We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Inn”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The setting is beautiful, the rooms are lovely; we ate dinner and breakfast and both were delicious. I have read other reviews talking about a boxed lunch and wine in the room, we got neither. Considering we paid full price that is a little disappointing.

Through a series of unusual circumstances we decided to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary on Maryland's Eastern Shore. My husband and I both found this inn on the internet at the same time. Neither of us had heard of it, but it looked beautiful, the location was great and it offered a "Romantic Getaway" that seemed perfect for our purposes.

I made the reservations and included in the getaway was a customized 5-course dinner. We were contacted more than a week before our anniversary and asked what we liked and didn't like. From that our menu was created. We didn't know what it would be until we walked into the restaurant. Everything was delicious. We had a seafood appetizer, a green salad with apples and pecans and the most delicious salad dressing (would love to have that recipe), champagne sorbet as a palate cleanser, filet mignon and stuffed lobster tail entree and the most decadent chocolate dessert.

I am grateful that circumstances led us to this beautiful inn. It was a great place to spend our anniversary. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Our Historic Inn offers a special romantic getaway package as a way to celebrate the special people in your lives. Yet, our restaurant is open for Saturday lunch and our popular Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet

You and your significant other enjoyed and appreciated the luxury of having our executive chef, William Lackey, as your personal chef catering solely to you. As such, this level of service and attention to detail goes well beyond one of our standard package (which varies and is sometimes a box lunch and wine)

We are indeed grateful you chose to celebrate life's special times with us and look forward to your return.

Sincerely

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    49
    16
    10
    9
See reviews for
30
100
4
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We purchased the TravelZoo deal (1 night, breakfast, boxed lunch and wine package) and chose to use this to get away for our anniversary. All the other reviews are accurate - no elevator - old world charm. There was a wedding going on and the music was quite loud even though it was raining and we were on the 3rd floor, but the music stopped at 10 pm which was acceptable. Thad was very accomodating. The included breakfast was decent enough (some fruit, eggs, pastries and coffee/tea) and the wine was good. We also enjoyed a nice meal about 1.5 miles away at Rustico. Only complaints were that our room on the 3rd floor was VERY creaky - yes, even the shower creaked - and the A/C did not get all that cold. But if you're looking for a quiet out of the way place with old fashioned charm and character, you will enjoy it here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Those boards do creak and sing the Manor House's nearly 200 years of hospitality. As you so well stated, if you are looking for old fashion charm and character with attentive service then you have found us. Kent Island is a wedding destination during the summer months and the Manor House has hosted hundreds of weddings over the years, some a bit more celebratory than others. We are glad the music was not too disturbing and it ended at a reasonable time.

Thank you again for the kind words and look forward to celebrating with you again on your next anniversary!

Warmest regards,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here on Sep 12 to celebrate our anniversary. Got a great deal from Travelzoo - lower rate, bottle of wine, boxed lunch. Could not have been happier. Would have stayed here even without the special. Thad greeted us and made us feel welcome immediately. The grounds and rooms are superior. Just a great setting. The lemonade (herbal infused) and cookies hit the spot. The breakfast would have filled anybody. Thad gave us great tip for walking - Terrapin Nature Center - right on the Bay and next to the Bay Bridge. Wonderful site to enjoy the copious box lunch. I would recommend the Kent Manor Inn for any special occasion.

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine. Just being here is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeyluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Those boards do creak and sing the Manor House's nearly 200 years of hospitality. As you so well stated, if you are looking for old fashion charm and character with attentive service then you have found us. Kent Island is a wedding destination during the summer months and the Manor House has hosted hundreds of weddings over the years, some a bit more celebratory than others. We are glad the music was not too disturbing and it ended at a reasonable time.

Thank you again for the kind words and look forward to celebrating with you again on your next anniversary!

Warmest regards,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I took advantage of a Trip Advisor deal for 2 nights at the Kent Manor. We had a lovely stay although not sure we would have stayed if not at a discounted rate. The Inn was charming and set on beautiful grounds. I would not recommend staying on the 3rd floor if you have issues with stairs as there is no elevator. The complimentary wine was a nice touch, the continental breakfast was very good and the sandwiches packed for our road trip home were plentiful and delicious. There isn't much to do in the immediate area so we stopped in Annapolis on the way and spent the next day in St. Michael's. Nice get away for 2 days. Thad at the Inn was very nice guy and helpful with directions.

Room Tip: Try for the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you from all of the Tipo Advisor readers for sharing the details and your tips. Thank you for sharing your five-star rating of us, too! Sorry that this wonderful review somehow slipped between the cracks. Best, Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you need "new" this and "new" that and unsqueaky floors and a hermetic experience (for those worried about the wedding parties), then this charming 1860 inn and the old world hospitality is probably not for you; you'd be better at the 4 Seasons. Yet, if you want completely indulgent service and graciousness and a "package" that has been thoroughly thought through and generous (at least for the package we bought), then you'll be a happy guest at Kent Manor Inn. Enjoy a quiet time on the dock; take the gratis bikes out to a great trail; take the gratis kayak out for a paddle; enjoy a variety of high carb items for breakfast (that you can balance with the peanut butter or Greek yogurt; enjoy the gratis cookies (but we recommend you grab a couple before they're all gone for the evening; and (for our package) enjoy the gratis wine that was unexpectedly quite good and extremely generously sized sandwiches and goodies in the yummy boxed lunch on your way out. The staff can't do enough to make your stay as lovely as possible. We'd be quite happy to return. We'd have given it 5 stars had the AC done a better job of dehumidifying things and the champagne brunch been a notch more toward finer cuisine that we are spoiled with in Baltimore and DC. Would we pay the normal price (without the Travelzoo deal) for what we have described as a really delightful getaway? Probably not because kid one starts college in a week and we are not prone to indulge ourselves on high dollar-short duration outings (ie we're cheap). But we feel completely comfortable about the value we received from our semi-anniversary couples outing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BmoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We are so very glad you were able to take advantage of a stay at Historic Kent Manor Inn while saving those important tuition dollars! My number one is settled in at college and number two is in the midst of the application process!!

Our cookies? Yes, very popular and sometimes (but not always) hard to keep the cookie platter full!

Sincerely,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

On a whim, my husband and I made last minute reservations to visit the Kent Manor Inn on a summer Friday night. We were pleasantly surprised when the Inn placed us in a nice room on the second floor a bit away from the wedding party that was occupying the Inn for the night. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly, provided a tour, given tips for local restaurants and attractions, and presented with a surprise bottle of wine in our room in honor of my "early birthday." We enjoyed watching the wedding from our balcony and even chatted with a couple who was there celebrating their one year anniversary (the Inn re-creates the wedding dinner for those who have their wedding there). Our room was comfortable, clean and appointed. The Inn itself has tremendous character with its old floors, moulding and décor. The furnishings were a mix of reproductions and vintage pieces...which were nice. Bathroom was clean...albeit tiny...but no problem. Complimentary Rusk toiletries and evens snacks for purchase. We got a game of horseshoes in...but had to leave before taking advantage of kayaks and volleyball. The continental breakfast offered much more than a typical continental....eggs, bacon, pastries, muffins, cereal, etc. It was nice sitting out on the patio and looking at the creek as we enjoyed breakfast. Thad was extremely welcoming and attentive to our needs. We would definitely go back to the Kent Manor Inn...would be lovely in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8iep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
From the Kent Manor Inn Better--Late-Than-Never Department:
For whatever reason I missed your thoughtful, sincere reveiw, I fall on my sword before you, oh maiden. Now our talented housekeepers REALLY have some work to do! Thank you, again, and I hope you can find time to enjoy us for future birthdays as well as "just because". Sincerely, Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Kent Manor offers a modern step into the past. Every room is decorated differently and elegantly with a private bath. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful, right on the water, and there are many options for fun. Use of boats, volley ball and bikes are all free; as well as the pool. There are many wonderful restaurants close by. There is a free breakfast buffet and when leaving you are given a boxed lunch! The inn is decorated in colonial style and is very charming. A perfect weekend get-a-way, or romantic anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: Some rooms offer a fireplace and some a private porch. If steps are a problem, ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juy720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
If your review was also a resume for a copy writer, you're hired! Thank you for pointing out, from a guest's perspective, our amenities and your experience with Historic Kent Manor Inn. We hope to see you again, soon!

Best,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
13.1 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
4.0 mi away
Best Western Kent Narrows Inn
9.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn

Property: Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Address: 500 Kent Manor Dr, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666-2562 (Formerly Kent Manor Inn)
Region: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn is an estate on 220 acres of farmland. The Inn is well known as the venue of choice for WEDDINGS, SPECIAL EVENTS, BUSINESS MEETINGS, RETREATS and FAMILY REUNIONS. When availability permits we welcome travelers to stay with us for a night or more. The Inn has 24 individually decorated guest rooms; each with a private bath. Flexible event and meeting space is available for groups of most sizes. The waterfront lawn is a perfect setting for a wedding and group team building programs. The Preserve is a seasonal venue that can accommodate as many as 300 guests. Our Executive Chef creates wonderful menus that fit most budgets. Our catering staff is well-seasoned and ready to attend to your every food & beverage need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing