We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have family in Silver Spring and travel there regularly; we had stayed at a couple of different hotels and decided to give this one a try. The hotel is modern, clean, and convenient to everything. Easy walk to all shopping and restaurants. (Note that the parking garage is actually on Wayne Ave and sort of behind the hotel - we came in from the wrong direction and had to circle the block a couple of times before we figured it out- but after the first time it was easy.) Desk, housekeeping and service staff are uniformly friendly and cheerful. We could often hear noise from the ice machine when we were out in the hall, but our room seemed well-soundproofed and quiet. Accommodations and staff get an A.
Only downside was the food - breakfast, coffee, and snacks are all at the "Bistro" in the lobby - and mostly seem to consist of prepackaged food items that the staff heats in a microwave. There are some bagels and oatmeal in the breakfast selection, but the eggs etc seemed pretty unappetizing. My husband must keep a gluten-free diet, and there was little there that he could eat. Fortunately the Whole Foods is right across the street. And bonus points go to the staff at the Bistro who were at least informed enough to know that nothing was gluten free, instead of giving us that deer-in-the headlights look that we sometimes get when we ask.
In response to a previous traveler's comment - the complimentary coffee is available at the Bistro- you just have to know to ask for it specifically, because it comes out of a different pot from the coffee that they sell (presumably it is not as good coffee.) This seems like a cheap move, and also unnecessarily complicated.
So, on the balance- pretty decent place. Accommodations definitely better than other places we have stayed; food not so much. We would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I appreciate your detail of the facilities and services you experienced during your stay and am happy that you feel we are a good option in Silver Spring. I'm sorry that our food options were not to your liking but I'm glad there was a close alternative for you choose. We strive to provide the best in product and service and truly appreciate the comments you've made. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Best Regards,
Cheryl Barron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    139
    68
    22
    8
See reviews for
96
49
19
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Arrived at the Silver Spring Metro station and called to request the shuttle. Was informed it would come in a few minutes. After about 15 minutes, I called back. A different person took my information. Still no shuttle. I called back. No explanation for its absence. Not a location for hailing a cab. I walked to the hotel - the person at the desk gave good directions.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your arrival experience. I'm sorry that you were not picked up promptly. I'm not sure what the circumstance were but I will share your review with the team so that we can improve our service in the future. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Regards,
Cheryl Barron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

On my recent trip to visit family for Thanksgiving (11/27-12/2) we stayed at the Courtyard in downtown Silver Spring (rm.725). Both my children ended up getting sick on the flight from California and despite our efforts we left the room a mess several days in a row (used kleenex, wet bed sheets and towels and plenty of dirty diapers). It was a difficult trip with little sleep and lots of crankiness. It's difficult traveling with young children (mine are 1 1/2 and 3 1/2) but one nice perk is that someone cleans up after us every day- no small feat with little ones. The cleaning staff left our room perfectly clean each day and one of the housekeepers named Esmeralda even left us an extra box of kleenex and a note saying she hoped my children felt better- how sweet is that!? A couple days later more kleenex and a can of soup showed up in my room- I think from another member of the staff. As a mother of sick children, away from home, I can't tell you how much this personal touch meant to me. Courtyard- I hope you take as good care of these ladies as they took care of me.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased that Esmeralda took great care of you and I will definitely pass on your comments to her. She will be so pleased that her name was mentioned. If you are ever in the area I hope you come and see us again.

Best Regards,
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. The front desk staff was very friendly; the room was clean; the bed extremely comfortable; the housekeeping was great (they rolled up the cord on my curling iron for me every day, so neat! I felt guilty for not doing it myself.) you can walk to many shops, restaurants, CVS, and Whole Foods; and the gym was great. The only cons I can think of are the decor is a little tired and the rooms are noisy. I could hear everything in the hall as if it were in my room and even heard my coworker in the room next to me when she sneezed. I would stay here for business again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigan323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that our staff and accommodations met your needs however I'm sorry that surrounding noise disturbed part of your stay. Your comments are much appreciated as we continue to strive to provide exceptional experience for all of our guests. When your travel brings you back to the Silver Spring area we look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Silver Spring Downtown while in town for a wedding. Although checking in very late at night, the staff was pleasant and very helpful. Room was clean and well maintained. As mentioned in other reviews, there are lots of shopping and restaurant options nearby. Would stay in again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time for fill out a review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments and we look forward to the next time we can be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A very nice Marriott Courtyard. It has the new lobby and bistro which is convenient. The location right in the center of town makes it convenient for other restaurants, eateries, if you want to go out. The staff was friendly and the rooms were nice and clean. As a business traveler I particularly liked that the alarm clock had an iPhone charger built in. I can't tell you how many times I forget a charger. I wish all hotels had this! Overall a pleasant stay and I will be back if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ4Beatles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

For us, fairly well-traveled, there were a lot of positives. They gave me just what I had requested when reserving: a quiet room away from the elevator. I guess those were the extra down pillows I ordered on the relatively comfy bed, though when we return I'd like a couple more. Nice mini-fridge that was cold on arrival. Good and amply stocked in-room coffee service. Trash cans were lined, unlike one pricey property we just stayed at. Wi-fi was good and free, the TV was better than said recent pricey property -- it even got RTE for the hubster! Awesome location near ice skating rink (wheeee-- do it!), Whole Foods, Baja Fresh, CVS, Marshalls and more. The desk clerk was grace under pressure, checking us in calmly amidst ringing phones and a growing queue (note to management: give her a hand, please). We didn't get the hang of not paying for parking on the weekend, but paying for the parking on Friday afternoon... but suffice it to say that we parked for just $4 for 24 hour and that's a steal just about anywhere. I was able to control the room temp and use the continuous fan without a problem. The carpets seemed fairly clean, as did the main room and bed linens.

The problems - which I have shared with Marriott via their Customer Care -- came in the bathroom, where the towels were not pleasant in texture, smell or appearance (e.g., flat, crunchy, and smelled like whatever my sports club recently switched to for their towels, def. not Tide with Bleach Alternative). They appeared greyish in cast though that could have been the lighting. However, there was a stain on the bath mat and one of the towels just didn't seem clean to me. Then there was the problem with the diverter from tub to shower. It didn't work. Well, it worked about 50%, pushing some of the water into the shower head but leaving the other 50% to quickly fill the tub around our ankles during both of our showers so that we were standing in what one might call a "tubower." The result was unhygienic and unpleasant. I realize there's a lot for housekeeping to check but this is not something that should ever happen. We were only there a night or we would have had management address it for us.

We are returning and liked this particular room for its space and quiet location, and hopefully we can stay there again but with the shower situation fixed. Hoping they do a better quality control job with the towels in future, if they aren't going to crazy bleach and fluff them old school which would be my preference.

Room Tip: 521 was quiet but only if they fix shower situation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAFPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review and for your loyalty to Marriott. Your review will assist our future guests tremendously. I am disappointed that your experience was not up to our standards or the standards you have of a Marriott property. I will share this review with my team and we will work together to correct the issues that you experienced. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,
Cheryl Barron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown

Property: Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Address: 8506 Fenton St, Silver Spring, MD 86336
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing