We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in heart of Silver Springs, MD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel is economical and rooms are spacious. Bed very comfortable but bathroom a little small and could use updating. Confusing parking and check in requires patience...and may be in due to renovations?? Would stay again due to location and nice price point.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 643kennethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for the nice post and glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry if the entrance / parking facility caused any confusion during your arrival. It is however located directly under the hotel with the main entrance on Coleville Road. Hope to see you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We moved to a two-room suite at this hotel after leaving a different hotel in the area. Their weekend rates were amazing, but you do get what you pay for - including worn furnishings, water pressure issues, children running laps in the room above and people across the hall throwing a full-blown party in their room until 4:00 in the morning. (I should have alerted management when I saw their luggage cart full of food and drinks instead of luggage when we rode up in the elevator together!) While it was nice to have the extra room, it would have been better to pay a little more and actually get a good nights' sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polygirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for your post and do apologize if the noise that other guests created hindered your experience. I do hope you allow us another chance to service your travel needs should you come back our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was super closed to shops and metro/bus station. easy access to interstate and close to everything. Mall, Marshall, panera bread, red lobster and many more. Valet parking very helpful and reception area was nice and modern. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jawaly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the fantastic comments and hope to see you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Was in DC for work and stayed at the DoubleTree. Everyone there is great from the check in at the front desk to the restaurant staff. Only thing I would recommend, is not going to DC in the Summer. There are a lot of school kids there either on vacation or field trips and the hotel even puts themon the 8 floor which is the HH floor. Pretty noisy at night, but it settles down by 12.

Hotel is a block from all the action in downtown Silver Spring, and it's a easy ride into DC, not too far and without the Highway traffic.

Restaurants are within walking, about a block away. Will be staying there when I go back next Month. Love it being close to everything.

Room Tip: Get the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thanks for your post and I appreciate your great comments about the hotel and staff. Please understand that during this busy time of year with so many schools visiting the DC area, we do our best to contain these groups on the same floor and away from our business travelers. At times it is a bit challenging to accomodate all and I do appreciate your patience. Hope to see you return should your travles take you back our way...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I got an early check in and went straight to bed. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were the best. My suite was beautifully decorated and very clean. The breakfast service was good and the food hot and had many choices to choose from. The staff was pleasant and the shuttle service was always they to take and pick me up once I called for service. This was not the first time at this hotel. I will come back as soon as the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and look forward to seeing you return. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms are not very sound proof, and there was a youth conference there at the time I stayed - so sleep was hard to come by for the first night. The staff handled the noise complaints well, and they did not recur on night 2.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review and sorry for the additional noise created by other guests. Happy to hear you had no issue the latter part of your stay. Hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed last week of April 2014. Interior and exterior construction taking place which was annoying, smelly and inconvenient. Was on 4th floor where there was an ice machine but no vending machine(s). Had to go to 9th floor, as advised by hotel staff, to use vending machines. Pop machine wouldn't take dollar bills. Had to attend meetings while construction work was being done on roof as well as the smell of hot tar being applied to the roof area. Ran out of toilet paper in room. Took 3 phone calls to front desk to get more toilet paper. Finally arrived in time but it was pretty iffy. Front desk and housekeeping appeared to be doing the best that they could with what they had to work with. Breakfast and luncheon meals prior to and during meetings were very good. Shuttle service was accommodating for our group. Mixed bag and a very busy place but I would think that many of the repairs/renovations should be complete by now.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thanks for the post and I am happy to report that the multi million dollar renovation has been completed. I appreciate your patience and understanding as we completed the enhancements. Hope to see you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#8 of 12 in Silver Spring
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
365 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range: £67 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing