We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing in Silver Spring”

Quarry House Tavern
Ranked #41 of 379 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Best thing in Silver Spring”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A hidden gem, but once you find the place, you will never go to any other. The best dive bar in Silver Spring. Large collection of beer. Food is good too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ananth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    43
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What do you expect. It's a dive bar and a great one!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Folks. I have tats. Was a US Navy Diver and Submariner. Beer selection is excellent and food is great hot and fast. And the wings are hot if your order hot. Playlist extensive with focus on blues and old rock but you can still talk in the joint. Really fun affordable for old school or hipsters.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fortheluvoftrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Burgers & Beer”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a hole in the wall bar which is all part of its charm. Most patrons seem to be regulars and sometimes the scene can get a bit weird depending on the band playing. But this place has the BEST burgers and selection of imported beer in Silver Spring. So don't be a snob, just go in and find a seat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amotzdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Burgers and Tots are Tops!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I would have never even known this place existed if someone hadn't recommended it! I definitely wouldn't have ventured down a dark stairway on a Silver Spring side street looking for delicious food! The burgers and tots are fantastic! The service is pretty good when there aren't many customers, but if you go in during peak hours, prepare for service to be lacking! We love going in the afternoons, before the dinner crown hits! When it gets busy, it also gets LOUD!!! The last time we planned on eating there, we actually left after getting a table, but before ordering. It was SO loud (due to the music they were playing) that my wife and I literally had to yell across the table at one another! So, go during slow times and enjoy a MUCH better atmosphere and service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best burgers in DC area”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

When BF and I first started dating, this burger was serious competition for his affection. I remember jokingly saying that I hoped someday, he might look at me the same way he did the burger. Tots are okay, chips are pretty good. I've had the chicken fingers and chicken sandwich, too, and they're okay... but not the burger.

Beer specials are good. Live music on the weekends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quarry House Tavern also viewed

Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 

Been to Quarry House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing