We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a little awkward”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We made last minute, mid-week reservations for the Carmel Cove Inn. In some ways, it wasn't what we were expecting. The grounds looked unkempt, but that may have been because it's early spring and it was raining when we arrived. The rooms are small, but very clean and comfy. Many of the rooms are in the basement. We asked for the room pictured with the fireplace. It was cozy and I suppose we would have enjoyed it more if it were snowing out. The A/C didn't work very well as it was a window unit. And the trip to the cove? It was a few hundred yards down steps, across a road and down more steps. Difficult to find. We spoke with the inn keeper when we arrived as well as in the morning and he was nice but we almost had the feeling that we were interrupting a private evening. That may be due to the fact that we were the only ones at the Inn. He explained that 'normally' they have hors d'oeuvres in the evening....and then he trailed off, never really explaining why there weren't any being served that particular evening. What he did do was to put a small bottle of champagne and a couple of chocolates in our room wishing us a happy anniversary, which was a very nice touch. Also, there were chocolate truffles and port waiting for us when we returned from dinner, which we enjoyed. We weren't aware of the fire pit or the bikes that were available to use until after we had checked out. But we did make use of the pool table and we watched the Pens playoff game on the big screen in the main room. Breakfast was delicious and generous. If I could choose one thing to change, it would have been just to have been made to feel more welcomed than we did. We've stayed at many B&B's and while this one was nice and clean, we feel as though the B&B spirit wasn't there.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared clean and cozy. The upstairs rooms are sunnier and most seemed to have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at Carmel Cove Inn for our anniversary weekend. The Inn was absolutely beautiful and serene. The innkeeper, Katie, was wonderful! She was very sweet and friendly and really went out of her way to make sure everyone was taken care of and felt welcome. Our room was cozy and very clean. There was a complimentary bottle of champagne and 2 chocolate covered strawberries in our room when we arrived. It was the perfect little get away! I would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheercoach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My boyfriend brought me here for my birthday, it was the off season so we were the only guests during our stay, The inn is tucked in the woods away from all the business of the city so if you want to be right where everything is this is not the place for you but for two parents looking to get away from everything it was perfect for us, and its only a 10-15 minute drive to everything anyways. it had recently snowed so there was a fresh blanket of snow, just enough to make everything beautiful, the care takers, a husband and wife, were wonderful and helpful, even when I locked us out of our room that night. They upgraded us to the largest room they have with the spa tub free of charge. They had complimentary chocolate truffles and champagne waiting in our room when we got there. Our breakfast both days was spectacular as well as the evening snack ( we loved the hummus) The common room was very nice and had many amenities. We are talking about renting out the inn to have our wedding in the future.

Room Tip: some rooms are bigger than others but you get what you pay for no two rooms are the same either. but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We felt like we had rented our own gorgeous lakehouse with the luxury of two very kind and attentive innkeepers! Katie and Michael are incredible hosts, quiet and private, while somehow meeting our every need. We were lucky to have the place to ourselves for most of our stay (I suspect it is because we were in between the ski and spring seasons) and we still felt like we received the royal treatment. Our room was adorable and so clean. The bathroom was huge and the whirlpool was excellent. We also enjoyed the private deck very much, though next time we are thinking of staying in the room with a fireplace! The common area is beautiful, stocked with comfy couches, a fireplace, and plenty to do (board games, billiards, and a huge TV), and we felt very comfortable lounging around the inn. A different delicious and decadent breakfast was served every morning. Everything felt homemade in the best way. The food was fresh, delicious, and hot. The location is perfect, close to all the activities that Deep Creek and the surrounding counties have to offer. They have plenty of information available for people like us who are not skiers and don't know the area. We could not believe the luxury and ammenities for the price of our room. We will absolutely be staying here again. Every bed and breakfast should take notes from Carmel Cove. Thank you for such a wonderful and rejuvenating weekend! Hope to see you soon! -Jessi and Matt

Room Tip: It's worth the extra few dollars to choose the room with the deck or the room with the fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessi315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Just returned from our anniversary weekend at Carmel Cove, and can’t wait to go back. Our room was absolutely beautiful and had every touch to make our stay perfect. When we arrived, there was chilled champagne to celebrate our anniversary, and our fireplace had a fire all set and ready to light. We ordered room service for breakfast, and lounged in our robes while waiters set our table with an incredible gourmet breakfast. The great room of the inn was like a mountain hunting lodge with big leather sofas, games, a chess table, and pool table. Every evening there was a social hour with wine and appetizers, and the other guests were really friendly and full of recommendations for things to do around the lake. The innkeepers were welcoming and very helpful with information on activities, directions, and dining suggestions. The setting is wooded and beautiful, and we plan to return in the summer to stay in a terrace room and take advantage of all the outdoor activities. Carmel Cove was a great find and a wonderful place to escape, relax and meet new friends. We’ll be back, soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProfJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a brief getaway recently, and overall we really enjoyed our stay and would certainly consider returning. But when I sat down to write this review, I waffled a bit between a 3 and 4.

First things first, the new innkeepers, Michael and Katee, were really lovely. They were very kind and attentive. They had great recommendations on places to eat and things to do when our first plan, cross-country skiing, fell through due to lack of snow. They were also great cooks, and the breakfasts were fabulous. I loved the little details like the evening hors d'oeurvres, handmade truffles, etc., and the free equipment for skiing, biking, boating and fishing was quite welcome. The service and food probably rate at 5 stars.

The inn itself, though, is more in the 3 star category. The location is lovely, the place unique, but the appointments are a little disappointing. Pergo floors in the breakfast area, industrial carpet in the great room and the guest rooms seemed more on par with a Comfort Inn than a unique bed and breakfast. The rooms were tiny, the bathrooms even more so, and there was no sound proofing to speak of. We could hear our neighbors talking and their TVs, and people walking above us woke us up in the mornings and kept us up at night (we were on the ground floor, but felt somewhat lucky that our rooms were not near the breakfast area or the common room, where it was probably much worse).

Not everything was bad, of course. Much of the furniture is antique and quite charming. The great room is very neat and comfortably furnished, though our plans to read, play games, chat and relax were thwarted when a large family came in and turned on the TV loudly. All of the seating is close enough to the large TV to create quite a bit of distraction. It made me appreciate inns that have separate TV rooms, and wish this one had the same.

The bed was quite comfortable, though the pillows were surprisingly not. All four of ours felt like small flat squares of foam. I wish they'd had some variety in pillows.

All in all, like I say in my title, this was cozy and nice with a lot of amenities, but a variety of small things kept it from really being perfect. And that's okay... not every place will be perfect in every way. I'd still recommend it, but just wanted to offer some greater description so that folks know both the merits and flaws of a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsycella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We'll definitely be back to this place. The building is spotlessly clean and well furnished. Our room had a little gas stove which really kept us warm (plus there is a window-mounted heater/air conditioner). There's a nice breakfast room and a "great" room with pool table, tv and couches. The innkeepers were very welcoming and helpful, and cooked fantastic breakfasts. It's only about 10 minutes from several restaurants and the Wisp ski resort - in fact we bought our lift tickets from Michael the innkeeper and we charged them to our room (5% discount from the price at Wisp). Overall, it was a really nice weekend and I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisFerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanton
4.3 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
4.7 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
256 reviews
1.6 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
310 reviews
4.6 mi away
Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center
24 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

Address: 105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561-2522
Region: United States > Maryland > Swanton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Price Range: £139 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Cove Inn is Deep Creek Lake's Premier Country Inn. Peaceful wooded setting on quiet cove. Fishing and swimming dock. Canoes, tennis, billiards, bicycles and guest bonfire ring. Private fireplaces, jacuzzis and guest-room decks overlooking the woods. Sumptuous breakfasts, complimentary beverages and snacks. Minutes to Wisp Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel Swanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing