We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Put Off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel North Baltimore
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Little Put Off”
Reviewed 21 July 2008

As a frequent traveler I often choose the Crowne Plaza when I have the option. I was a little put off by some of the things that happened at this particular location and I later learned it hasn't always been a Crowne Plaza so maybe that was the problem? I made a list of things that went wrong while I was a guest there..
1-The check in line was LONG and there was only 1 associate working which meant we had to stand there forever..just when it was our turn a guy walks up looking disinterested and quietly mumbles "Can I help you?"
2-There was no ironing board or radio/clock/cd player in our room. Someone did (begrudgingly it seemed) track down an ironing board for us.
3-There was something on the sheets-blood? gravy? ketchup? I have no idea but when i called housekeeping to have the sheets changed no one answered so I called the front desk, the young man handed me the sheets and I was required to change them and remake the bed myself. He also advised me no one knew where Housekeeping was and they had been MIA for 2 1/2 hours.
4-Underneath the bed I found an open bag of potato chips with chips scattered under the bed
5-Huge stains on the pillowcases.
6-We had to request towels & washcloths 3 times before they were brought up.
On the plus side we did get complimentary welcome drinks as well as breakfast coupons for the dining area downstairs. The location is good in terms of highway access etc but in the future I might try somewhere else.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonebetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    87
    122
    98
    85
See reviews for
128
57
38
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

This is definitely an older hotel that's gotten a makeover. At first glance, I was pretty impressed by the room for the price - the bedding was updated and comfortable and the bathroom was large and remodeled with granite counters and updated decor. Then you notice a lot of this is surface level. The ceiling of the room had these huge bolts all over it, that had been partially covered by blowing that popcorn type ceiling coating on them, rather than actually going to the expense of covering them with drywall. The tub had a section of tile that had been replaced with a different type of tile. There's no refrigerator in the room, which I guess I have gotten used to in this type of hotel class.

The heating/ac was really screwed up - once I turned on the ac and set it to 72, it wouldn't shut off, even with the fan on auto and turning the thermostat to "off". I woke up in the middle of the night freezing and had to turn the heater on because there was no other way to shut off the ac - same problem there, no temperature control. Then the smoke alarm started beeping. To their credit, I asked for maintenance to check it out, and they replaced the thermostat and smoke alarm battery. The ac still continued to run (temperature control didn't work) but at least I could turn it off and it would actually stop.

The bigger issue is that this hotel is attracting lower end conferences, which brings a lot of insane people and groups of kids. The place was swarming with kids when I first got there and there were a couple of kids yelling down the hall one night. I also ended up with a room right across from the elevators and had to put a towel under the door to keep the hallway noise down. Even with the towel, the noise was pretty bad. The last night some woman decided to sit on the floor right outside my room at 11:30 at night talking on her cell. There's very little noise protection in the room, and I couldn't sleep until she finally left. I guess that's why they give you complimentary earplugs.

On the positive side, I got free breakfast coupons as part of my priority club membership and the breakfast was very good. Considering the other choices in Timonium, I would still probably choose this hotel again for the location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise, issues with room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kkbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2008

The hotel itself seems to have had a renovation recently. The lobby area is HUGE! As big as some Vegas locations. The room we had was furnished nicely with king bed, typical of the Crowne Plaza locations we have stayed in. The bathroom had a low mirror that tall people might have problems using. The showerhead was a little low as well, but nice. TV was a little small that tended to truncate some of the picture. This location has wi-fi, which is nice.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wr70beh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2008

I was there for a four-day meeting. I paid extra to be on the executive floor which is accessible only by a special elevator key. The promise is there will be no leisure groups, marching bands, guests will be cautioned to keep the volumn low on the TVs and not slam the doors. Well, there was an adult fraternity holding a convention there with a beauty pagent and guess where these folks were housed. Noise went on all night. When I complained, they took $40.00 off my room rate. I thought about that and went back to the desk and told the young lady this was not acceptable and they refunded my room rate for that night. In talking to other people at my meeting, I learned they were staying on this same floor for $31. less than what I was paying.

I had to come back the next week for a three-day meeting. I asked if there were going to be any parties the next week before I booked again. I was assured there were not. Well, guess what was there the next week - a meeting of 800 members of the Narcotics Anonymous. They, too, were housed on the excecutive floor. I had negotiated my rate down to $95. per day. They were up all night. There was no meeting room large enough to accomodate them so chairs were set up in the huge lobby and their meetings and entertainment were held here. The language was filthy. The people were loud and disrespectful. When I complained to the managment about the misbehavior, he was condesending and disrespectful to me and called me, "Dear." I'm old enough to be his grandmother. He said the hotel was supportive of NA and implied that I was not. As a former social worker, I am most certainly supportive of the organization but this hotel was not equipped to accomodate the needs of such a large group AND the needs of their other guests. He said, "They don't drink alcohol. They drink coffee and they are wired on coffee." He thought that was clever on his part.

On the plus side, the bed was wonderful. There was a CD to relax you so you could sleep and a CD player in the clock. You were provided with ear plugs and a sleep mask. Someone said that I should have known I was in trouple when I saw that on the bed.

Don't stay in a room overlooking the lobby. The noise from the lobby comes thru the windows fronting on the lobby.

  • Liked — Great bed.
  • Disliked — Noise and disrespectful maanger.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WVMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Timonium hotels

NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2008

Well first off, we've stayed at this hotel year after year for the maryland horse world expo. We choose it every year because they have an indoor pool, games, a pool table and a bar right in the middle of everything making it nice. Well this year we made our reservation as before for 3 rooms with lots of teenagers, got there, the hotel is under renovation therefore, no pool, no games, no pool table. Nothing for kids or anyone else to do except the work out room which says only people over 18 are allowed in. So absolutely nothing for kids to do. Also, our room was very dirty. It had appalling hair on the ceiling. When asked for a refund, they gave us back $40. thats it! The manager was never around when we needed to talk to him or nothing. I will not go back after this terrible visit!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank barrelracinchik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We stayed in this hotel with a group of friends. The hotel is quite close to highway. Many pillows on bed, very spacioius room. Free internet access. Clean room with great service staff.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank keroppisonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmwynne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

I stayed here for a weekend while in town to watch the Red Sox play Baltimore. I saw 2 games on Friday and Saturday. I didn't spend too much time in the hotel except to sleep but I can say the rooms were nice, clean, modern, and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel is quite large inside, has an above average pool and fitness center and also has a restaurant/bar which I did not go to.

As far as getting to the game from here the hotel it is about a 20-30 minute ride by car or light rail. It was a great alternative to the more expensive hotels in the city. You can walk (5 minutes) to the light rail station from the hotel and it drops you off right in front of the park.

  • Liked — Comfy beds and ease to get to downtown Baltimore
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank dmwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timonium
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore North / Timonium
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Timonium
Holiday Inn Timonium
#2 of 3 in Timonium
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore North - Timonium
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore North -...
#2 of 2 in Lutherville Timonium
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium
Extended Stay America - Baltimor...
#1 of 2 in Lutherville Timonium
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel North Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel North Baltimore

Property: Radisson Hotel North Baltimore
Address: 2004 Greenspring Drive, Timonium, MD 21093 (Formerly North Baltimore Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Timonium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel North Baltimore 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our North Baltimore hotel off I-83 Explore a multitude of Maryland attractions and tourist areas from the conveniently located Radisson North Baltimore off I-83 and the Baltimore Beltway, featuring 249 newly renovated hotel rooms and suites. You can stay in shape with the fitness center, open 24 hours, or relax at the seasonal outdoor pool. Park free during your stay at the Radisson, also offering more than 20,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for wedding receptions and corporate meetings. A business center and free Wi-Fi make it easy to be productive if work brings you to Timonium in the North Baltimore area. Our hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the MTA Light Rail for easy access to Camden Yards, home of the Orioles baseball team, and M&T Bank Stadium, home of the NFL's Baltimore Ravens. 100% non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel North Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Timonium
Crowne Plaza Hotel Timonium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing