We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Hampton that meets the standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Another Hampton that meets the standard”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We like the Hilton Honors program and like staying in both Embassy Suites and more often the Hampton Inn. This trip, we spent 5 nights touring DC. The Hampton Inn downtown was almost $80 - $100 more per night than the Silver Springs site. We were 3 blocks to the Metro Red line which took us most places we wanted to go directly. The hotel was clean and comfortable with the usual adequate breakfast. The manager, Michael was terrific and very personable. We would stay in this location again because the metro in DC is fabulous.

Room Tip: If you end up in a room with a funky angle cutting into it, ask to change. We did at first with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Marcia K,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure being your host and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    251
    149
    70
    35
See reviews for
291
138
62
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Overall, great hotel. Very clean, quiet, right in the center of Silver Spring with all the night spots and restaurants. If I would have had a car I would have been disappointed with the parking fee on top of the $200+ nightly rate. Something to think about.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Thomas M,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay with us. There is a complimentary parking option on the weekend behind our hotel. In addition, the public county parking behind our hotel is complimentary from 19:00 - 7:00AM.

It was a pleasure being your host and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

In DC for a medical appointment. Booked online same day as arrival. No issues with check-in and staff were very helpful. The room was appointed with 2 very firm beds but the bedding was clean. The room had several awkward walls which I would run into every night in the dark! The bathroom was clean and well stocked with linens. The room did not seem to have signs of much wear except a cracked lampshade on the desk where someone probably pushed it too close to the wall hanging. The AC IS LOUD. The first night there was a lot of noise from other rooms (baby crying, banging, and what sounded like a smoothie machine). I changed the setting of the AC from auto to low fan and the constant blowing of the fan created ambient soise reduction so as to drown out all other noises. We had free valet parking but 15$/day is nothing for DC metro area. Metro is 4 blocks away and walking distance. We had free WIFI and had strong and sufficient signal. The pool was over chlorinated and restricted times to just evening 4-10. Most likely due to on site life guard. The free hot breakfast is what you would expect, (make your own waffle, reconstituted eggs, dansh, angels, oatmeal, cold cereal). Overall a nice hotel near the metro at a cheaper price than downtown. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 1Skidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear 1Skidmore,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I do apologize that the AC noise was loud in your room. As mentioned, our hotel is within 2 blocks away from nearest Metro Station that allows easy access to DC and other major attractions.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This place has the friendliest, most accommodating staff I've ever seen. Valets at the start set the tone, genuinely welcoming. Breakfast cook super helpful with our allergy questions, digging out boxes to read ingredients. The lifeguard was awesome, producing goggles for our Girl Scouts to use for a pool game- his idea. Front desk let us check seven bags in their not so big office for the day after we had checked out. You can't train people to be kind, these folks just are. Nobody there was just going through the motions. Clean rooms, great breakfast, clean pool area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Nancy B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing our warm and hospitable staff members. We pride ourselves with the level of service we provide and glad to hear that we have exceeded your expectation.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I arrived at a very late hour and the staff was so incredibly accomodating and friendly. The agent at check in even helped me plan my crazy "DC Tour-cliff notes version" that I tried to stuff in less than 8 hours. What an amazing experience. The location was fabulous and so close to the Metro for easy/fast access into the heart of DC. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Vallorie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Vallorie P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing our warm and hospitable staff members.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring/DC again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

An excellent hotel close to the metro system - great food and amenties, spacious quiet rooms and excellent value for money. Made our holiday that much more enjoyable as we were able to get every where in very little time with the transport systems and walking distance to the metro. Close to food outlets and supermarkets

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank E8587LSjasonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear E8587LSjasonb,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing our complimentary breakfast, spacious and quite rooms.

When your travels take you to the Silver Spring again, we'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were very happy to find this hotel within an easy walk to the Metro into DC! The friendly, professional staff were great. We used the 'free parking package' which saved us a lot of time, stress and money. The breakfast was good as were the afternoon coffee and cookies. We also enjoyed walking around Silver Spring which has quite a few very good restaurants and has a charming, revitalized city center. Our room was perfect. It had a few 'dings' here and there, but it was clean, nicely appointed, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was sparkling clean. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank frugaltravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear frugaltravelers,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure being your host and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Paul Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Property: Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Address: 8728A Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Silver Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hampton Inn hotel in Silver Spring, MD is just steps from the lively dining, shopping, and entertainment district of downtown Silver Spring. Walk or take our local area shuttle to the Red Line Metro station, just three blocks away, for access to historic sites, national monuments, and the sports venues of Washington DC. Nearby pedestrian-friendly streets boast shops, art galleries and restaurants. Hampton Inn Silver Spring is conveniently located near Interstate 495/Capital Beltway and within 45 minutes of all three area airports. The headquarters of organizations such as Discovery Communications, United Therapeutics, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) are in walking distance. Visit the AFI Silver Theater and Cultural Center, which offers movie buffs a look at the art and mystery of movie-making, or enjoy a premier performance at Live Nation's new Fillmore Silver Spring, less than one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing