We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, dated, and not nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty, dated, and not nice”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Was very disappointed with this property. Did not have items in the room that were supposed to be there. Everything was old and clunky. Damaged and rundown. Couldn't believe this was a Hilton property. Big thumbs down

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coralie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and am quite disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us as that is certainly not the norm. Would truly appreciate if you would be able to provide me more specific details so I may follow up immediately. I want to make it right! My email is jim.salvo@hilton.com Thank you.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    304
    234
    141
    97
See reviews for
359
131
58
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh-Durham, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel itself is a really good property. It is in a great location for shopping, business, food and your local metro station. The service over all is really good, minus one person. I cannot rate the hotels over all experience poorly because of one employee. Despite the "one", the other employees were very friendly and pleasant and I can definitely appreciate that. Although it only takes one bad seed to ruin an experience, it did not in this case. The room was very clean, valet/bellman service was supreme. The front desk staff with the exception of the "one"(Jimmy) were an absolute treasure. I really appreciate great service it makes traveling so much easier. In regards, to the "one" I will have to say even management moved very quickly to resolve any issue and I can appreciate that. Will I return? Because of the location and all the other great experiences from the other employees, absolutely, I will just avoid the"one".

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Darryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for the review and glad you found the hotel to your liking and the majority of the staff very accomodating. Would appreciate any further details you could share so I may follow up accordingly. My email should you wish is jim.salvo@hilton.com. Appreciate any feedback you can provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stayed here while attending a conference held in the hotel. The DoubleTree's convenient location less than half a mile from the Metro station was nice, and the complimentary shuttle to/from the station was an added plus, especially for a first-time guest like me.

Unfortunately it appeared the hotel was conducting weatherproofing during our conference which ended up interrupting some of our sessions with loud noise. Not long after this was pointed out to hotel staff the noise died down, and I understand hotel management compensated my organization for the inconvenience. I think this experience soured some of my fellow attendees on this hotel, but I still found the venue above average.

The two-double-bed room I originally booked (all other room types were sold out) seemed like too much room for me, a single traveller, so I asked upon check-in if I could switch to a single-bedded room so as not to waste the space as the hotel was fully booked. Desk staff was able to accommodate me and put me in what I believe was a queen room. While right-sized for my stay, I discovered some notable problems with the room including a bathtub with a good amount of paint chipping, a peephole that was too cloudy or painted over to be usable, and a possibly broken fire alarm unit. Housekeeping seemed sufficient, though a prominent lipstick mark next to the peephole remained through my stay. I trust hotel staff would have addressed these issues had I reported them, but I got too busy and neglected to notify them of the problems.

I intended to try out the hotel pool and restaurant, but ended up having time for neither. And while my stay was not perfect, I would certainly consider giving this DoubleTree another try next time I'm in Silver Spring. And yes, their cookies were delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlikaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for the post and glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay. I do apologize for the outside noise as we were in fact completing some final stages of our recent renovation. I have also shared your notes about the issues noted in your room with our housekeeping department. I do hope to see you return should you travel back our way. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My husband and 3 kids stayed for the weekend while in town for a college football game. Our family travels frequently and we stay only at Hilton properties. This property was by far one of the most disappointing hotels we've encountered. As other reviewers commented the hotel is a bit shabby, the bathrooms extremely small, and in our case our king suite barely large enough to unfold the queen sleeper sofa. The mechanism for turning the shower on and controlling the temperature was incredibly difficult to figure out. Luckily my husband was the first to shower otherwise the intense heat of the water could've hurt a child. The bed in our room was less than comfortable and there were only towels for two despite the reservation being made for a family of 4. Requests for more towels were handled promptly and pleasantly by the staff. In fact, the staff is the one positive for this hotel. They were very welcoming when we arrived and helpful with restaurant recommendations. You can't beat the location of this hotel either. Overall I would not stay here again or recommend it to my friends. However, the hotel was clean and if alone on business or just a couple who isn't going to spend much time n the room, it may be fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kboulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and am happy to read your positive comments about the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the freindliness of our staff. I do apologize that the room size was a bit too tight for your family of four, but do hope you allow us another chance to regain your trust. Should your travels bring you back our way, please contact me direclty and woudl be happy to see if we can accomodate you in one of our suites so that you have the extra space that I am sure would make your stay much more enjoyable! jim.salvo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Silver Spring hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Excellent customer services from check in to check out. The Valet service was fantastic friendly provide ice at 5 am. The conference room was warm and the service was beyond expectations. Every staff member greeted you with a smile and asked how they could help. We will let all our friends and family know about our eperience

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank waitherab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thanks so much for the fantastic review and appreciate you taking the time to post. Hope to be of service to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We took a red eye flight into DC to visit family but halfway through the day we were so tired we decided to just try and get a room. This place wassuggested by a relative. They were able to book us an awesome room on the 11th floor in minutes. I could have easily done it online but I had a few questions. The answer was that parking was $15 a day to come and go as much as you wanted with valet service. The room was cool clean and just a slight bit dated, not much, you could tell the place has been there at least 10 years but it was clean. The shower was clean and the tub drained well. The water pressure was great and got as hot as I could stand with room to spare! The TV worked fine. We were told that if we wanted a fridge that they would deliver it to our room but we opted out. The room service for dinner and breakfast was great. The folks at the front desk and the valet guys were all awesome. There is also a very nice pool and gym on the the 7th floor that's very well equipped. All in all it was great stay not to mention those warm cookies that Doubletree is known for. I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: 11th floor 1126 ws nice and quiet, no construction and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks for the great review and glad you found our accomodations and staff above average. Please visit again if in the area!! Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I booked this hotel in error. I confused it with another, nearby hotel. Next time, I will book this hotel intentionally. Great experience. Terrific staff. I was travelling with my husband, and he was very favorably impressed with the service and overall value, as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 476eileenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks for the great review and glad we have become your hotel of choice. Lots of great changes made as of late with our recent renovations and the addition of great new team members. Hope to see you return soon.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
19 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing