We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a 25th Wedding Anniversary with Dog!”
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River House Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Snow Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Dwayne and Rick are the perfect hosts - the cabin was wonderful, very cozy with a nice gas fire and a wonderful huge bed! The porch on our cabin was delightful and the view of the River was so nice that we opted to stay at the B and B for one of our 3 days just to enjoy the experience there. The food was amazing. The hosts go out of their way to accommodate dogs and our standard poodle was very happy. It was a "dark and stormy night" when we arrived and Rick bent over backwards to loan us the use of their laundry to get our things clean and dry! We will definitely be back! an experience not to be missed in Maryland.

Room Tip: Cabin facing the river is perfect for solitude, romance and quick dog trips to the huge lawn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilaMom028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed at the River House for four nights, and it was among the best B&B experiences we have had. Rick and Dwayne are great hosts. The house is very old (1860's) and very charming. Disregard any reviews from before they bought the place in 2010 - they review the previous owner who let it fall into neglect. The current owners have put their soul into the place, and it shows. From the beautiful front door to the glistening stairway, the house gleams. But the best part of all is the phenominal breakfast. The baked goods that Dwayne prepares are amazing (waffles, english muffins, blueberry muffins, jersey crumbcake, etc etc etc), and the eggs benedict by Rick are the best I have ever had (ask for the eggs benedict on Maryland's favorite crabcake -- it is exceptional!) Not to mention they won the Christmas light competition in the town for the third year in a row. We look forward to our next stay at the River House!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed one night at the River House Inn and experienced wonderful hospitality. The location is on the river as well as in the midst of historic and other natural attractions. The innkeepers are very accommodating.

Room Tip: I had the West Room. It was nicely decorate and the bed was comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The second time I stayed at The River House Inn proved every bit as delicious as the first - both in terms of the room and the breakfast provided. Dwayne and Rick provided excellent care from the moment I arrived, and because I was returning, welcomed me like family. I could not have been more pleased and satisfied. This is just a terrific experience in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: The least expensive room does not have an en suite bath - it is worth it (to me!) to go the smalle e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bparker235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I like food and am a gourmet,and am very critical, thinking about the breakfast at the River makes me salivate, the best waffles I have had in years, excellent eggs benedicts, and the muffin, wow.. Very clean, very comfortable room, , amazing host.
In conclusion I highly recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrislgNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the River House in Sonw Hill, MD. This is an excellent location for touring the back roads of the lower eastern shore of MD and the VA eastern shore. All three restaurants in Snow Hill are within walking distance of the inn. We dined at the Harvest Moon and Palette. The bistro ambience and the food at the Palette were outstanding.
It would be difficult to find more gracious hosts than Rick and Dwane and their dog Teal. The breakfasts were excellent and fortified us for most of the day. You must try the waffles, which are out of this world. We stayed in the Thebaud (Tay bow) Room in the main house. This is one of the most comfortable B&Bs that we have ever stayed in. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here several years ago and it was then a terrific property with great potential but sadly fraying at the edges.
It has improved dramatically in both maintenance and personality. If your idea of a Maryland B&B is one with precious antiques and Laura Ashley wallpaper this still may not be the place for you. We stayed in the Yacht Club room, with a working fireplace, whirlpool tub and a lovely covered porch overlooking the Pocomoke River. It was perfect, with one of the breakfasts I've ever had in a B&B.
The pool is of a nice size and heated so that you could still enjoy it in the first week of October. Everything about River House is clean, comfortable and friendly. One caution, it pays to like/love dogs.
There is a nice old dog on the premises and some rooms are dog friendly. We love dogs and wish we'd brought our own but if you're allergic or frightened of dogs it is a consideration.
The owners are attentive without being pests -- a problem at some B&Bs. Snow Hill itself is worth exploring over the course of a leisurely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snow Hill
17.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
104 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,343 reviews
17.2 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
991 reviews
16.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,270 reviews
17.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Address: 201 E. Market Street, Snow Hill, MD 21863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Snow Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Snow Hill
Price Range: £99 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Victorian bed & breakfast that overlooks the Pocomoke River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing