We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but disappointed in hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at this location during a recent business trip to the DC area. I chose this hotel for the convenient location and easy access to Baltimore, Downtown DC, and the Beltway. Other than that, I was completely disappointed with the actual property. The front desk staff were unfriendly, and even rude when I checked in. The valet staff is slow, even when calling for your car 15-20 minutes ahead. The rooms are okay, a bit shabby and run down in the bathroom and kitchen area. Even the hallways need some updating (stained carpets, broken ice machine). In the future, I would rather drive a bit more out of my way and stay somewhere I feel more comfortable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank vps5c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. We have addressed the issues you brought to our attention with our staff for immediate attention. Again thank you for your comments and we hope you will again visiti us when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites Silver Spring
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Location is very good. Other than that not great value for the money spent. Parking is not free $15/day. Not very kid friendly... Dinner was alright.. Breakfast was almost same everyday. Staff were allright. I needed a place where we could cook if we had to.. Kitchen utensils were not that great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Sikchya U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. We will looking into the comments you made regarding breakfast. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay with us. Alana Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The room itself was clean with the pool area and workout room also clean and well stocked. However breakfast in the morning was a bit of a disappointment. I have stayed here in the past so it was particularly disappointing to see they had sausage for breakfast every single day I was there...and I stayed a full week. The eggs had some weird green garnish that caused them to taste funny and they had the same flavor nutri grain bars every day. The pancakes were hard and inedible most of the time. It seems this place lost its creativity from previous stays as they would have scones...bacon and french toast sticks in my previous stays. Very disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding lyour recent stay at our property Your comments regarding our breakfast are appreciated and we are taking steps to eliminate these issues. Alana Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great place if wanting full kitchen and lots of room. I had complaints about the bathroom layout (no towel racks and no mirror for getting up close and personal) but overall this is a clean quiet place. The included breakfast was quite good. The lobby layout is strange with 2 different service desks depending on which hotel you are staying at. Be sure you are in line at the right one!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Homewood Suites in Silver Spring.
We have noted your comments regarding our breakfast and will do what ios necessary to improve. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Alana Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel did not smell very good in general. Very distinct smell of old cigarettes. The temperature in the room was very inconsistent. Water did not immediately work several times during my stay. The laundry facilities provided can barely be called working. It cost me about $20 for one load of laundry. $2 each for detergent, fabric softener, washing machine, and dryer. Pulled my clothes out of the dryer and they smelled awful and were not even close to dry. So I had to do the whole thing again! Giant waste of my time and a very profitable scam being run by the hotel. The driveway and parking at this hotel is a joke! The parking situation at the hotel could not be any more annoying. The entryway for the hotel consistently had twice as many cars as it could handle and of course it costs $15 for that mess you call overnight parking! Needless to say, I wont be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Tyler Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for your comments, as discussed we have addressed the issues and look forward to seeing you again. Alana Smith General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Fantastic Hotel. Great service from the staff. Very attentive. Was in Silver Spring on business and the only thing my team thought wasn't perfect was breakfast and manager's reception. We wished we had had the Hampton Inn's breakfast with Omelettes and Waffles. The manager reception was a light dinner (delicious the two nights we had it) and beer and wine. Small thing to gripe about was that there was no bar with cocktails for the reception as in other Homewood Suites or Embassy Suites. Again, no biggie. Stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Byron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thanks for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit. Alana Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is in an area that is near shopping, restaurants and the subway. The staff were helpful and nice. The rooms are very small (when using the sleeper sofa...it is almost impossible to walk from the bed to the kitchen area. The breakfast was OK....I have had better quality at other Homewood Suites. The lobby is very small....but clean. The bed was hard as a rock!

Next time in the area....I will check out alternate accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RondaJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Alana Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
353 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Residence Inn Silver Spring
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Address: 8728 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range: £98 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing