We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place near Wisp!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gem of a place near Wisp!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Had a group of 4 out to ski at Wisp this weekend, and were looking for a great place with some charm to stay at nearby. I knew nothing of the area, so naturally took to TripAdvisor. Glad I did! Carmel Cove is about a 15 min drive from the slopes (give or take...depending on the road conditions from the snow, which in our case were not so great). We arrived after skiing, around 7pm, and rang the phone to call the innkeepers. Not much talking at that point (as the one reviewer who gave this place a "terrible" review noted) but I didn't mind this too much. They were friendly and to the point. We checked in, and they recommended a great place for dinner nearby (Dutch's). Rooms were not huge, but very comfy and homey. There is a ton of free stuff around to use/consume, which is a really great touch. There is a free bottle of wine in the room with some glasses, some cookies and sodas, port and beer in the common room, and some other assorted snacks. We made use of the pool table in the common room, as well as the DVD collection, but they also had some board games as well. Breakfast was also fantastic! Only real complaint I could have was that our TV didn't work (Terrace Room #4), but who cares! Also, we only booked 1 night, and the innkeepers had a minimum of 2 night stay on the weekend, so I had to wait until the week of to get them to agree to a one-night stay. Can't say I blame them, but worth mentioning. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nebcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbender66, Owner at Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words. We found that the tv in your room had been inadvertently plugged into an outlet intended for the lamp and controlled by a wall switch. Very sorry it was malfunctioning for your visit. Hope to see you again at Carmel Cove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    22
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
174
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I took a road trip this summer and our first stop was the Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake. We loved it so much that we kept our extending our stay at the Inn out by a day so that our original 2 night stay turned into a 4 night stay. We've stayed at many B&Bs before, but I will say hands down that this was the best B&B I've ever stayed in. It was a beautiful building in an amazing setting with delicious breakfasts and a relaxing ambiance. The innkeepers were the perfect mix of helpful, but not too intrusive. You could sit at your own table at breakfast so that you were not forced to socialize with the other guests, but there were wine and cheese happy hours and bon fires with s'mores if you wanted more socializing. We slept great and came back from our trip refreshed! Great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed on both the bottom floor and right next to the breakfast room, both were quiet although I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We decided to stay at Carmel Cove Inn for our first trip to Deep Creek Lake during the Autumn Glory Weekend in October 2011, based on the Trip Advisor reviews !

When we arrived we were greeted immediately by Richard, one of the innkeepers who gave us a tour of the Inn and provided recommendations in the area for dinner and places to go. There was a complimentary bottle of wine in the room and after we dropped our bags in the room we headed straight to the common / great room for a drink. Complimentary wine, beer, soda and water available at all times for your enjoyment. We met several of the guests also there for the weekend. The common/ great room is a relaxing, cozy and comfortable place to watch TV, read a book , play pool or a game of chess or just sit and talk with the other guests.

Our room was located on the lower level near the rear door to the parking lot, it was small but very clean and nicely decorated. The bedding was comfortable and we slept extremely well both nights.

Our first breakfast on Saturday morning was pineapple filled french toast with maple sausage and fresh fruit, it was so delicious and of course there was endless cups of coffee, tea or juice. The dining room/ breakfast room is mostly windows which makes it so inviting and charming such a great way to start the day.

If planning a trip to Deep Creek Lake, Carmel Cove Inn should be at the top of your list when making a reservation ! It has charm, ambiance and Richard & Virginia are two of the most gracious and pleasant Innkeepers you will find anywhere !

Room Tip: We preferred the lower level we only heard footsteps in the morning when guests were walking to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My stay at Carmel Cove was my first experience at a Bed & Breakfast. I have always been hesitant to try a B&B wondering if could find a balance between my desire for privacy and a warm atmosphere. Carmel Cove does just that. With over a dozen rooms and private dining tables, you get a great mix of intimacy and socialization.

The Innkeeper was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating; he very much made you feel like his priority was making sure you enjoyed your stay--which we did tremendously! I can't wait to return. It was a great way to relax! Tons of things to do, see, and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deb w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Carmel Cove is a very cozy inn, The inn keepers make you feel like you are home. Everything was great. The breakfast that they served was faboulous and the hor dov's were good too. If you just want to relax,take a bike ride,go fishing,canoeing. This is the place to do it all. I would love to have the recipe for the waffles that we had. Delicious!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darlene p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Carmel Cove Inn is run by very pleasant people who went the extra mile to make guests feel welcomed. Rooms were well furnished and comfortable, breakfast was creative and tasty (although more fruit would have been nice), and overall amenities were abundant (lots of outdoor toys like canoes, bikes, fishing gear, also lots of DVDs and reading material).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homefree2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The service provided by the Innkeepers was excellent. Very attentive and proactive. The rooms and facilities were excellent. Breakfast was outstanding, well cooked with an interesting, varied menu.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmsantao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanton
4.3 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
1.9 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

Property: Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Address: 105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561-2522
Region: United States > Maryland > Swanton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Cove Inn is Deep Creek Lake's Premier Country Inn. Peaceful wooded setting on quiet cove. Fishing and swimming dock. Canoes, kayak, tennis, billiards, bicycles and guest bonfire ring. Private fireplaces, jacuzzis and guest-room decks overlooking the woods. Sumptuous breakfasts, complimentary beverages and snacks. Minutes to Wisp Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel Swanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing