesting mix of shops in a historic mill. Great trip from Washington for 1/2 day.

Helpful?
Thank weekendwonder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Savage Mill also viewed

 

Been to Historic Savage Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing