We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly”
Review of Cafe Bretton

Cafe Bretton
Ranked #8 of 78 Restaurants in Severna Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
232 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Nice selection of French and Mediterranean cuisine. Herb and vegetable garden out back. Victor is professional and courteous. Good wine list at reasonable prices. Charming country setting. You don't realize you're in the middle of Severna Park. You can drive past it if you aren't paying attention.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NikonGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    10
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never got through the door....”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We came to Cafe Breton after a change in plan. We ALWAYS make a reservation as a courtesy to restaurants, but this evening we found ourselves without one and driving to find a nice meal for a date-night.

We waited over 5 minutes in the vestibule for someone to greet us. Twice servers said someone would be coming. Another couple came in after us.

When someone finally did arrive, the male host asked if we had a reservation. We said we did not. He gestured to the couple behind us and said, "But they do...." While he indicated he could set up a table "at some point", we felt completely unwelcomed and my husband decided to leave.

My husband works in the hospitality industry and we frequent restaurants all over the world (just returned from France in October). We like to patronize local restaurants, but this reception left us unsure of whether or not we will return again...

We wound up at Cafe Mezzanote, nearby, and enjoyed a FABULOUS meal with a FANTASTIC server (who, we later learned, had previously worked at Cafe Breton).

Perhaps we will have better luck next time. We have previously provided a positive review.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoneymoonEveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Mediterrean Restaurant”
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

We have been to Cafe Bretton a half dozen times and have not been disappointed. Food is fresh and creative. Service is good but could be a little quicker. The chef/owner can be seen greeting diners and working the room. He is willing to modify the menu item and make old favorites as long as he has the ingredients. Prices are reasonable. Cafe Bretton is a reliable and pleasant place to dine on French and Italian dishes.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mike71md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Old World Charm”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Among the very best of hidden treasures in A.A. Co., Cafe Bretton offers fine cuisine and an excellent wine list. The unusual and creative specials are always a delight. You are never rushed and the service is outstanding. I often take friends here for special occasions such as birthdays, when I want them to have a first class dining experience. If the weather is nice, you can stroll along the edge of the onsite vegetable and herb garden. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevensville, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful evening”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I ate at Cafe Bretton this past weekend for the first time and what a treat! I live on the eastern shore of Maryland and am accustomed to much more casual food and decor so a more upscale restaurant was a welcome change. The building is charming and quaint and the rooster and pig decor makes you smiler. The excellent service begins the moment you enter the door. You are well taken care of by a friendly but professinal staff. The food is excellent. The fish and shellfish special with a tomato broth was delicious as was the onion soup and the sole meuniere. Desserts which they bring in from a Baltimore patisserie were straight out of France. I highly recommend this restaurant for food, service and atmosphere and will definitley be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulae358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bretton also viewed

 
Severna Park, MD
 

Been to Cafe Bretton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing