We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway that's not too far from Baltimore or Washington, D.C.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I attended a business retreat here, but also took the time to scope out the place because I'm always on the lookout for places to kidnap my wife, abandon the children and disappear to. The rooms are about the size you would expect from most B&Bs, but they have their own bathrooms, balconies and keurig coffee makers. The grounds are wide open spaces with waterfront access. I noticed they have a pool, but didn't get over to see it. Decently stocked bar on site with wine cellar. I loved how the dining room heat was a thermostatically controlled set of gas logs. I can't wait to come back in warmer weather.

Room Tip: The south side of the building faces the water and all the rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasonbulger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

The Manor House is warm and comfortable in wintertime but you are correct when you stated that warmer weather is the best time to enjoy the Inn's treasures. Our gardeners have been busy this winter preparing for Spring. It's the best time to enjoy sitting dockside, our kayaks, liesurely bike rides or our gardens. Looking forward to your return and thank you very much for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

The board decided to conduct our first meeting of the year at this hotel. With staff and board members combined, we totaled 21. We confirmed the use of all of the 24 guest rooms to have exclusive use of the Manor. This gave us privacy to have discussions outside of the meeting room. It felt like we were the owners of the estate for our three day stay.
Food service is terrific. The menus are varied and each meal was carefully prepared. We had vegetarians, vegans and folks with allergies in our group. The kitchen skillfully created delicious menus effortlessly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

So glad to hear your first board meeting of the year was successful as well as private. We look forward to treating you, again, as lords, ladys and gentry. Bring on the trumpeteers! Returns soon and check out the Emperer's new clothes! <blush> as well as our bicycles, kayaks and other outside activities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My company held it's "2014 sales kickoff" meeting at the Inn mid January 2014. We were a bit concerned about the impending snow storm. Once we got to the Inn we found the long driveway and all side walks cleared of snow, the first floor fireplaces all aglow and hot tea and homemade cookies awaiting our arrival.
From the friendly greeting we received as we checked-in to the "please come back and stay with us again" upon departure; the staff and their service could not have been better. The food service is off the charts; kudos to the Chef!
Guest rooms are comfortable. The common areas and the guest rooms are decorated in such a way as to maintain the historic look and feel of the Manor.
We will be returning! Thank you Kent Manor Inn for providing the setting for a very successful meeting.

Room Tip: The Inn is on the small side with just 24 guest rooms. When booking a group, you have the opportuni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

If you need to get away from the city, even in the winter, the Kent Manor Inn is quiet, and you will feel well-taken-care-of. The meals were delicious, and restaurant service was friendly and efficient. Being a centuries-old building, you will climb stairs to your room if not on the first floor, you will walk on creaky floors, and hear your neighbors conversation and snoring. The rooms are very nicely furnished and there are a variety of configurations for every need. There are lots of things to do on the Eastern shore, from outlet shopping to visits to historic resort villages.

The inn is popular for destination weddings with 2 settings, but this February weekend was wedding-free!

Room Tip: If you have a difficult time with stairs, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlemac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

She is one Grand Old Building, with creaky 200 year-old floorboards and the low murmurings of conversations drifting throughout. It's part of her charm and we are happy you chose to share your experience. Weddings are a festive occasion at the Inn and more than one guest has commented on how lovely a venue it is. Chef Lackey and his culinary team delight our guests with breakfast each morning, Saturday ala carte lunches and his Sunday Brunch Buffett as well as catering to every bride and groom's wishes for a memorable experience.

As with the creaky floorboards and our festive events, the Inn may not be for suited for everyone but we are very glad it was perfect for you!! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The wonderful experience with Kent Manor Inn began with the booking process and ended when we said goodbye to the entire staff. Our association's regional conference was held at the Inn for the first time. All participants were extremely impressed with the accommodations, food, and customer service. The facility was perfect for a business conference-----great AV aids, spacious conference room, beautiful vistas, and extremely responsive and friendly staff.

I would highly recommend the Kent Manor for any professional or personal objectives.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vienna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

I'm glad your meeting was so very productive and comfortable for you and your association. Thank you for appreciating our business amenities, too! We are almost 200 years old but modern where it counts . . . especially most of the guest room bathrooms!

We look forward to hosting your next regional meeting!

Sincerely,

Alan Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

If you want bright lights and a marble entry, go elsewhere; however, if you want a comfortable room, great service and a beautiful setting try this inn. Yes, the floors squeak a bit and no there isn't an elevator to the 2nd and 3rd floors, but a walk around the grounds and some quiet time on the dock more than makes up for such things.

The bottle of wine and the picnic lunch are nice additives.

The Sunday brunch is good as are the breakfasts, but be aware that the restaurant is not open for dinner. There are other restaurants within 3-4 miles.

Highly recommend for a one or two night stay. Easton and St Michaels are fun places to explore while there.

Room Tip: The bathrooms in some, not all, rooms are two or three steps below the bedroom; may be a problem if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GTHerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

So true your words and thank you for sharing our Inn with the Trip Advisor Community. The Manor House is nearly 200 years young with original flooring and all melodic entrapment's of a building which has gracefully welcomed guests across three centuries. We enjoy sharing the Inn as a piece of living history and as such, you will never find the cookie cutter hotel room layouts and amenities which is standard for the boring beige boxes chain hotels. Many would not care to climb the 3 flights of old growth walnut stairs but there are those who welcome the chance to visit and experience the unique Manor Home.

we are happy that it was a great place for you. First floor accommodations are also available, all with balconies! And our first floor common rooms have several fireplaces.

Sincerely,

Alan Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We visited Historic Kent Manor Inn this week for two reasons - we bought a Travelzoo voucher and we were "reconning" the site of our son's future wedding. We were not disappointed. Everything about the place was lovely - from the first view as you drive up the long lane to the restoration and decoration inside. Sometimes in older restored properties, you also find considerable shabbiness but that was not the case here. Everything was polished and updated including our bathroom fixtures. Our room was large and well appointed. I think most of the rooms, at least on the second floor, open up onto balconies on the front and back of the house. There were several charming common areas including a living room, dining room/glassed in sun porch, and outside porches/balconies/patios. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and delicious. It included scrambled eggs, toast and bagels, cereal, yogurt, a variety of pastries, and coffee and tea. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Because of the Travelzoo voucher, we received a bottle of wine and a terrific boxed lunch. If you are looking for a hermetically-sealed hotel room, this is not the place for you. The doors on the rooms, although sturdy, are wooden regular house doors so one can definitely hear people in the hall. The old, old wood floors creak and groan. I thought about using the white noise feature on my iPhone but I didn't need to. The beds were comfy and I slept the night through.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LizVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

What a generous review!!!

I'm glad you enjoyed our Inn's occasional creaks, groans and character. Yes, we occasionally run TravelZoo specials and I'm glad you were able to take advantage of this one.

Come back for one of our romantic dinners where Chef William prepares a very special and personalized five-course dinner. .. . And you will NOT find that as part of a special TZ offer! Sorry!

Best

Alan Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
9.4 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
22.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
608 reviews
4 mi away
Best Western Kent Narrows Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn

Address: 500 Kent Manor Dr, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666-2562 (Formerly Kent Manor Inn)
Region: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range: £86 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn is an estate on 220 acres of farmland. The Inn is well known as the venue of choice for WEDDINGS, SPECIAL EVENTS, BUSINESS MEETINGS, RETREATS and FAMILY REUNIONS. When availability permits we welcome travelers to stay with us for a night or more. The Inn has 24 individually decorated guest rooms; each with a private bath. Flexible event and meeting space is available for groups of most sizes. The waterfront lawn is a perfect setting for a wedding and group team building programs. The Preserve is a seasonal venue that can accommodate as many as 300 guests. Our Executive Chef creates wonderful menus that fit most budgets. Our catering staff is well-seasoned and ready to attend to your every food & beverage need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing