We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first B&B experience”

Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solomons
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Solomons B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We just stayed at the Blue Heron Inn for our very first bed and breakfast getaway, and we couldn't have been more pleased. Even though the Inn was nearly full, it felt completely private. Our room was large and very comfortable, the place was immaculate, and the staff were warm and friendly; available without being intrusive, Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short because of bad weather, but I would have loved to stay longer at the Blue Heron.
A truly terrific experience for first time B&B guests! I would recommend the Blue Heron Inn as the ideal place to stay in Solomons, it is centrally located, but quiet and comfortable. Amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

Especially since someone had connections and turned a 60% chance of rain day into the perfect weather for a waterside wedding. :-)

We booked all four rooms for two sets of parents; the bride and her maid of honor; and a room for the groom. Very spacious rooms and as mentioned, the 2 on the second floor have direct access to a balcony. The bistro level also has a wide balcony perfect for enjoying your morning cup of coffee with a spectacular view.

Bedrooms 3 and 4 are on the upper level, so climbing somewhat steep stairs is a must. Very quiet up there though.

The bathroom in #1 was huge and perfect for five bridesmaids to help each other and the bride get ready. The sitting area in room 2 provided a nice gathering spot for snacks during the preliminary activities.

The brick walk across the lawn to the water made for a perfect aisle for daughter and the water was the perfect backdrop for the ceremony and photos.

We rented 90 chairs and a 20 by 30 tent from a nearby vendor....the tent being a last minute addition because of predicted rain - but it ended up providing a nice shade covering from the sun.

We only ate breakfast at the Inn because our reception was at a private club next door, but the breakfasts were very ample and totally yummy! Lots of fresh fruit, warm banana bread and a hot main course served each day.

We slept very well, after the Tiki Bar noise flowing across the water died down....but since many of the patrons there that weekend were from our event, I guess we couldn't really complain. :-)

Would definitely go back for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We selected Blue Heron and Belle Maison Bistro for a place to stay and entertain friends for a double birthday celebration. We knew we were not taking a chance because of the sterling repution of Amanda (owner/operator/chef) whose schooling as a Chef at Cordon Bleu in Paris and Culinary Institute of America comes through in every aspect of her entire menu (changes weekly so there is always a surprise in store). Amanda suggested a platter style multicourse experience and served us the entire menu for our party of 9. It was simply amazing.

As to rooms, they are spacious and well appointed and breakfast the following morning was another culinary feast.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have access to balcony which is highly recommended in seasonable weather
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hey_Joe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Blue Heron is a unique facility that doesn't have the feel of a true Bed and Breakfast, it's much more private. Guest accomodations are excellent, the breakfast outstanding and the hostess goes out of her way to make the guest feel at home. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOWCAY-Abaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

For the high price, I didn't find this BB worth it. My back ached from the soft bed and they didn't bother to clean up the room on the obligatory second day.

I was in the top floor-so it was a long haul to the coffee and tea. I had an upset stomach and really could have used a cup of tea. But the kitchen/dining room is turned into a restaurant each night, so you can not make tea in the evening. Frankly, it apears that the food and restaurant is more of an interest to the owners than the lodging part. It would be a good idea for them to have a coffee maker on each of the four rooms.

I definitely didn't feel that it was worth the money.

Room Tip: The room is in back of another building. So the only view available is the narrow. At first, I coul...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Customer111212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I stayed here for my wedding weekend. All of my bridesmaids got ready here also, We took pictures before the wedding with the gorgeous back drop of the water! LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I highly recommend staying here for any occasion! The staff was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I have 3 words to say about this place..."Will go back!" Amanda's hospitality was welcoming and pleasant - and the gourmet breakfasts were yummy! We stayed in one of the suites and the sunrise views off the balcony are breathtaking! The decor has some nice touches. Great quiet, relaxing, and refreshing 3 day-2 night getaway...but the next time we'll stay longer :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eb_and_lb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solomons
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lexington Park-California
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14614 Solomons Island Rd, Solomons, MD 20688
Region: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Solomons
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solomons
Price Range: £111 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing