We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Partially Worth the Wait”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Springfield, United States
1 review
“Only Partially Worth the Wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful hotel. However, my party and I booked two double bed suites for memorial Day weekend (understandably a busy time) but out rooms were not ready on time. We arrived 3 hours early and were denied early check-in, and then at the scheduled check-in time STILL had to wait for 1 room. We were off to a bas start. Luckily the staff were helpful and our rooms were very clean. The change over from guest to guest process needs to be streamlined a bit IMO.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tyrell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for your review and do apologize for the slight delay to get into one of your 2 rooms. We try diligently to turn the rooms over to the next guest as quickly as possible but at times are delayed due to the previous guests departure time (especially over a holiday weekend), and of course we want to ensure that the room is spotless upon your arrival. I am happy the staff took such good care of you and you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    292
    225
    134
    92
See reviews for
342
128
57
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Conveniently located at Silver Spring's downtown, this hotel gives customer a walking distance access to cinemas and restaurants. Knowing that their is a parking garage in the hotel premises gives you a sense of security and trust, which is much needed when you are out of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for the kind review and hope to see you return again soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Staff work hard to resolve problems encounter, all are very friendly and courageous. Food in the hotel is good quality. For the most part hotel is very clean and managers respond well to any complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sussy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for your post and glad you found the staff accomodating. We do hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We like this hotel so much in 2013 that we purposely selected it again in 2014. Our only issue was that we weren't able to reserve a 2-bedroom for our visit in 2014. We will probably stay at the Double Tree Silver Spring again. The warm cookies at check-in are a real treat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for the post and hope to see you again soon! Book early so we can make every effort to secure the room type you desire!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I cannot believe what we found or, better stated, could not find in our room.... any electrical outlets at or even close to the desk! You can have all of the chi-chi decor treatments you want, but when we travel, we need electricity! The front desk was less than encouraging via an offer to maybe find an extension cord. If we can find a way to bail out of here earlier than expected, color us gone!

This place ranks along with Ramada Inns... another hotel chain that we boycott.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OR-RoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review and do apologize for the lack of easily accessible outlets in your particular room. I am please to let you know that the hotel is in the process of upgrading the entire lighting package that will also include outlets on the bases of the lamps which will provide additional electrical access points throughout the room. I do hope the reminder of your stay was acceptable and you allow us another chance to regain your trust in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Silver Spring hotels

laurel, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our stay at the DoubleTree wasn't as bad as some reviews. Staff was courteous. Bartender was funny and very nice. Cookies were delicious. Room was clean but just not pristine. Rollaway bed is tiny and also costs $10 per day which is not advertised on the website. Internet was too slow to be called wi-fi. You get what you pay for here. It will do, but don't expect greatness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for the post and your comments about the staff - will certainly share with them. Glad you also enjoyed our lounge area as it is very popular with the local crowd as well. Hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Caught up in the days events I left my dark blue windbreaker in the closet in room 1120---plse advise if it has been found. Neighborhood a little dicey after 9 PM but with the Metro right there getting to DC was quite easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank williammV767FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for the review and I have passed on your note about your missing item to our Executive Housekeeper to follow up with you. Hope to see you return should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing