We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best night sleep in Silver Spring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best night sleep in Silver Spring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I am frequently in Silver Spring and this is consistently the best of Silver Spring. Nice staff. Comfortable room. The split hotel took a little getting used to but works well otherwise. The kitchenettes work well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMyselfNot_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear MeMyselfNot_I,

Thank you for once again choosing our hotel in Silver Spring! We appreciate your business and glad to hear that your stay is going well every time you visit us. We hope to see you in the near future again!

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    141
    75
    39
    19
See reviews for
225
65
22
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel was in an incredible location, the breakfast was awesome, and the room was more than comfortable! Definitely. Would. Return. The valet staff were friendly, always up for a laugh, and took great care of the cars.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Marsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Marsha F,

Thank you for taking your time to write a great review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed every moment of your stay with us! Our staff take a pride in their work and the service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Sign on bldg small and blocked by a truck so had to circle block a few times until I could send someone in to find out where you park

Good location for a hotel lots of things to walk to

Parkway diner a short auto trip

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Gene H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Our hotel offers a valet service to all of our guests for a reasonable daily fee. In addition, there is a complimentary parking garage available behind our hotel on the weekend only.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you in the near future again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

First of all, let me say that we normally love Homewood Suites. That's why this trip was so very disappointing to us. The room itself was perfect (as expected) but there are a few things that were upsetting:

1) The hotel was split between 2 hotels. The Hampton Inn side had 2 waffle makers at breakfast and the Homewood had none. Now that doesn't sound like a big thing, but to my kids (and hubbie) it is. We routinely use HS when traveling, and have come to expect the waffles!

2) The parking situation is pretty bad. The driveway is way to small and gets congested if more than 2 people are pulling in (or out). The valet folks are friendly...it just seams that they are often not staffed adequately. You need to call 30 mins ahead if you want your car to be ready. One time we returned from being in DC all day. When we walked up at midnight, our vehicle was parked right there in the circle (rather than being parked in valet). When we asked, they told us that "someone called at 9:00pm" for the car. Not sure why that mix up happened, but it was upsetting.

3) The pool area is dangerous. The tiles surrounding the pool are very slick and (obviously) wet. On the first day, my 8 year old fell and hit his side pretty hard. On 2 separate occasions, I watched someone else slip and fall. The lifeguard didn't even react (ask if they were ok, etc.)

4) The "laundry" area is ridiculous! There are only 2 washers and 2 dryers. When we were there, one of the dryers was "out of service". Neither one of the washers would take coins. We lost several dollars attempting to get started. We called the front desk to ask for assistance, and they sent the "maintenance man". He stated that the coin receptacle was full and couldn't take any more coins. He said that the "assistant manager" didn't have the keys to the money receptacle and that the "manager" had the only set of keys at his house. We had 3 loads of laundry (between 5 people) and ended up spending $20! Each wash cycle was $2 and each dry cycle $3. But the dryer didn't get the clothes dry with only one cycle. While sitting down in the laundry room, 7 other guests came down to do laundry. Everyone was pretty upset. By the time we finished our loads, there were 6 other loads (from other people) that had been washed and were waiting on the one dryer. All in all, it took us 5 hours to get our 3 loads done.

5) The Metro station is pretty far away but the front desk staff couldn't give us clear instructions on bus routes to get to and fro the hotel.

6) The pool hours are very inconvenient if you are a morning swimmer. It doesn't open until 4pm!

7) The front desk folks would not honor our request to speak to a "manager on duty". They tried to answer our questions (about why our car was taken out of valet inappropriately or if there was anything that could be done about the laundry situation) on their own but didn't offer to take us higher up the chain of command.

8) The last 2 nights, the housekeepers didn't stock our bathroom with towels, wash cloths, etc. we had to call and request them. That was a first for us.

I know it's a long list, but there were positive elements too (shuttle to and from the Metro station on request, fresh baked cookies (on the Hampton Inn side...we stole a few!), the kitchenette with full fridge, available roll-away, good air conditioner that kept us cool, and friendly (albeit not very knowledgeable) staff that tried to respond to our needs.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Kathryn T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Alos, thank you for noticing our "perfect" room and friendly staff.

I am so sorry about the breakfast, pool, laundry, and valet expereince that you had with us. All of your feedback has been considered and shared with appropriate managers to ensure that we better ourselves with feedback such as yours.

Is there anything I can do to ensure your stay is flawless next time? Please let me know by calling me at 301-565-0005. again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience. Please consider staying with us again on your next visit to Silver Spring area.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on visit to Washington. Everything was perfect. Very good location out of Washington (20 min) by car. Friendly and helpfull staff. would definatelly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank josY5328NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Jocelyn V,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing our warm and hospitable staff members.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The King Studio Suite is amazing! I stayed there with a relative. There is a kitchen with a stove, full fridge, microwave, coffee and tea maker. The are pots, pans, utensils and dishwashing liquid. The King bed is very comfortable. There is a flat screen tv, dining room table with 2 chairs and a sofabed. The bathroom is a great size and very clean. There is free wi-fi in the room and the business center. The staff were very friendly.

The building is shared with Hampton Hotel. There is free breakfast for both sets of guests. The Homewood Suites area is accessible via the hotel key. There are options for hot and cold food. There is a nice pool in the lower level and a great gym.

About a 5-10 minute walk there are a Wholefoods Market, movie theater, restaurants, shopping, and nice plaza to people watch.

It is 3 blocks from the Metro at Silver Spring station. Beware if you have luggage. You have to walk up a small hill.

Room Tip: The Studio suite with King Bed is very spacious. There is a very nice view of downtown Silver Sprin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Ruby H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing our great and spacious king studio suite room. We also do offer a complimentary shuttle service within 3 miles range from the hotel for guest convenience. The shuttle is readily available and serves to metro station as well.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anguilla
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Kudos to the team at Homewood Suites. While I am still staying here and won't leave for the next few days I felt compelled to comment on the very pleasant and helpful staff of the Homewood Suites/Hampton Inn at Silver Springs.

Hotel Manager Michael Harold sets a fine example for the staff as he meets and greets people with a professionalism and friendliness that makes one feel like - yes, I'm home! Lyndra, while not the most effusive of persons, greeted and helped my family and I with a quiet deliberate professionalism. (I would like to see her smile more though :). While I stayed in a Homewood Suites room, my dad and his wife were in a Hampton Inn room, and the entire team made the experience at the hotel seamless. Mark on the Hampton Inn side was also very pleasant and helpful.

The Homewood suites are as befitting a Homewood. The premium rooms are clean and come with full sized refrigerator, microwave and stovetop range. The sofa bed is NOT comfortable at all. That is the one downside. The breakfast is relatively varied and tasty enough although not particularly special - I agree with one reviewer that there doesn't seem to be a significant difference between the Hampton Inn and the Homewood Suites breakfast fare. What was served at one breakfast area one day seemed to have been replicated part at the other the next day.

The hotel is nicely located - a short walk away is downtown Silver Spring with movies and lots of fine restaurants and attractions. The City Place Mall is across the road. The Metro is a short 10 min walk away and the hotel shuttle ( shared between Hampton Inn, Homewood Suites and the Doubletree across the road) will also drop you there. From the Metro you can access most of the rest of DC including DCA.

Great location, great staff, comfortable rooms. What more could one expect?

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenn_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Kenn_P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing our warm and hospitable staff members including our hotel manager. In addition, as you have mentioned our hotel is within minutes away from nearest metro station and we do offer a complimentary shuttle service within 3 miles range from the hotel as well.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#10 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Residence Inn Silver Spring
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Property: Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Address: 8728 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing