We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some Decent Chinese Food - yeah!”
Review of Laughing Buddha - CLOSED

Laughing Buddha
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Some Decent Chinese Food - yeah!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It's hard to find good Chinese food in Calvert or St Mary's County. This restaurant is not fancy, but the food is really good. We would recommend it for basic Chinese food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great carry out!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We were treated to carry out from Laughing Buddha. My egg roll and happy family entrée were great. I didn't like the egg drop soup, but that was just an extra. I want to go in person next time to check it out. I hear the spring rolls and lo mein are good, too.

Helpful?
Thank karensphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dameron, Maryland
Level Contributor
430 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great restaurant! Not JUST Chinese food - Malay & Thai as well!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This restaurant is one of the gems in Solomons, Maryland - they offer specials every day! While they do serve Chinese food - they also offer delights from other areas of Asia such as Thai and Malay dishes which are really awesome! Service is friendly, although at times it does seem like they are short-handed. Portions are quite large and prices are really reasonable for the amount of food you get. Definitely recommend this place! Family friendly as well - so, bring the kids for an enjoyable eating experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mako13Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Laughing Buddha has an extensive Chinese menu, as well as tasty Thai treats. Great food. Also very large and can seat plenty of people, which gives it an edge over all the other restaurants of its kind in the county.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Twinkles18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly but typical Chinese”
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

I was hoping the food was going to be really good because the folks that take care of serving your meal are outstanding. But alas this is a very typical Chinese restaurant. The chicken seems pre- cut, the "breading" was on the heavy side and "boxed". Vegetables were fresh. Drink portions were very generous. Lots of locals-- always nice. Very clean. Good value. If you are looking for average Chinese food in a friendly setting, you will enjoy this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laughing Buddha also viewed

Solomons, Calvert County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing