We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked Away”
Review of Bistro Belle Maison - CLOSED

Bistro Belle Maison
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tucked Away”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Behind another great place for lunch and the best key lime pie in MD is a B&B with a little restaurant tucked inside. The menu changes every week with what ever the chef has a feel for. The food is top notch, Excellent. The portions are advertised as small, but that is up to the beholder. We thought the portions were plentiful in both starter and main course. The desserts are unusual and very good without being too much. Was introduced to Green Tea Ginger Ale, loved it and now that I know you can get it through Canada Dry I bought a case.

The atmosphere is pleasent, But.....the chairs are wicker seats with thin cushions, "uncomfortable". The floors are wood and it causes the acoustics to be a bit poor. If there is a large group eating in this restaurant your conversation will get drowned out by them. They need carpet or something to drown out the noise factor. The view is nice, can see the water from the back porch. Wait staff is friendly and efficient.

Price is a bit steep. We had one starter, two main courses, two small desserts, two ginger ales, one cup coffee. Total was $84.00 before tip. This is a great place for special occasion meals, can't afford it otherwise very offen. A reservation is a must, only open Thursday, Friday, & Saturday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 360travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Too Loud!!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Our dining experience was horrible because of the noise! Believe it or not the noise was created by the owner of the restaurant and her group dining at the table next to us. This kind of behavior is expected at Chucky Cheese, not at a fine dining establishment! It was both rude and inconsiderate of all other guests in the restaurant. It was virtually impossible to carry on a conversation at your table. Obviously the owner does not care about return business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JannBounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“So glad we found this gem!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had heard that Bistro had opened. Look closely for their sign and be sure to make a rez.

We had a most enjoyable evening with delicious cocktails and excellent food. The menu shows creative use of local products and the service was good. I thought some of the items on the menu a bit heavy (read "winter food") for August in MD but overall it was an excellent menu and certainly only one or two other places in Solomons are doing anything near approaching this quality of menu planning, local foods, and preparation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Mediocre Brunch Experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The service at brunch today was mediocre, and that affected our outlook on this dining experience. We asked for water, and received a carafe, but no glasses. Glasses were promptly delivered after we pointed this out. Sugar and milk/cream for the coffee came after the coffee was delivered, and the sugar in the sugar bowl was caked and sticking to the bowl. These seem like trivial complaints, but prior reviews have you expecting a five star dining experience, and that is not what we experienced today.
The menu was interesting, and the 'chicken and waffles' were flavorful and filling. The 'crepe with scallops' featured tiny pieces of scallops, and was a bit underwhelming. We expected three to four expertly prepared scallops to fill the crepe, and this particular preparation left us wanting for more. The highlight of brunch today for us, was the french press coffee, which was outstanding.
The outside seating overlooks the water and the scenery is beautiful. While we had an underwhelming dining experience today, this restaurant has a lot of potential and a lot of good prior reviews. Accordingly, if you have been considering going to Bistro Belle Maison, we would recommend you do that. This restaurant does have a lot of potential, we just not did see it today.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeloShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Exquisite 5 star dining in a B&B setting”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Bistro Belle Maison at the Blue Heron Inn is a waterfront dining experience unlike any other on Solomons Island.

Chef Amanda has studied at top culinary schools in both Paris (Cordon Bleu) and New York (CIA) and it shows. Her menu changes weekly and is always a sheer delight. The kitchen is very flexible and offers the entire menu in sharing fashion allowing everyone to partake in her culinary magic.

I highly recommend this venue for group or celebratory gatherings. The staff is very attentive and setting conducive to intimate dining experience. Highly recommend reservations as seating is limited and fills up fast on popular nights.

I celebrated my birthday here this year with a group of 10 who all marveled at setting, service and cuisine. Visitors stayed upstairs in deluxe B&B accommodations with harbor view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hey_Joe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Belle Maison also viewed

 
Solomons, Calvert County
Solomons, Calvert County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing