We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Quiet Refuge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Walnut Point Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Tilghman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Lovely Quiet Refuge”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I spent a couple of days at the Inn, and we most certainly will return! It was spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. The surroundings are just lovely and provide a welcome getaway from Real Life. Breakfast was delicious. Bob and Tracy are genial, welcoming hosts. We look forward to coming back in the warmer weather, to do some fishing and other activities!

Room Tip: The Tilghman Room is very nice, with a great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    61
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
251
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I went for a short weekend and it was lovely, breakfast was delicious and the ambiance delightful! St. Michaels is a short distance from Tilghman island, and the island itself is quiet and peaceful.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The owners of the Inn are very nice and accommodating, but the Inn itself needs refreshing. Furnishings and finishes were old and worn, and our room smelled musty and vaguely of heating fuel. The location is beautiful, but I expected nicer accommodations for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Took my wife to the Inn for a winter getaway and got so much out of the trip. We arrived late but Bob was there to welcome us and help us with our luggage. As I stepped out of our car and looked up I saw more stars than I can ever remember seeing. We came inside to find out we were the only guests that braved the weather to make it out to the island. It was awesome to have the whole house to ourselves. My wife and I kept saying it felt like home. The next morning we were welcomed by Traci (Bob's husband). He too was warm and inviting. They both made the visit memorable. In a word our stay was incredible. What else do I need to say the place is surrounded on three sides by the Chesapeake Bay. You catch sunrise in the windows on one side of your room and then sunset on the other. The Inn is smack dab in the middle of a bird sanctuary. Wildlife and the beauty of nature surround you. One of our favorite aspects of the entire place was just how spiritually healing a place this was. They say the people that end up visiting the Inn are there for a reason. It's a spiritual place to reconnect. My wife and I have visited many bed and breakfasts around the mid-Atlantic; from Jersey to Maryland, and this is by far one of our absolute favorites. If you really need to get away and let your mind and spirit relax this is the place for you. Don't miss out on the people and atmosphere of Tilghman Island and its crown jewel the Black Walnut Point Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We adventured to Tilghman Island for a quiet anniversary getaway. We were welcomed warmly.
The cabin was comfortably equipped and we enjoyed a long walk through the bird sanctuary. We loved being out on the point almost surrounded by water. Breakfast was very pleasant and they are willing to prepare for persons with special dietary needs.
Our stay turned into more adventure than we expected as - in the night- a storm arose with wild winds and cold. But it made us feel even more "away" and enjoy the comraderie of other guests who shared the storm with us!
Florence Miller from Ellicott City, Md.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Black Walnut Point Inn is located in a beautiful setting on the tip of Tilghman Island, which juts far out into the Chesapeake Bay. There is a lot of history in this amazing natural setting and the innkeepers are really interesting and friendly. I stayed in one of the cabins, which was a few feet from the water, enjoyed the jacuzzi, a selection of movies, and exploring the house, property and island.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Yew Tree cabin during the summer and hope to stay there again. It's closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

stunning sunset &sunrise was a wonderful scene!
friendly services made our one night tour so memorable!
we highly recomend this place for family or friend tour.
im so glad this place is opened to public 15 years ago.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seunghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilghman
10.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
10.6 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
9.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor
3.5 mi away
Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn
10.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Point Inn

Property: Black Walnut Point Inn
Address: 4417 Black Walnut Point Road, P. O. Box 308, Tilghman, MD 21671
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Tilghman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tilghman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Walnut Point Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Walnut Point Inn is located at the end of Tilghman Island on 57 acres of a waterfront wildlife sanctuary. Our own six-acre island at the end of the point, you can watch the sunrise over the Choptank River and set over the Chesapeake Bay. Both the 1840s house and private luxury cabins are open year-round, and every accommodation has endless water views and private baths. Enjoy the pool, hot tub, bird watching, fishing or just relaxing with a good book. If you enjoy nature or need a private retreat, come to the Black Walnut Point Inn - the secret place of peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Black Walnut Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Point Hotel Tilghman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing