We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Wallterboro, United States
2 reviews
“Beautiful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I got an early check in and went straight to bed. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were the best. My suite was beautifully decorated and very clean. The breakfast service was good and the food hot and had many choices to choose from. The staff was pleasant and the shuttle service was always they to take and pick me up once I called for service. This was not the first time at this hotel. I will come back as soon as the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and look forward to seeing you return. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    287
    220
    131
    92
See reviews for
335
124
56
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms are not very sound proof, and there was a youth conference there at the time I stayed - so sleep was hard to come by for the first night. The staff handled the noise complaints well, and they did not recur on night 2.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review and sorry for the additional noise created by other guests. Happy to hear you had no issue the latter part of your stay. Hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendive, Montana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed last week of April 2014. Interior and exterior construction taking place which was annoying, smelly and inconvenient. Was on 4th floor where there was an ice machine but no vending machine(s). Had to go to 9th floor, as advised by hotel staff, to use vending machines. Pop machine wouldn't take dollar bills. Had to attend meetings while construction work was being done on roof as well as the smell of hot tar being applied to the roof area. Ran out of toilet paper in room. Took 3 phone calls to front desk to get more toilet paper. Finally arrived in time but it was pretty iffy. Front desk and housekeeping appeared to be doing the best that they could with what they had to work with. Breakfast and luncheon meals prior to and during meetings were very good. Shuttle service was accommodating for our group. Mixed bag and a very busy place but I would think that many of the repairs/renovations should be complete by now.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for the post and I am happy to report that the multi million dollar renovation has been completed. I appreciate your patience and understanding as we completed the enhancements. Hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Needed a place to stay after a long road trip. Got a good deal online and ended up here. It was a comfortable room. The best part were the free cookies downstairs at the desk. I would stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for the post and glad you enjoyed your stay with us....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel does need a little work but overall, we were very happy with the service. We checked in late and requested a room away from the elevator as other reviewers suggested. They only had one right at the elevator so we got upgraded to a suite. Very happy with the accommodations. The room was big, clean and comfortable. The staffs were nice and polite. Wonderful, convenience location. No complaints here.

Room Tip: Spend a little more money and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the nice review and please keep us in mind should your travels bring you back our way...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great service, clean room - yummy cookies. Plenty of towels already in the room. Billing mistake corrected immediately and with a smile. Forgotten item quickly retrieved. We had a suite which was very roomy and nicely arranged. Would stay here again since they give a nice AARP room discount.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond VA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The folks at the front desk were great. Very attentive. The room was a bit small & the bathroom had a slight mildew smell. There are no vent fans in the bathroom which may contribute. I made the front desk aware when we left & they said they'd jump right on it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the review and notes about the staff. Hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and TravelUp so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing