We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice house but need improvements”

Review of Vacationers' Bliss

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Swanton, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
1 review
“Nice house but need improvements”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a group of 5 couples renting this home. While the layout afforded all of us to be together for meals and mingling, there were some improvements that need to be made. The first night we got there, the roof/ceiling in the kitchen started leaking which caused us to have a trashcan in an awkward space and was right by the stove top. Some of the eyes of the stove top didn't work. Most of the beds weren't comfortable.

The highlights of this house is the layout, indoor pool and hot tub (didn't get a chance to use the grill). I wouldn't mind renting this home again, just hopefully the roof/ceiling is fixed and the beds are better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2018
Hello Michelle-

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will do our best to deliver a 5-star experience in the future. We will review your comments across departments to see where we can continue to grow and improve. Thank you-

Your Friends at Railey Mountain Lake Vacations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S
1 review
“Relaxing Vacation, but House needs a lot of Work”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It was our first trip back to the DCL area in 15 years. We were able to enjoy some of the relaxing, slow-paced elements of the vacation, with attractions like Wisp, various state parks, etc. We very much enjoyed the convenience of fishing in the private pond that was stocked with Largemouth Bass, which was great for the kids, however, this home is severely outdated and in need of upgrades, fixes, etc. I'm not even sure where to begin with the improvements that are needed. First off, we had problems with the hot water heater in the house all week long. The "hot" water was lukewarm at best. Secondly, the walls & ceilings in parts of the house (kitchen, dining area, etc.) have cracks, holes in the walls, duct tape keeping parts of the paint/wall in place. Light bulbs burnt out all over the kitchen area. The flat-top stove had burners that didn't even work. The TV's in the house are all tube TV's, and the family room furniture is worn out. The hot tub controls stopped working half way through our stay, with one of the panel's on the hot tub missing/falling off. The back patio looks to be sinking near the house, as the house has two groundhogs that live on the property. The shrubs in front, and back of the house are all overgrown. I could go on and on.

The house was overall just mediocre. This place would be phenomenal if it received a massive update inside and out. It's obvious the reality office hasn't placed enough pressure (based off previous reviews) on the owners of this property. The owners need to do a better job addressing the structural issues of the property, as well as updating the amenities within.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2017
Justin-

We appreciate your feedback! It is not what we want to hear from our guests, but we are thankful for the opportunity to learn and grow as a company. We want all our guests to walk into a rental-ready property and for our homes to meet- and exceed- all expectations. We apologize that this was not your experience and will strive to do better in the future. We will share your feedback with all our departments in order to utilize your comments to the best of our ability.
Thank you-
Your Friends at Railey Mountain Lake Vacations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArubaBeac...
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific layout in the house but POORLY maintained!!!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Vacationer's Bliss over the holiday (Dec 24 through Jan 2) and overall, our stay was terrific as always (love Deep Creek Lake). The unfortunate part of the stay was that - although the house layout was terrific - the condition was poor. I would be embarrassed if I were the owner as well as the rental company - Railey. We have been renting in DCL for years and this was by far the most poorly maintained house. There were marks all over the walls (big scuff marks) and they literally had duct tape holding together a heating vent and used as patches on the ceiling. Blinds in the kitchen and pool table room were trashed and just so many poorly maintained items (vacuum cleaner even smelled). With all of that said, the house layout was awesome - very roomy and spacious, just such a shame that the homeowner is being cheap / lazy about maintaining the place. Anyhow, I pin some of this on Railey (rental company) as well as they should be ON, ON, ON the homeowner if this is how the house is maintained. I felt somewhat cheated given the $$$ we paid for this place - really disappointing.... but our family and friends were there so we had a great time as always!!! Happy New Year.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Thank you for the feedback; as always, we appreciate hearing from our guests and we will certainly communicate your experience with our team and make all possible improvements. We apologize that you were disappointed in your stay, but are so glad you had a wonderful time together. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to showcase our high standard of quality and care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeremyr76...
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spacious but outdated/damaged”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here with our extended family 10 people total. We never felt cramped except when we were in the 4 person hot tub. All the TV's in the house were tube TV's which spoke to the last time anything was updated in this home. There were damaged spots on the wall in every room, root above the showers, light fixtures missing, damage to front steps, etc. There was no view of the lake but there was a nice running trail that lead to the lake. It could be a great place with some updates and a lot of TLC.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We will share your thoughts with the home owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DC
Reviewed 11 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baltimore
Reviewed 3 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing