We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value, good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good value, good stay”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

have stayed here three times in the last 6 months and each time has seen improvements. on the plus side the hotel is clean, convenient, and the staff is very considerate. The room was comfortable and clean and internet connection was excellent. Room carpeting is dingy. The heating system did not work very well and it was difficult to heat the room. If heat left on through the night it was too noisy. All in all this s a very convenient, friendly place to stay. The hotel is gradually renovating and improving. I will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank amalaPrinceton_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for the nice comments and glad you noticed the marked improvements over the past several stays. As we continue to upgrade and enahnce the hotels physical and mechanical systems, we look forward to seeing you again soon and I am confident that the defeciencies you noted will not reoccur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    292
    224
    134
    92
See reviews for
342
128
56
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This place has the most friendly, helpful, and solicitous staff I've almost ever met. The front desk clerk at check in was super-efficient and nice, and she went above and beyond and moved us to a two-room suite so we'd have enough sleeping space for us and our kids. When I had to call and ask for a replacement coffee maker, the evening concierge was up in minutes with a replacement, apologizing and asking if he could do anything else for us. Literally, every person I ran into - housekeeping, manager, life guard, desk clerks, parking valets - was friendly and eager to help. Yes, the actual building is a bit tired and dated, but the beds are comfortable (good pillows and linens) and the staff made the experience great!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleAgeMiddleClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thanks for the kind words - will certainly share them with the team. Hope to see you return should your travels take you back our way...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ridgeley, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

If your're going to the Fillmore for an event THIS is the hotel you want to stay at...1 block away, could see the venue from my hotel window. Staff was kind & the price was RIGHT! Everything from shopping to fine dinning is within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bryant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thanks for the review and glad you found the location of the hotel convenient. Please keep us in mind should your travels take you back our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Marlboro, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect for local shopping and entertainments. The staff were warm and very friendly. The hotel room was clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and slept very well. The breakfast buffet had a good selection for vegans like myself and meat eaters like my husband. We will return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thanks for the great comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you return soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A nice clean hotel with decent rooms and a good staff especially the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant. Maids do a good job of cleaning. Bathrooms are a bit small and could use more storage space.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thanks for the nice comments about the staff and cleanliness. Hope to see you again should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Really enjoyed the stayed hotel staff was very helpful, our room was spacious, very clean and nicely decorated. Would recommend to others to stay there in walking distance to downtown Silver Spring - shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rashel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thanks so much for the review and glad you found the staff accomodating and hotel clean. Hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
558 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

If you want to be in Silver Spring near the metro this is an ok place to stay.

Lobby is tired, the room is somewhat outdated and yes the heating system seems weird. I turned mine off overnight as otherwise was blowing the whole time. Hard to find places to plug in electronics - certainly not convenient at the desk. Breakfast is an acceptable buffet. At least the wifi is free. Reasonably priced for the DC area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank for your review and happy to hear that you found the hotel conveniently located. I am excited to advise you that many of the points your mentioned in your review are being adressed and rectified with upcoming enhancements to the property starting in Mid january. Hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing