We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible... w/ a capital "T"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel North Baltimore
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Kensington, Maryland
2 reviews
“Terrible... w/ a capital "T"”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

The hotel itself is fairly nice... Facilities are good. However, ...first off, the room itself was nice/spacious, but we had a running toilet and a dripping faucet along w/ some loud neighbors (not in our party) that together prevented me from getting any sleep at all. In addition, I was a part of the wedding party where the bride (who brought 40+ rooms of business there) was brought to tears on her wedding night by 2 incredibly rude food/beverage managers who not only tried to back out of a pre-arrangement to keep the bar open until 1:00 am, but were unbelievably rude/smug about it. In the morning, another employee informed us that it was hotel policy to keep the bar open past midnight if there were more than a couple people there (about 30 were there that night). So there appears to be a lack of communication between employees/managers or just a lack of implementing their supposed policies. Regardless, the end result was a very unimpressive stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravisThorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
We have viewed each of the 8 reviews posted to date by this wedding party. We would like to thank each of you for your candid comments. As we previously stated, we certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    94
    124
    99
    86
See reviews for
133
57
39
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2010

The rooms were spacious but not well-kept. There were stains on the floor and the bathroom's shower caulking had to be redone. My husband and I are not smokers, but the hallway and room we stayed in smelled like smoke.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctingle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Timonium hotels

Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I was extremely disappointed and offended by the "service" at the hotel. Having worked in hospitality I appreciate good customer service, and sadly neither the bride celebrating her wedding day nor her guests received any. I'm not sure what possessed the manager to be so disgusting to a customer that brought them so much business, but her behavior was inexcusable. Rude and unprofessional do not even begin to describe their treatment. The experience at the hotel put a damper on what was otherwise a perfect wedding.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opheliajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
We have viewed each of the 6 reviews posted to date by this wedding party. We would like to thank each of you for your candid comments. As we previously stated, we certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

after staying here as part of a 40 room block, the managers were nothing but rude and mean. they lied to the bride and groom, and even reduced the bride to tears on here wedding night! despite promises to keep the bar open late for the guests because there were 3 groups there, they closed the bar early. it was an overall terrible experience and one i don't recommend to any bride or large group.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
We have viewed each of the 6 reviews posted to date by this wedding party. We would like to thank each of you for your candid comments. As we previously stated, we certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I was also with the wedding group, and aside from the bar issue, the management and staff were unprofessional, unaware, and unaccomodating. Simple questions and requests were met with blank stares and "I'll have to ask a manager." And the managers were of little use. And really ... who makes a bride cry on her wedding day by going back on a promise? I was evacuated during the Nashville floods a few weeks ago and had better service at my shelter than this ... no joke. If you're looking for a competent staff that keeps their word and have basic people and business skills ... take yourself elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckimwooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
We have viewed each of the 6 reviews posted to date by this wedding party. We would like to thank each of you for your candid comments. As we previously stated, we certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This was the worst experience of a leisurely stay I have ever encountered. We were there to stay the night after celebrating for our dear friend's wedding and with the full intention of utilizing the service of the hotel bar with all the other 42+ guests staying at the hotel after the wedding reception.
Previous arrangements were made for the hotel bar to stay open an extra hour and that commitment was not kept as the bar tenders were beginning to shut everything down an hour early and refusing to serve guests.
When the beautiful bride confronted the bartenders on the previous agreement they began to get hostile and rude and put the beautiful bride to tears and stress! No bride or guests should ever feel denied of excellent service especially for a wonderful occasion that is actually bringing MORE business to the hotel.
I would never recommend this hotel and most people would agree that this kind of service would never happen at a Marriott! We all know where we will stay next time even if it is out of the way.
I will make it a point to all brides to be that I work with to never stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Baltimore North

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaylenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
We are very familiar with this wedding party. Once again we would like to thank you for your candid comments. We certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom all the best in the future.

-David Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

1) the front desk was completely unhelpful and then let people check into my room without showing any idea proving that they were me

2) their restaurant/grill had horrible service

3) their managers and bartenders are extremely rude and dont communicate with managers from other shifts.


terrible layout to the bldg too.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnusraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
I assume you were visiting us the same wedding party as the other 10 recent reviews were.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timonium
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore North / Timonium
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Timonium
Holiday Inn Timonium
#2 of 3 in Timonium
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore North - Timonium
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore North -...
#2 of 2 in Lutherville Timonium
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium
Extended Stay America - Baltimor...
#1 of 2 in Lutherville Timonium
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel North Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel North Baltimore

Property: Radisson Hotel North Baltimore
Address: 2004 Greenspring Dr, Timonium, MD 21093-4114 (Formerly North Baltimore Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Timonium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel North Baltimore 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our North Baltimore hotel off I-83 Explore a multitude of Maryland attractions and tourist areas from the conveniently located Radisson North Baltimore off I-83 and the Baltimore Beltway, featuring 249 newly renovated hotel rooms and suites. You can stay in shape with the fitness center, open 24 hours, or relax at the seasonal outdoor pool. Park free during your stay at the Radisson, also offering more than 20,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for wedding receptions and corporate meetings. A business center and free Wi-Fi make it easy to be productive if work brings you to Timonium in the North Baltimore area. Our hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the MTA Light Rail for easy access to Camden Yards, home of the Orioles baseball team, and M&T Bank Stadium, home of the NFL's Baltimore Ravens. 100% non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Hotel North Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Timonium
Crowne Plaza Hotel Timonium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing