We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Lighthouse Restaurant and Dock Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Lighthouse Restaurant and Dock Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Solomons
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beautiful Waterfront Restaurant, with great Quality Food and Drinks!
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We ate lunch here with a group of friends on a Sunday afternoon and everyone enjoyed their lunch. The Maryland crab soup was appropriately spicey, the chef salad was very substantial portion - not all lettuce, the chicken wrap was heavenly and filled me up for the rest of the day - no dinner for me tonight. The service was very attentive. Nice, clean restaurant. the view in the back of the restaurant was very nice as well! The only down note and no points deducted, because we are responsible for our "stuff", my husband left a very nice stainless steel water bottle and when he called back to ask about it, the "manager" did not seem very sympathetic or inclined to look for it. We are hoping the manager on Monday morning will be a little more concerned. This is a very nice and welcome eating option for this area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpyderWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    104
    43
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were there this past Sat July 12th at the bar to enjoy some cocktails and company of friends. We sat at the outdoor bar with the beautiful water to our backs, a great band playing, good attention by the very busy bar staff, and wow - what a great full moon. I was watching the food coming out and wishing I was hungry to enjoy some of the dishes. Pasta seemed to be popular and looked great. My friends order the guacamole and that was freshly made and delicious. Will be back on return visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyntiastst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Staff was terrible. If you must dock, go late afternoon”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The service was very far from the usual warm and friendly Chesapeake hospitality. We arrived and the staff looked unimpressed. We had to request the attention of several waiters before anyone dare take our order. The lunch menu was not very good (not diverse), the food not tasty at all and the portions ginormous. We went back in the afternoon for the boat dock and had better luck with a more diverse evening menu but still the same unresponsive staff (call to request the menu, call to request the order, the order arrives with no napkins or silverware....) the only prompt service we received was to get the bill.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evelynegomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good food and good service.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The atmosphere was nice with a quaint design theme and the location on the water. The staff ran around in khaki shorts and polos so it was not a very fancy restaurant. And while the food was good it was also kind of pricey $15-20 per plate average. We had a big group (10) and the staff handled our drinks orders, food orders, and bill all in a very timely manner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank beccag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crab cake heaven”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you happen to be in Southern Maryland and have a yearning for good pizza, then get in your car and start driving north because you aren't getting a good pizza down here. However, this is the land (or sea) of crab cakes and the Lighthouse is certainly one of the leaders in crab cakes. My wife likes the angry crab cake (a little spicy) and my favorite dish is the tuna nacho app...awesome bite sized treat. There is seating inside and out with pretty good water views. The bar is pretty impressive with two garage doors that roll up and access the outdoor dining. Prices are reasonable and the homemade chips are fantastic so don't upgrade from the chips to french fries. Take your time here and enjoy the view and the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lighthouse Restaurant and Dock Bar also viewed

Solomons, Calvert County
 
Solomons, Calvert County
Solomons, Calvert County
 

Been to Lighthouse Restaurant and Dock Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing