We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Anguilla
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Kudos to the team at Homewood Suites. While I am still staying here and won't leave for the next few days I felt compelled to comment on the very pleasant and helpful staff of the Homewood Suites/Hampton Inn at Silver Springs.

Hotel Manager Michael Harold sets a fine example for the staff as he meets and greets people with a professionalism and friendliness that makes one feel like - yes, I'm home! Lyndra, while not the most effusive of persons, greeted and helped my family and I with a quiet deliberate professionalism. (I would like to see her smile more though :). While I stayed in a Homewood Suites room, my dad and his wife were in a Hampton Inn room, and the entire team made the experience at the hotel seamless. Mark on the Hampton Inn side was also very pleasant and helpful.

The Homewood suites are as befitting a Homewood. The premium rooms are clean and come with full sized refrigerator, microwave and stovetop range. The sofa bed is NOT comfortable at all. That is the one downside. The breakfast is relatively varied and tasty enough although not particularly special - I agree with one reviewer that there doesn't seem to be a significant difference between the Hampton Inn and the Homewood Suites breakfast fare. What was served at one breakfast area one day seemed to have been replicated part at the other the next day.

The hotel is nicely located - a short walk away is downtown Silver Spring with movies and lots of fine restaurants and attractions. The City Place Mall is across the road. The Metro is a short 10 min walk away and the hotel shuttle ( shared between Hampton Inn, Homewood Suites and the Doubletree across the road) will also drop you there. From the Metro you can access most of the rest of DC including DCA.

Great location, great staff, comfortable rooms. What more could one expect?

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenn_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Kenn_P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing our warm and hospitable staff members including our hotel manager. In addition, as you have mentioned our hotel is within minutes away from nearest metro station and we do offer a complimentary shuttle service within 3 miles range from the hotel as well.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    142
    77
    39
    19
See reviews for
225
66
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A great hotel and a great relaxed stay. I spent four nights in this hotel with my two sons and enjoyed every bit of my stay especially the comfortable bed and great breakfasts. I have done lots of international traveling and this is one of my most enjoyable stays at a hotel. I observed that all the staff seemed to be very efficient and happy on the job; this was remarkable. There was also this Lyndra young lady at reception, she is an excellent staff and will smartly and efficiently clarify anything you wish to know. She is impressive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Folasade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Folasade D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing our warm and hospitable staff members.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Overall the hotel was not bad...I travel about 180 days per year on business and stay in a lot of hotels. Restaurant staff did not comprehend english well, and neither the parking staff. On my last day I had to wait almost 40 minutes for my car, although they tell you it will take 20 minutes. Shower would cut in and out while using it, and the wi-fi was weak...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Ronald T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Our success is dependent on the feedback we get from loyal customers like you. I'm so sorry to hear that our breakfast and valet service did not exceed the expectation. We hope that you'll give us the opportunity to make this up to you the next time you're passing through. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay with us feel more like home.


Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel during our vacation to Washington DC. We loved the free dinner and the breakfast. The staff was very helpful. The valets helped with parking concerns. Great value for family. We were able to get a complimentary shuttle to the redline. We liked the area and was perfect for the vacation. I was able to watch the DC fireworks right from our bed. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btaylor423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear btaylor423,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel location and the fireworks view from your room during 4th of July weekend.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our family booked this hotel so we could experience DC during the fourth of July Holiday. This hotel is conviently located near the Redline Metro. Downtown Silver Springs has many restaraunts to chose from. Great staff, braekfast and accomadations!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Wendy S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing our warm and hospitable staff members.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is a good value. It's a longer walk to the Metro with luggage, but it's still fairly close. Lots of great restaurants and shopping steps away from the hotel. I would stay here again. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kristine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Kristine D,

I'm Paul, general manager at the Homewood Suites Silver Spring. Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. Our hotel is within minutes away from the nearest metro station but we also do offer complimentary shuttle to/from Silver Spring metro station for guest convenience. Please let us know when you visit next time and we will ensure that we pick you up from the Silver Spring metro station.

Next time you're passing through, our team members will be glad to share even more local flavors with you. Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience with this review. We hope to see you next time very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When I first checked into the hotel I unpacked my clothes and cranked the AC to take a nap after a long trip on the plane and Metro. However as I lied there I noticed it wasn't getting any cooler than 74 degrees even after being there for an hour. Calling the front desk they sent a maintenance man and eventually got me a new room.

In my haste I forgot to grab a belt I left in the room. I called down and asked that they retrieve it for me since I no longer had a key to the room. They said they could not find the belt anywhere despite me telling them exactly where I had left it. Who in gods name steals a belt?!

The breakfast on the homewood side is honestly no better than the breakfast on the free hampton inn side. When I went to the hampton side to visit a friend the breakfast was essentially the same minus the ceramic plates on the homewood side. So if you want to save money by staying on the hampton side and usually stay on the homewood side because of breakfast do not bother.

The room quality once I got the correct room was great...however the incident with my missing belt and sub par breakfast left a bad taste in my mouth...no pun intended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Phil K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am sorry about the lost & found experience that you had from us. We will search for your belt again to see if anything has been turned in to our Lost&Found department. In addition, I do apologize that you felt no difference between Hampton Inn and Homewood Suites breakfast menu. We do rotate our breakfast menu for both of our hotels to ensure that we provide an exceptional breakfast experience for all of our guests. The Homewood Suites do offer a complimentary dinner service in addition to breakfast for your value with your room rate.

Meanwhile, is there anything else I can do to ensure your stay is flawless next time? Please let me know by calling me at 301-565-0005. Again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience. Please consider staying with us again on your next visit to Silver Spring/DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Residence Inn Silver Spring
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Property: Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Address: 8728 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing