We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Stay Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Takoma Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Takoma Park
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worst Stay Ever”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is the worst Inn that we have stayed in. The whole place was dirty from the parking area, stairs and the room. We did not avail of the food in the Inn for fear that the food preparation might also be unsanitary. We could not open our door using the key card twice! One of us had to go to the Front Desk for assistance to open the door to the room. The card keys were not functioning as expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marabelle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    1
    1
    29
See reviews for
8
8
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am a veteran and have a service dog. I was denied lodging because the receptionist made the judgement that my dog was a pet. Illegally, he demanded documentation for my dog. I refused because it has personal and confidential medical information.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vet841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Takoma Park hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Don't know where to start! Firstly the room....

The toilet hadn't been flushed when I got to my room. God knows whether it was staff or a previous visitor.

The bath had hairs and things attached to the side and hadn't been cleaned since the last visitor.

The bed had cigarette burn holes in the cover.

The room smelt like someone had been smoking previously.

The staff member in the reception told me to go to a 7-eleven to find out how to get into the city centre!

Where you get breakfast included in the room price a bird was flying around on arrival! Also very dirty and dusty where the tables were.

Overall a very disgusting place to stay and thankfully I only stayed 3 nights then I could get back to normality

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Complete HELL HOLE. Dirty bathrooms. Dirty beds. Horrible customer service. They switched our room. Let a stranger in our room while we were gone. Cancelled our key. Refused to let us back in our room. Denied us access to our things! Complete chaos and confusion. Prostitutes welcomed us by asking us to help them fix their stripper pole. NOT. EVEN. LYING. I'm sure there are hundreds of hotels around here- save yourself the trouble.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Woah, where do I start? First and last time using Hotwire "secret value" hotel. For 80$ a night, they should have paid me to stay here! Told me I reserved a smoking room ( kids have asthma) and no other rooms were free. Cigarette burns on tub, toilet. Fresh gum stuck to carpet. Open hole in shower I could look through to neighbors shower! crawling with prostitutes and truckers, and someone tried to open our door 5 times in the night! Filthy carpets. Kids found someone else's open rotten cream cheese container under bed. Dared not sleep under comforter- it too had cigarette burns and appeared unwashed- i put it on the floor on top of the bubblegum to use as a rug. Even though tonight is prepaid, I'm cutting my loss and going to a Marriott across town 129$ night.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jnmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I had made reservations 4 months plus ago to stay here for a half marathon. When my husband and I presented at the checkin window, no one was there and we waited for several minutes. I even called the hotel while standing there and got caught in the voicemail loop since no one would pickup. Finally, the clerk came to the desk and asked me if I wanted a room upgrade. I thought it was a suggestive sale comment so declined. She looked surprized that I did not accept her offer. I explained that I was tired and just wanted to checkin, not wanting to drive all over DC looking for another hotel. She then clarified that the upgrade was free and that the hotel (Quality Inn) was on the same property and shared the same parking lot. My husband had noticed that several of the EconoLodge rooms were opened with shabby furniture and ripped up carpet just outside them. (Bed bugs or just remodeling...not sure?) He quickly agreed to the upgrade so we ended up not staying there. Other issues with Quality Inn in Takoma Park but at least the bed and linens seemed clean and bug-free.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalfMarathonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I used Choice hotels online system to book what I thought was Econo Lodge Metro (Arlington), but accidentally hit the button for Econo Lodge Takoma Park. The mistake was only discovered when we turned up at the Econo Lodge Metro on the appointed evening. The Econo Lodge Metro was very kind and gave us a good rate. We called Takoma Park Econo Lodge immediately (7pm), the next morning, and 4 more times during the next week to explain the accidental booking and to ask for a refund. No-one we talked to was able or willing to help us. We were never able to talk to the general manager (either “not there” or “in a meeting”), and although we were told several times that that the general manager would call us back, he never did. Given that this booking was an accident, and Takoma Park was aware of this early in the evening, we hoped that they might refund our money, but clearly that is not their mode of operation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takoma Park
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
1.7 mi away
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus College Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Takoma Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Takoma Park

Property: Econo Lodge Takoma Park
Address: 7411 New Hampshire Ave, Bldg. 2, Takoma Park, MD 20912-6944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Takoma Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Takoma Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Takoma Park 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Takoma Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Takoma Park Hotel Takoma Park
Econolodge Takoma Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing