We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stoney's Solomon's Pier - CLOSED

Stoney's Solomon's Pier
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average food, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The view is the reason that I gave this restaurant a very good rating. The food was OK. The service was OK. Now, this was 4th of July weekend and it was busy but still, the staff could have tried a little harder. We were waiting for the fireworks and wanted some seafood so we went there. Other people on the pier warned us that the prices were high but we wanted to stay outdoors on the pier since it was such a nice day. The waitresses were buzzing around and seemed like they were doing you a favor because it was busy and 4th of July. Would not return for the food but only for drinks maybe on the deck when it was not busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    146
    71
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ehh. Alright. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The one thing this place has right is the location. Beautiful views. Now the rest. Parking is a nightmare. They may have 4 spots out front, 1 of which was occupied by an unhitched trailer. The rest is street or public parking. We had to park 3 blocks down after 10 mins of hunting. Good luck. When my bf and I went in for dinner- around 7- we were told there was a 20-25 min wait. There was no one else ahead of us so we decided to wait at the bar which you have to walk through part of the dining area to get to. There were at least 2 tables in main dining area, 3 hi tops near the bar, and 2 empty outside that we could see. We asked the bartender what was up with the wait and he said maybe the kitchen was backed up. After a couple came in after us and were seated, we asked the bartender for menus and sat ourselves. He acted as our server plus ran the bar. (Thank you for that). My bf ordered the fried rockfish appetizer and I asked for a side salad. We ordered the steamed sampler for two as our dinner. My salad was warm and the app was rubbery, definitely not fresh. The entree had a nice mix of seafood. Clams, mussels, oysters. Shrimp and 2 lobster tails. Blue and king crab. Old bay, drawn butter, and cocktail sauce were also provided. But again, it wasn't fresh. It seemed pre-frozen. You know how you can just tell? Like the texture is off. The corn it came with was good. We were actually surprised at how mediocre the meal was considering the reviews we saw.

Helpful?
Thank Mare1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesbirg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I visit your beautiful restaurant at Solomon's island we had great expectations since we travel 2 hours and 45 mins. Assuming that such a great location and atmosphere would offer the best seafood, after all that's the reason we went to Maryland from Leesburg Va., we had to get over an unfriendly hostess and wait 15 minutes to be greeted, the mussels we're ok but we had to ask for app plates , spoons and napkins, he crab soup was salty and the biggest issue was that we order the Chesapeake stew, so we paid $15.00 + tax for 2 or 3 oz of mashed potatoes, a couple of oz of seafood stack, 1/4 cup of milk and 3 clams, ? , as a hospitality specialist training employees for OSI inc, now Blooming brand inc for 13 years and as restaurant consultant I'd rather never go back to have such a horrible experience

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2eatpork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NOT good for a large group”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Ate here midday on 7/10/14 as part of a group. Service was slow, menu had few "standout" items, "upstairs room too loud" Reservations made at 1 PM, - exactly when two other groups were scheduled...no idea why each party was not staggered by 15 - 20 minutes. Cajun crab soup - GREAT - moderate spicy as described, other crab soup - marginal. oyster shooter in beer had WAY too much cayenne/tabasco. group gratuity NOT added to bill - that was appreciated as I dislike that practice. Probably a great place for a quiet dinner for two.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
254 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

On a day trip along the bay and we stopped for an early lunch. An excellent beer selection and then fresh seafood. I had he rockfish gyro-- fresh and full of flavor. Hubby had the crab cake sandwich. Holy moly--- 8 oz of PURE crab. No filler and light use of butter/oil. The fries are perfect crunch. I didn't like the coleslaw but hubby did-- very creamy. Must stop!

Helpful?
1 Thank Urbanfarmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stoney's Solomon's Pier also viewed

 
Solomons, Calvert County
Solomons, Calvert County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing