We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem - Exceeded our expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Snow Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem - Exceeded our expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We initially booked a vacation for Outer banks, NC and after staying 1 night at some overpriced dump of a hotel, we decided to cancel the other two nights and go back to Ocean City, MD. Due to the Dew Tour at Ocean City, everything was also booked and/or overpriced and we frantically were looking for a place to stay on a tiny iPhone’s screen and slow connection only to accidentally stumble on a listing for River House Inn Bed & Breakfast. I decided to call them and ask for availability; on the phone Rick was very pleasant to talk to and informed me that the Yacht Club room overseeing the river front will be waiting my arrival.

Wow, what a surprise – we came for Ocean City, and ended up not even caring!! This little mini-resort is a hidden gem, and our wonderful hosts Rick and Dwayne made our vacation a truly memorable experience.

The room is impeccably clean – tastefully decorated and extremely cozy. Bed was super confortable and big (King size, and elevated – I loved it!) Jacuzzi was awesome! And Central A/C made a whole difference in the world – it was a really hot weekend with 100F temps, yet the room was cool and quiet and I could set just the right temperature without the usual A/C noises.

The pool is decent, with plenty of toys to occupy you there. Also free drinks in the fridge and the chill out area by the pool, and a Serious satellite radio playing whatever commercial-free tunes we want).

Breakfast was also really good, and the hosts would really cook anything you would ask them to and in any quantities. Like someone else said, if you go away hungry, it’s your own fault!

Last but not least, it’s a pet friendly hotel – wow! Owner’s dog Team is a sweetheart and I was entrained for an hour playing with tennis ball with her – very smart dog!

We already booked our next weekend getaway in August to come back here for 3 more nights! Yay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tauchenNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    30
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
109
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
here
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Do not miss this B&B. My friend came from NY with her two kids, and I live in the greater DC area. I had to find a place close to Ocean City. I stumbled on the River House Inn looking for quality and a good price. It was amazing. Here's why...the cottage was totally clean...as was the pool as the entire premise. It is quaint, it was so quiet and the kids are still ranting about the amazing waffles. While my friend and I rave about the homemade blueberry muffins and the cinammon crumble cake...plus the egg casserole...and fruit...yes and that was breakfast folks.. We were greeted by smiling faces and a wonderful lab named Teal that just melts your heart. Not only is this place romantic for couples, it's kid friendly, and it's dog friendly..For anyone traveling to the Eastern Shore I'd would highly recommend choosing this location if you don't need to be on the beach.. It is perfect distance between Ocean City and Assateague/Chincoteague...easy drives...Rick/Dwayne and crew hospitality...you must experience...and Teal...She's an awesome dog. The boat rental is just around the corner as well so if you do not plan to go anywhere just cruise the waters and see the wildlife..it's very pretty. Recommend waking up early, and coming back to Rick/Dwayne's muffins...You'll eat the table ....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickandwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

This was an amazing inn! The room was very nice. The atmosphere was relaxing and peaceful. The breakfast was wonderful and lots of it! (If you leave the table hungry its your own fault!!)S The property is beautiful--there is a pool, outdoor grill area, the Pocomoke river and lots of shaded seating to enjoy. We used the inn as our base for motorcycle trips around Snow Hill, Salisbury and points south. Our Inn keepers were extremely attentive to all our needs. They provided interesting facts about the town, great restaurants in the area as well as interesting conversation at breakfast. If you are looking for a vacation without stress I recommend the river house inn. Hope to stay there again soon!!

Room Tip: I would advise planning early--this inn will not be a secret too much longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crisfield, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

The River House Inn is a beautiful home with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed. The setting on the river was wonderful. We enjoyed sitting in chairs next to the water and watching the geese. You can walk to a place that does canoe trips. Breakfast was great--they custom made everything for which we asked. The owners made us feel like family--but we didn't have to wash the dishes.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sher4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We went to the River House Inn with two families (four adults, three children in middle and high school). We stayed in the Ivy House and River Cottage, which gave us a tremendous amount of flexibility, including preparing and eating our own dinners. The setting was charming. Breakfasts were delicious, food was well-prepared and plentiful. The new owners were very accommodating of our requests and questions before, during, and after our stay. The property backs on to the Pocomoke River where there is a dock to fish from and a shop that rents canoes. We felt extremely comfortable there and were well taken care of. We would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alt3403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

I stayed at the River House Inn in May to attend a surprise 90th birthday for a dear family relative and friend. Little did I know after traveling from Seattle that I would be welcomed at the Inn by trhe owners Rick and Dwayne and their staff as if I was family coming home for this special event. From the moment I walked in through the kitchen door I confused as the entrance until I finally had to depart, I felt warmly welcomed and generously cared for.

The beautiful old antebellum house has all the charm of it's years with tasteful upgrades to maintain it's period atmosphere. I stayed in the River Room in the house, while other family members who also stayed there for the event, were in some of the detached cottages on the beautiful grounds that reach to the Pokomoke River. We all had the joy of spending some more family time together in the evening as Rick and Dwayne both played the piano and encouraged us to sing along to favorite songs.

Breakfast was a memorable event. The abundant selection of breakfast items were excellently prepared and served in a warm family setting in the big dining room. Extra servings were packed up and sent along with us as we all prepared to depart.

My husband and I plan to visit again later this year in the fall. I can't wait to be welcomed "home" again at the River House Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

My wife and I recently rode the View Trail 100 on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. This 100 mile circuit passes several of the Eastern Shore's small towns, each with something special to offer. One of the special things about Snow Hill, Maryland is the River House Inn. After riding 50+ miles in the heat, it was great to be able to shower and jump into a nice refreshing outdoor pool (even heated when outdoor temperatures are cooler). The innkeepers made us feel right at home and attended to all of our needs. Very nice hot breakfast with a variety of items, and the rooms were spacious and well maintained. We would definitely recommend the River House Inn to cyclists and non-cyclist alike. Also, a great location for staging day rides on the Eastern Shore.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JERKIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snow Hill
17.2 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
13.8 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
16.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
17.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Property: River House Inn
Address: 201 E. Market Street, Snow Hill, MD 21863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Snow Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Snow Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Victorian bed & breakfast that overlooks the Pocomoke River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing