We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”

Phillips Wharf Environmental Center
Ranked #5 of 10 things to do in Tilghman
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Encounter the critters of the Chesapeake Bay at Phillips Wharf Environmental Center. We offer hands on educational experiences for all ages. See and touch the animals that live in the Chesapeake Bay. Learn how you can do your part to help clean up the Chesapeake Bay.
Tilghman, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was designed to teach visitors about the Chesapeake Bay animals and how we can care for them and the Bay. Very cool. There are turtles, oysters, various fish, crabs, and eel in aquariums and it is right next door to a seafood cleaning business. The Center is in the process of expanding and redesigning the Center to reach more people and have classrooms, etc.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Everyone should see this place”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We took part in their "Pound it" program, all about the Chesapeake Bay pound net fishery; oyster dissection; and striped bass dissection. The staff was energetic and knowledgeable, and a pleasure to work with. This growing facility has a variety of local species on display, including horseshoe crabs (all sizes), turtles, blue crabs, and fishes. It's this kind of grass-roots environmental education facility that EVERYONE should be visiting while on vacation or with school groups. The Director, Kelley, runs a fantastic operation at PWEC. Her passion for the local environment and culture is palpable and contagious.

Don't miss PWEC if you are visiting the St. Michaels/Tilghman area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for the kid, very interesting for the adults.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We took our kids, nieces, nephews here not knowing what to expect, and, we were very pleasantly surprised. There were various enclosures which had turtles, fish, crabs, etc. and an enthusiastic guide to explain all about them. We were able and encouraged to handle some of the turtles. The kids loved it. And, it was free. Well worth a visit if you have kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsFussy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Chesapeake Bay education!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about this place. I took my 3 boys, ages 10, 10, and 8 to learn a little about the eastern shore. They had a blast. It is small, we only stayed about an hour, but learned sooooo much. We walked up to what appeared to be an old shack- inside was Rob, a retired school teacher who now volunteers at the center. He walked us from exhibit to exhibit telling us about the various fish, eels, sea horses, crabs, horseshoe crabs, countless turtle species, oysters, blowfish, and more. We held many of the turtles and crabs and had plenty of time to ask questions. It is about a 30 minute drive off of route 50, and it is every bit worth it. It is free, but all the work they do is driven by donations. If you like simple nature and hands on learning, check them out. Call before going though, they have unique hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank U_s_a_Druz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little place - the kids loved it”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A wonderful little environmental center - no bells and whistles - just a straightforward place that is helping the nature within the bay. The kids got to hold baby turtles and terrapins, and look at all sorts of crabs and even a sea horse or two.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NMC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phillips Wharf Environmental Center also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Phillips Wharf Environmental Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing