We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful innkeepers, wonderful time!”
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River House Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Snow Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the River House Inn. Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted by Rick, one of the innkeepers. Rick wasted no time making us feel welcomed with an offer of coffee and a tour of the place. The cottages we viewed were clean, tastefully decorated, and had plenty of nice touches - drinks in the mini-fridge, bags of popcorn, and chocolates! Our cottage had a nice television (with cable), a big comfy bed, and a cozy fireplace. It was not hard to completely unwind and relax. After thinking our stay could not possibly get any better, we had the world's best breakfast! Fresh from the oven coffee cake, light fluffy waffles, eggs cooked to order, savory home-fries, fruit, and bacon! Who could ask for more? We were certainly impressed with all of the treats, the attention to detail, and the delightful spirit of the innkeepers!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaliaT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

First, if anyone has a single complaint about the River House Inn, he/she is a nitpicker and probably dissatisfied with everything.

The house, decor and ambiance are charming and welcoming. The feeling is of truly being welcomed into someone's home. Bedrooms are cozy and wonderfully appointed. The breakfast is beyond description and the owners wait on you.....but without hovering. At the same time, Rick is always up for conversation if you are so inclined.

I was there alone with 3 small children who were "pretty good" and not once did either owner give me a tense look.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We went out on a limb, and decided to visit this part of the country for a sleepy bike ride in warmish weather for October. We were not disappointed. The accomodations were clean, roomy and comfortable. The breakfast was the high point. Delicious fresh, homemade choices were abundant.
We were in a water view room, which was quite large. It was off season so our rate was great which included the aforementioned delicious breakfast. Not sure if I'm running back to Snow Hill, but if I did, I would stay here again. Can't comment on all the rooms, but ours was worth returning to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsy_perl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We came upon this inn unexpected on a saturday while on a roadtrip through eastern USA. They had one room left and we absolutely loved it. Four poster bed in a spacey room with a porch in frond and with complementary soda's and water in a communal fridge. The B&B is full of southern charm, has a nice pool and at sunset you should definitely take a stroll through the garden to the river Poconoc.
But best of all, the hospitality of the owners and the scrumptious breakfast: fresh fruit, eggs the way you want them, the most delicious belgian waffles (nothing like the ones at the waffle house or supermarket), and if your lucky home made almond french toast.
We planned to stay 1 night but after breakfast it was quickly decided that we'd definitely would stay for a second night. The town is small but cute, and the beach is closeby.
Dwayne and Rick are the nicest people and made us feel like we were visiting friends.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank holidayfan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were a group of 4 (2 couples) who stayed 2 nights at River House Inn in the Ivy Cottage. We found it very disappointing and ill-suited for our needs. The one full bath was upstairs and accessible only by walking through the bedroom. Also, the tall one in our group could only walk upright (very carefully) in the middle of the 2nd floor, as the ceiling sloped way down on both sides. The overall condition was best described as shabby. Additionally, the grounds of the inn were unkempt and cluttered. We were not taken to our lodging upon check-in or informed of amenities such as coffee, wine, etc. Breakfasts were tasty and plentiful, however. We certainly expected much better, based on the price and the online reviews we read prior to booking. We would not recommend or return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We selected the River House Inn from excellent reviews on several web sites. Our two-night visit exceeded our high expectations. The breakfast was plentiful - the waffles are world famous so do not miss them. The inn keepers heated the pool on our late Sept. visit so I could swim. The innkeepers instantly made us feel at home and the fire in the outdoor fireplace was a nice fitting end to the day. We selected the location as we wanted to go to Smith Island and Chincoteague. We live on the Eastern Shore but we will be coming back as there is so much more to explore on the lower Eastern Shore.

Room Tip: The East Room is the only one with a King bed, but the comments about it facing the street and havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I don't think there is much I can add that isn't said below 70 or 80 times. A nice place to say. Excellent hosts. Great breakfasts. Nice pool (which we didn't use because we forgot bathing suits.) Just a peaceful, relaxing place to kick back. If we are ever back in the area I would welcome an oportunity to stop by again. Everything a nice B&B should be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenap2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snow Hill
17.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
105 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,343 reviews
17.2 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
993 reviews
16.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,276 reviews
17.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Address: 201 E. Market Street, Snow Hill, MD 21863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Snow Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Snow Hill
Price Range: £99 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Victorian bed & breakfast that overlooks the Pocomoke River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing