We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent facility and close to Howard and Georgetown campuses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent facility and close to Howard and Georgetown campuses”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The free upgrade for this property was phenomenal the bedtype of a double queen bed accomodation was tremendous...Beautiful clean and spacious and very close to the campuses of Howard University and Georgetown which while there for our neices full scholarship to Howard made the trip exceptional and meeting some of my alum from Georgetown quite reminiscent of my undergrad days at Duke...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the great review and do hope to see you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    296
    228
    136
    92
See reviews for
346
129
57
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Room was excellent. However, handicapped bathroom could have some means of catching water from the shower, Ice makers should have been on every floor and refrigerator in every room. I am diabetic and take insulin. My insulin must be kept refrigerated. With no refrigerator, this was impossible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 148clementineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the post and glad you found the hotel comfortable. I apologize that your room did not come equipped with a fridge but we do have mini fridges available upon request for a minimal fee. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is in a good location, an easy walk to restaurants and the Metro railway. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, there were only ice machines on select floors and this was not noted anywhere so getting ice was an adventure. I sent laundry out based on the claim "in by 9am back by 6 pm" and it was not. I was concerned because I needed the clothes for the following morning. I did get them later that evening. Rooms need updating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the post and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the delay in the return of your dry cleaning as that is certainly not the norm. Glad you did receive it later that evening so you had your garments for the next day. Hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Silver Spring hotels

Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
209 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent Sunday night July 20th at the hotel. We were attending a concert up the street at the Fillmore.Hotel which was very close to the venue, which made it nice. Check-in was painless and the valet parking gentleman was friendly and ambitious. The lady at the front desk was efficient and friendly. Every time I walked by the desk the rest of our stay, whoever was at the desk would greet me and ask me if they could help me. The elevator was quick, the room was clean and neat. When I called down for foam pillows, they arrived within ten minutes. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked quietly and efficiently.The bathroom was way too small, maybe the smallest of any bathroom in a hotel I have ever seen. the lobby is nothing to note and the overall décor, in my opinion, needs to be updated. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for your post and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff extremely freindly. Hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Brought my daughter here for a concert at the filimore for her 16th birthday. The location couldn't have been any more perfect! Literally right across the street from the filimore. My daughter and her friend were so impressed with the hotel, valet parking (which seemed to be the only option), and attendants that took your bags to the room. We had a one bedroom suite so that I wouldn't have to hear the girls squealing all night after the concert. I slept on the pull out couch. I didn't sleep well at all because it was very uncomfortable. Breakfast downstairs in the morning was awful! Cost per person was somewhere around $14-18. Overall, it was a very nice stay....just get breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the post and glad you found the hotel convenient and staff accomodating. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy breakfast as that is certainly not the normal comments we hear. Hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel personnel very courteous. Arrived @ 11:30 pm to find sign that valet parking was full and no info on where to park. Called desk clerk from car and he sent someone out to get my bags and told me I could park in a public garage in the block behind the hotel. Wasn't wild about having to wander neighborhood late at night with very few people out and about. Got to room and found light switch when you enter the room but the light isn't bright enough to find the switches on the other lamps to turn them on particularly in the bedroom. One lamp didn't work at all. Two tv's but only one remote and that doesn't work - cant get another one until the morning. Flushed toiled and it came dangerously close to overflowing. Reported to desk two hrs ago but no one has come up - will take my chances and hope there is no flood. No fridge in room. Bathroom extremely small - have to squeeze past the toilet to close the door. No cookies on check in. Rooms on the small size but not horrible. Sofa in suite is filthy. Hopefully our stay improves from here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredTraveler299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am sorry to hear that your arrival experience was not overly positive and do hope that remainder of your stay was much better. Please feel free to contact me directly at jim.salvo@hilton.com as I want to ensure the remainder of your stay was satisfactory. Thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

First the nice things about this place. Well, the location is great, just few blocks away from the heart of Silver Springs, which is very convenient for dining or entertainment. And there are public parking lots very nearby, so you won't really need to pay for the valet parking during weekends (free parking weekends in the public parking lots); Room was expected, Double Tree standard, which is comfortable enough.
The problem is that the staff is not doing its job well...
Our reservation was not in their system when we checked-in, which is due to the fact that the fax file was not picked up by the staff (we booked it through a third party web site, so they were supposed to fax our information to the hotel, which they did, but the staff apparently did not check there faxing machine that often). Then they denied us with our breakfast request, which we also booked and somehow they didn't see clearly on the fax they received... So this went back-and-forth several times, and the website had to fax the hotel again to confirm everything, and it was not pleasant. But I have to say that throughout this whole process, their attitude was very kind, my complaint is only about the staff didn't do their job well, not that their hospitality.
Overall I think the infrastructure is good, just that the service needs some improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Han Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for your review and do apologize for the confusion with your reservation details. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and that you found the staff very freindly and accomodating. I do hope to see you return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing