We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great location, quiet and not on a main road. In the woods, but only a few minutes walk from the lake. The personal service was great, with appetizers in the evenings, beer and wine provided. They have 2 canoes, a two person kayak and a paddleboat at their dock for your use. Clean and the staff was very friendly. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get room 10. It is at one end of the building, large, quiet and has an exit right outside your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank p D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    22
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
174
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here based on reviews on this site. Must say that the Inn lived up to it's glowing reviews.
Mary, along with her son Joe (returning to college this week), have paid extra attention to little details that made our stay surpass my expectations. We took the brand new ocean kayak out twice. Wanted to make use of the mountain bikes, but never found the time. Next visit, maybe? Delicious breakfasts and enjoyed the 6:00pm hor dourves, the warm cookies, chocolates and port wine at 8:00, and of course the smores around the bonfires at 9:00!
If I had to find something wrong it would be that the shower temps changed often, from hot to cold. Just a little nuisance. And that the our room was small, but I expected that after reading some reviews. That said, I'd return for another stay at Carmel Cove Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in terrace room 3
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundalk md
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our first trip to Deep Creek Lake and to a Bed and Breakfast. I must say we had such an enjoyable 5 days at Carmel Cove. From the time we walked in the door until the time we left it was an incredible stay. Mary and Joe are two wonderful people and were so helpful with places to visit and always so friendly. Joe is an incredible cook, especially his strawberry hotcakes. YUM!!!!! Every breakfast that was served was superb. Plenty of activities to keep you occupied at the Inn alone. Met a lot of wonderful guests while we were there also. Sat around the camp fire at night and enjoyed making s'mores and even roasted hot dogs one night. Thanks Joe for joining us and for all the wonderful fires each night. Mary~thanks for all the hors devours and sweet treats. They were all delicious. Thanks to you and Joe for a wonderful vacation and you truly have a wonderful inn. Hoping to be back.

Karen and Pat Kaczynski
Dundalk, MD

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which had a huge balcony, and a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cruisinbabe1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was the most wonderful little weekend away we could have asked for. Very clean and updated lodge with plenty to do and see and some of the most excellent, home-away-from-home service you could ever want! We'll go back again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena, md
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The review by Mike S dated 7/30/13 says it all. We stayed 5 nights, July 21-26, and loved it. We don't like bed and breakfasts because we like our privacy. The Inn gave you the best of both worlds. So relaxing and enjoyable. We will definitely be back! Thanks to Mary and Joe for such great service.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the largest. Rooms 7 and 10 have fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cburrows1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The moment we walked in the front door and were greeted, we knew we were in for a uniquely pleasant B&B experience. Arriving hours before our check-in, we were warmly welcomed, given an informative tour and settled into our room. The comfort and cleanliness of Carmel Cove Inn is exceptional compared with other B&Bs, but our stay only began with that realization. The offerings provided by the Inn for both indoor and outdoor relaxation and recreation are sublime! From tennis, boating, bicycling, and fishing (with all equipment provided by the Inn, including bait for fishing!), to billiards, chess, numerous other board games, and a diverse collection of DVDs to watch on a big screen in the common room or take to your own room; there is always something fun to do outside and in. Even winter activities are available with cross-country skis and snow shoes provided by the Inn. Rainey days are no hinderance to having a great time here. The dining room where breakfast is served is bright and cheerful. The breakfasts were delicious and served with perfect gourmet presentation. There is always tea, coffee, and hot chocolate available via a Keurig machine, along with microwavable popcorn. Sodas, beer, and wine are available at all times in the common room, and complimented by the hors devours served at 6:00pm, a fresh sweet treat and port wine served at 8:00pm, and a campfire for the guests to relax around, beginning at 9:00pm, with all the ingredients to make s'mores or just roast marshmallows....a perfect time to meet other guests and enjoy good companionship around the oldest social venue known to man....the campfire! We tip our hats and offer a bow of thanks to Mary and Joe, who not only work hard to provide this wonderful experience, but who obviously pour their hearts and souls into this Inn, which is seamlessly transferred to the joy experienced by their guests! This was perhaps the most pleasant and delightful B&B experience we have ever had. We plan to return again and again. Because of our experience this past weekend, I have to change one word in the travelers lexicon. That word is "Getaway". "Getaway" is everything you leave behind when you come to the Carmel Cove Inn and in no way describes the Inn itself. This Inn can only accurately be described as, and called, a wonderful "Go-To". And when we next have need to "Getaway", we know right where to "Go-To!

The Senseney's

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We booked a quick last minute getaway here based on what Carmel Cove Inn had to offer and it's positive reviews. It did not disappoint. It's wonderfully placed near a quiet cove but close to many area attractions. We really enjoyed all of the amenities offered especially the tennis court, paddleboat, canoes, and also the nightly bonfire with smores. The breakfast each morning was tasty and generous. Thank you Mary and Joe for such a wonderful stay! We'll be back to see you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Moton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanton
4.3 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
14.8 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
71 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
107 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Garrett Inn
The Garrett Inn
#1 of 6 in Oakland
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

Property: Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Address: 105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561-2522
Region: United States > Maryland > Swanton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Cove Inn is Deep Creek Lake's Premier Country Inn. Peaceful wooded setting on quiet cove. Fishing and swimming dock. Canoes, tennis, billiards, bicycles and guest bonfire ring. Private fireplaces, jacuzzis and guest-room decks overlooking the woods. Sumptuous breakfasts, complimentary beverages and snacks. Minutes to Wisp Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel Swanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing