We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Wedding Reception”
Review of Manor Inn Restaurant - CLOSED

Manor Inn Restaurant
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn on 220-acres provides you with Saturday lunches and our Champagne Sunday Brunch Buffet each week. Enjoy regional cuisine from Maryland's Eastern Shore and the Chesapeake Bay in dining rooms with fireplaces, our four seasons porch and our outside dining, too, weather permitting. Only 15 minutes from Annapolis!
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Once again the Historic Kent Manor Inn lived up to its fine reputation. My daughter had her wedding reception here on November 2nd and everything went flawlessly. The Thompson Room was decorated beautifully, as was the Four Season Porch, and the Brightsworth Room was ideal for the cake display. The Hors d ’Oeuvres, the entrées, salad, vegetables and hot bread were delicious. The champagne and wine were chilled just right, and the service was impeccable. Special thanks to Stephanie and her staff, especially Oleathea, for making this a most memorable day for my daughter and her husband

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Manor Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for posting such a flattering review. We blush with pride and are so very glad you were so very pleased with your daughter's special day. We are here to serve. . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Manor Inn Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We enjoyed the most delicious Sunday Brunch with friends this morning. The servers were friendly, attentive and all so very nice. This brunch is first class all the way. Every section had beautiful presentation and was so tasteful and wonderful. We will be back..often!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shirley604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Manor Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your delightful review, Shirley. We try so hard to please and make our Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet unique, pleasing and delicious! Thank you for sharing and we DO hope to see you often! And don't forget, we also serve a casual Saturday ala carte lunch menu.

Best

Alan Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had the Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet on the porch with a great view, and it was amazing. The ambience, the salad bar, the raw bar, the entrees, the carving station, champagne and desserts were delicious, and the made to order omelet, wow, all combined to make a wonderful and very enjoyable meal. My daughter enjoyed the smoked salmon and said it was the best she has ever had. Stephanie and Oleathea were very gracious, and we enjoyed walking around the beautiful manicured landscape with its beautiful flower gardens. Loved the gazebo, and the dock had chairs for you to relax and enjoy the waterfront. We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Manor Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Shame on me for not promptly acknowledging such a detailed review of your experience at Historic Kent Manor Inn! With such an eloquent review there is little I can say other than thank you for enjoy what we modestly offer at Historic Kent Manor Inn.

Be sure to visit our cupola on your next visit. Lots of old graffiti and fantastic view!

Humbly yours,

Alan Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Beautiful place and the landscaping amazing too. We didn't stay there but we visited our wedding group who was staying here.

Thank Shini007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Manor Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Flattery will get you everywhere. Thank you, as I am the landscaper-in-training.

Alan Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We booked this with a Travelzoo special. Looked great and has great reviews. The building is beautiful. Grounds are very scenic with the river close by. Great spot for wedding or special occasion party. The room was very nice and clean. The bathroom fan was very noisy. Annoyingly so! We received wine and cheese as part of our package. Very nice! The continental breakfast was awesome. Very good food and plenty of different thing to try. The staff was very courteous and friendly. At this point you are saying why is this titled very disappointed? Well, as much as we loved everything unfortunately they experienced damage from hurricane Sandy and they were doing repairs. The restaurant and bar were closed. We were trying to talk to friends in the parlor and the noise from the work was so loud and annoying we had to leave and go to a bar. Floors were covered in plastic. We understand it was necessary for them to do these repairs but it made what would have been a great visit very disappointing. Had we been told they were doing this, which they should have disclosed when we booked, we work have come when the repairs were completed. I recommend staying here but make sure the repairs are finished.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Rod V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel8519, Owner at Manor Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you for the kind words and contribution to TripAdvisor. . . I could not have said it any better regarding the charm of our historic inn or our staffs' friendliness nor our Chef's ability to delight our breakfast guests. Regrettably, we disappointed you.

These repairs should have been completed prior to your arrival. These original repairs led to further hidden but required repairs which we had not anticipated. These are the travails and travesties of maintaining a 200-year old building.

Yet, repairs are meaningless if we do not have guests to enjoy the fruits of our labor and I hope you will come back and visit the Inn upon completion of the work. We will be reaching out to you, directly, to make amends and be to be sure your next visit will, most hopefully, exceed your expectations.

Note to all readers. Our repairs, other than some minor redecorating in a few of the public areas, are being completed this week. This week's completion only includes the cosmetics of adding historically correct moulding to a few limited areas and paint. And we are thrilled!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manor Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Stevensville, Kent Island
Stevensville, Kent Island
 
Stevensville, Kent Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing