We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed for ten days October 2013. The room was very clean and comfortable. It had a small fridge and microwave, which was wonderful for reheating left overs or snacks after a long day of sight-seeing. The free breakfast was a great way to start the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We didn't realize that they offer shuttle service to the Metro until the last day but we were so close. If you decide to walk take The East-West Highway route instead of Georgia Avenue as it is closer. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob_Deb_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Was spending 3 days sight-seeing in Washington DC and was looking for accommodation in the DCGateway area. This hotel came highly recommended by friends and we were glad we took their advice.
Great location and easy accessibility to public transport, with easy links to most popular sites in DC. They also run a shuttle service to the Metro (although walkable). Very friendly staff, who cannot do enough to help you out and make feel welcome. Close to Silver Springs town centre, so within walking distance to the malls, restaurants etc.
Highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank MiiTMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I had 3 very pleasant nights at this hotel...nothing fancy but perfect in terms of comfort, cleanliness, basic amenities, and easy, walking-distance access to Metro, to NOAA headquarters, to the downtown area, and to the nice variety of restaurants along Georgia Avenue. Also, it was less than half the price (at the government rate) of most of the other hotels in Silver Spring that are a little closer to the downtown area. Pravin at the desk was very friendly at check-in and check-out. The internet was easy to access though a bit sluggish at times. I will definitely stay here from now on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CH_CEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed for 30 days on business. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was good but crowded at times. location was good, within walking distance of restaurants. the rooms showed age. I would stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Such value for the DC area. The room was very clean with very comfortable beds It had a large flat screen TV and Safe. Parking was cheap for the location $10. Rafael, the staff person who check us in was helpful and detailed with information we needed to get around in Washington. He did not miss a beat. Certainly went above and beyond. Will recommend and I will stay there on my next trip to DC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReeceRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Excellent value for Washington area. Elevator and hallway was a bit dated but room was large and new. The room was very clean with very comfortable beds and quiet Air Conditioner. It had a large flat screen TV and Safe. Parking was cheap for the location $10. The free breakfast was complete with hot and cold cereals, eggs, juices, coffee and waffles. The hotel is a bit of a distance from the downtown main street, so exercise a bit of caution when walking around the area. Overall the hotel is an excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSZing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Hotel outside and hallway was a little dated but room was new and very clean. It is about a 10 minute walk to the metro station which has been closed on weekends only for maintenance so you take a free shuttle to NoMu station then pick up the Metro to the Mall or wherever. Hotel provides a shuttle to and from the Metro and we never had to wait over 2 minutes going. We always walked coming back. Parking is $10/day. Everyone is very friendly and we were able to check in an hour early without a problem. The breakfast area is small but that was a problem on only one day (Sunday) and only if you wanted a waffle. The breakfast area is very well attended and I never saw where they ever ran out of food. As mentioned before it is a hot breakfast - waffles, eggs, and sausage plus all the usual continental foods-plenty of food. We were on the top floor away from the elevator which was extremely quiet. There is an air conditioning unit that is head high next to the bed which for us provided the right amount of white nose so we never heard any outside noise. There is a plastic baffle that directs the cool air over your bed not in your face. It would have been nice to have a list of TV stations in the room. Not advertised it seems is they have both the Wall Street Journal and USA today at the desk each day. I never felt that safety was an issue. In fact everyone from waitresses to metro agents to those at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. I personally would have liked maybe being closer to downtown Silver Spring. Yet there is a very good seafood and burger place not too far away. Just ask the desk and they will give you directions. We were very happy staying in Silver Spring. I would not hesitate and already have recommended this to a friend. But comparison shop. If this place is less expensive than other places in Silver Spring then stay here.

Room Tip: Top floor away from the elevator was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
815 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring

Address: 7990 Georgia Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860 (Formerly Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range: £79 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
127 Newly Renovated Guest Rooms & Public Area's as of December 16, 2014 Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Restaurants & Lounge's within walking distance Interior Corridors, Two Elevators & every guest room has a Microwave & Refrigerator 4 blocks from Metro Station Complimentary Shuttle(7am-9pm/Mon-Fri) Valet & Self-Parking available($10 a day) Bus Parking is Free for Groups Free Fitness Center & Business Center Stay with us to earn & use your IHG Rewards any where in the World & with us Free Wireless & Cable High Speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing