We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed but it worked out.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It started off bad but ended up ok... Thanks to an employee by the name of Keith! He was a jewel!! I had 7 girls with me and requested a connecting room I called well in advance and even called the day before as well as the morning of and was told each time that everything was 'fine' (in a rude way) but for some reason I felt the need to 'make sure' but when we got there w/ 2 adults and 7 girls there were NO connecting rooms available!! Keith had the best personality & attitude he allowed us to see the rooms and found us the biggest one available and made sure we had plenty of sheets/pillows/towels etc. it was his attitude, personality and empathy that made our stay a lot better! The kids enjoyed the pool. The room was cold on one side but burning up on the other, other than that it was clean and the kids enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Keisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that our valued employee, Keith was able to assist you, and we have passed on your comments to him. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to meet all of your expectations when you next visit our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great experience - really enjoyed my stay. Close to Washington and all the sites. Close to food and the mall. Easy access to metro. Clean and very well kept property. Close to movies. Everything is in walking distance. Hotel is very centralized for families. Will definantely use them again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at our property and we look forward to being your host when you again visit the Silver Spring area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The staff at this hotel went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable. It was raining upon check out and they put our suitcases in our trunks and held umbrellas over us as we got in our cars. Restaurants and shops withing walking distance. Rooms were comfortable. Shower head is a problem, too high and not adjustable so your hair will get wet every time. Breakfast the norm but the staff was extremely friendly asking if we needed anything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank annietc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The great reviews helped me choose this hotel. I agree with all the good that has been mentioned, and, I do not understand most of the bad comments. Don't let those comments keep you from this hotel.
We were visiting family in Silver Spring, and wanted a day in DC. The location of this hotel made it ideal. A ten minute walk to the Metro, which took us to 2 blocks from the first Museum we wanted to see. The metro ticket booths are a challenge, but, that has nothing to do with the hotel.
Our 4.5 hour drive from NY took 7 hours, so it was nice to have an easy check in. I read to request a large room. I did, they changed the room we reserved,and, our room was great for us. We did not need the full kitchen, but it's always nice to have a refrigerator. Stores and restaurants are a few blocks away. We enjoyed the short walk and the variety of restaurants.
We parked in the lot around the block, as recommended on TA, which is free after 7pm on Friday through to midnight on Sunday.
Breakfast- it is free and there were many choices. It was good. Was it fabulous ? No, but,very good. From waffles, to cereal,oatmeal,yogurt, omelettes, muffins,fresh fruit, danish, bagels, juices, coffee, tea..... pretty good options for a FREE breakfast.
I highly recommend this hotel. We will be back for future visits .

Room Tip: Request a "larger" room. I'm repeating that from another comment. I requested, and our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbeach6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Happy Holidays. Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It's a pleasure to know that we contributed to your positive experience while visiting the Washington, DC area. Bset Wishes for a great 2014 and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I was very impressed with the complimentary breakfast and manager's evening reception. It was nice to have it available. Everyone was very friendly. I didn't know what to think about the valet service at first since there is no parking available on site, but I loved the service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. It's a pleasure to have been your host. We look forward to you next visit with us. Happy Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

First I would say I really like the Hilton brand…. if not I swear by it, but what they have going on here is less than Hilton. Spec on hotel is on point. Kitchenette, and a nice space. Nice for traveling families. The SERVICE and COMPETENCY will leave you questioning am I really paying for this crap LOL… Valet is a joke… A big joke! I was charged on my card(143.00 and paid cash143.00 for the same( night) room. Here the kicker I wasn't at the hotel so who authorized my card??????? This is XMAS day. I get to the hotel and pay cash. No receipt given. LOL. Day after Xmas look at my acct and I have two pending charges for the same (night) room! Pissed is an understatement when I called front desk and no one seems to have a clue, then I was instructed to "call your bank and see what they can do for you." OH really I thought. As a business owner/ merchant I usually call the customer bank if I've made a mistake, not ask them to!! REALLY?? Now I'm definitely questioning am I at a Hilton hotel or motel don't have a clue! Still no call from the manager for a simple "we apologize for anything." No one is paying me for all my time lost sorting and aggravation of out things with my bank or international vendors…. so an apology is the least….. It's Really sad, I'm soooo soo disappointed because its a nice hotel Physically with a great location. From the breakfast shutting down early or no food ready, the to the don't care attitude of most staff members, MIA Valet attendants, broken key machines at check in. Most of all NO SIMPLE APOLOGY, I'm stunned its a Hilton brand! GOOD Luck. I would only return to this hotel if booked by third party where i'm paying half of the cost now and have no expectations of even a little bit of costumer service!!! 2+ complete hours of my morning gone dealing with homewood non sense… Again am I at a Hilton hotel???????LOL what a joke!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nomadicbeauty777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit to our property. We have addressed the issues and hope that you will give us the opportunity to meet
and exceed your expectations when you next visit the Silver Spring area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have not had one bad experience at homewood suites in silver spring. The staff are always friendly. Always willing to help when needed. The front desk staff does a good job on checking to make sure that things are delivered to your room in a timely manner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. On behalf of the entire staff at Homewood, Happy Holidays, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Residence Inn Silver Spring
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Address: 8728 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range: £78 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing