We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where We Want to Be”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solomons
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solomons Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Solomons B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where We Want to Be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I really love Solomons Victorian Inn. We first stayed here in 2011 for our 30th wedding anniversary. One month later and we were back to celebrate my husband's birthday. During this time, I was also in the midst of my first battle with cancer; everything is so clean that I didn't worry about germs. Both times we stayed in the beautiful Chesapeake Sunset Suite with a view of the harbor.

We just returned from celebrating our 32nd wedding anniversary, this time choosing to stay in the beautiful and cozy Orithia Room. This room has an even better view of the harbor; what a beautiful view to wake up to! Before we left to return home, we had already made reservations to come back for another weekend.

The owners are sweet, friendly (and certainly not intrusive) people who want their guests to be comfortable and enjoy their stay at their B&B as well as Solomons Island. This is just one of the reasons we love Solomons Victorian Inn. As I am fighting cancer again, we know we can trust in the cleanliness of the entire place.

Other reasons to love Solomons Victorian Inn:
It's beautiful, quiet and peaceful; it's on Solomons Island; the breakfast is delicious (I am gluten-free and can completely trust that my meal is safe). Lots more I'm just not remembering right now!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandma_P2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake125, Owner at Solomons Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
It was so nice to see you again and very pleased that you had the quiet stay you needed. We'll see you here for our annual fourth of July weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
109
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belrose
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed over New Years. The hosts couldn't be more welcoming, and the house is beautiful. We enjoyed a hearty and delicious breakfast each day, and our room was very pretty with a four poster bed. It was my first visit and I hope to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bacardiandlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake125, Owner at Solomons Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We are so happy that you joined us to ring in 2014. Solomons is a wonderful place during the winter months. Right now, our camelias are blooming, so it is time to plan another getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I definitely recommend a winter weekend at the Victorian Inn. We spent 2 nights and celebrated New Years there. We stayed in the fun Solomons Sunset room, the third floor room with slanted and high ceilings, sitting area, great views out of several windows and hot tub. During the day we walked and explored and visited some town 'must-sees' and even found the Inn a nice setting to do some work that we both had to attend to. We had no problem finding nice places to eat during the day and at night. After a great New Year's dinner we came back to the Inn and rang in the year with the other guests and the owners Helen and Richard who provided champagne and apps for all of us. Great getaway after the craziness of the holidays!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake125, Owner at Solomons Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
You chose my favorite room for a winter getaway. There is nothing quite like sitting in that huge whirlpool, with the roof window open a bit. The great mix of hot and cold and steam makes a very romantic setting. So glad that you joined us for New Years Eve. Have a wonderful 2014 and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have stayed at the Solomons Victorian Inn for almost six years, on a *very* regular basis. I work at the Naval Air Station across the Pax River, and the Inn is a very welcome relief from the hustle, bustle and traffic near the base. The Inn offers the Government per diem during the week, which is an outstanding deal when you consider you are basically staying in a resort town!

The hosts, Helen and Richard, go out of their way to make you feel welcome; to make sure you're well taken care of and well fed in the morning. They are also on top of all the local places of interest and know all the best restaurants in the area, and make sure you know all your options for activity and dining. If you are lucky enough to stay the weekend, which I've done often, they serve the most fantastic stuffed french toast I have had anywhere! And during the week - Helen makes the best scrambled eggs ever.

My wife comes to the Inn for the weekend two or three weekends a year. She loves Solomons and she loves the Inn, and always looks forward to seeing Helen and Richard. The Inn is surrounded by water - the Chesapeake Harbor, Patuxent River, and Solomons Harbor. Many of the rooms have stunning water views. The grounds at the Inn have beautiful gardens and many places to sit outside and enjoy Solomons al fresco. The house itself was built in the early 1900's and has lots of Victorian character along with all the modern conveniences. Many rooms have both refrigerators and microwaves.

If you are going to Southern Maryland and would like a superior experience for relaxation or for business, go no farther than the Solomons Victorian Inn!

Room Tip: The best views are in the Carriage House or the third floor room Solomons Sunset suite. The quietes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkelm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwood, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were there in October in the pouring rain. It seemed like a great location with views of the water and boats. The gardens seemed nice inspite of the weather. The breakfast was great; stuffed French toast, bacon, juice and coffee. Our room was tired, but clean, and our hostess seemed tired of the whole business too. Perhaps she had just had a bad day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The inn was as lovely and cozy as we hoped it would be, food was great, the innkeepers saw to all our needs, they served a delicious breakfast. I recommend the carriage house rooms. Solomon's is a true gem as well.

Room Tip: The carriage house is private and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwr2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a wonderful anniversary at this comfortable inn. We stayed on the first floor of the carriage house which was very private with a jacuzzi tub. The breakfasts were delicious and the owner shared the recipes! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Either floor of the carriage house is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_and_Jo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesapeaket, Owner at Solomons Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
So happy that you enjoyed your anniversary getaway. Please don't wait another year to visit. "Solomons Christmas Walk" is the first weekend in December. Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solomons
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
13.2 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solomons Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solomons Victorian Inn

Property: Solomons Victorian Inn
Address: 125 Charles St, Solomons, MD 20688-0759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Solomons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solomons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a WEEKEND GETAWAY. The perfect choice for the BUSINESS TRAVELER. Solomons Victorian Inn caters to all your individual needs. Walk to Solomons best restaurants, relax in the stunning gardens, jog the island roads, hire a boat or jet-ski. It's all here, and close to PAX River and all nearby attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing