We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Marriott Courtyard - Silver Spring, MD - 'My home away from home'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Marriott Courtyard - Silver Spring, MD - 'My home away from home'”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Marriott Courtyard - Silver Spring, MD is strategically located downtown next to an IMAX theater, several restaurants and retail stores.

Hotel guests are provided free access to Washington Sports and Fitness which is connected to the hotel.

The hotel staff is extremely friendly and the bartender (Jan) is known for his tasty and potent Long Island Ice Teas:)

Definitely a place I enjoy coming back to when I am working in the DC area!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skwilbur930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hi Sean, Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel. I will share your comments with Jan as I'm sure he will be so thrilled to have been recognized. I truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Have a great weekend.
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    139
    68
    22
    8
See reviews for
96
49
19
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel, which I chose this time based on convenience and price as well as my overall experience last time I stayed. As during my last visit, the weekday $13/day parking fee at the attached public parking garage did not apply on the weekend, so I only had to pay for a few hours parking after 7 AM before my Monday morning checkout.

I arrived in the evening, and check-in was flawless. The room was spacious and comfortable and the amenities were as I remembered them. So far, so good.

In the morning, I had an early breakfast and then returned to my room to await to be picked up by family to spend the day. However, my key no longer opened the door to my room. The staff at the front desk assumed I had demagnetized my key, although it worked fine in the elevator, and I received a new one. This one failed to open my door as well. I suggested that someone with a master key try to open my door, which would confirm whether the problem was with the door or my keys. Five minutes later, a member of the maintenance staff failed to open my door with his key, concluding the battery in the door lock was run down.

Unfortunately, only the engineer could check and replace the battery and he was not scheduled to arrive until after I departed. Luckily, I had taken all the things I needed for the day to breakfast with me, otherwise the problem could have put a severe crimp in my visit. I spent the next several hours, however, walking around the deserted streets (Sunday morning) or waiting in the lobby. Although I turned it down, the front desk staff did offer to allow me to relax in another room while I waited, which I appreciated. After leaving for my day's activities, I received a call from the hotel mid-afternoon to let me know the battery had been replaced and the lock now worked.

On one hand, I was disappointed that no staff member was on site Sunday morning who could get me into my room; on the other hand, given this constraint, I felt like the staff handled my situation professionally, including making reasonable accommodations to me as a valued customer.

Although I expect the problem I had with my door is infrequent, I was surprised that the hotel did not have a way to address it quickly. I suggest that the hotel develop a plan to ensure that a qualified staff member is on site (or on call and reasonably close) 24/7 when similar problems arise.

Based on my experience during my previous visit and the staff's professionalism both times, I would be comfortable returning to this Courtyard in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your very detailed review of our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay and I apologize that we did not handle the lock situation in a more appropriate manner. I will share your comments with our team in order to provide better service in the future and we will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The first reason to stay here is location. Walking distance from metro, one block from Discovery Center, in part of the downtown Silver Spring mall area. Multiple parking garages for $13 a day. Rooms were comfortable, staff was helpful, and the in hotel food service good for a quick lunch or breakfast. The fitness center is the local gym with everything you could want. The small courtyard was pleasant. Would stay there again in the need arose.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRJLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for that wonderful review. I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is an update Courtyard hotel and the hotel looks/feels very much like other recently updated Courtyard hotels. I stayed here because I could not find a reasonable rate in DC (Microsoft convention week). I liked how close it is to the metro, which provided an easy ride into the city. Staff were friendly, the room was clean and ample in size, and there are lots of food options nearby. I would consider staying again here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your comments and I'm glad to see your Courtyard Loyalty. Come and see us again sometime soon. We would happy to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is the best place to stay in Silver Spring by far. Great staff and very nice rooms. The management does a great job setting the expectation because every time I stay here, regardless of who is working I am treated and greeted the same way. I love the location and the parking garage is super convenient. If I have to stay in Silver Spring there is no question where I will spend the night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Wow, thank you for this awesome review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your experience while with us and were willing to share your comments. We look forward to the next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pequannock, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very nice and clean Hotel. It is outside of D.C. but the Metro (subway) takes you right to downtown D.C. Room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Staff was very nice and TV service was good. There is a nice little patio on the lobby floor. It is kind of weird being on top of a Washington Sports club. I like how the parking garage is right next to the hotel. But be warned, everything in the hotel is expensive.

Room Tip: You need your key to use the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Top notch hotel situated in a great location close to everything. UMD just a 10 minute drive away. Staff goes out of their way to ensure you are comforatable. Rooms are very large and comfortable. Plenty of free parking. Free breakfast is included. Breakfast contains an amazing variety of hot and cold food. Free WiFi, with gym, pool and BBQ area. basketball court is also available. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lone6star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience all that Silver Spring has to offer. Our close proximity to UMD has made us a perfect choice for families coming in to visit students. Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown

Property: Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Address: 8506 Fenton St, Silver Spring, MD 86336
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing