We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitehaven Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitehaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Staying here is like stepping back in time! Pure bliss and comfort. The breakfast at the Inn is amazing and changes every day - great variety. The inn keeper Cindy is very welcoming and hospitable. She made our stay very enjoyable. There is a beautiful little store at the inn called, "Room with a View" - it has fantastic hand crafted keepsakes. I was able to find some really interesting treasures here! There is a small sign by the doorway that says, "May all who enter as guests, leave as friends." It's actually true! Time just seems to stand still here - pure charm.

Room Tip: All the rooms are truly unique with their own individual charm and beautiful furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

What can I say, this was such a wonderful remote getaway. Everyone at the Inn is friendly, the food is to die for and the town is lovely. We were lucky to be here when the village had their annual Christmas Bazaar, so we were able to visit the schoolhouse and get a start on some Christmas decorations and gifts. Watching the ferry go back and forth is mesmerizing and a walk through the village is relaxing. It isn't too far from Salisbury, so getting to restaurants isn't a big deal. We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Federal Room which is right over the living room area. You can hear folks talking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woemcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge Area
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here on a motorcycle trip through MD. A beautiful well maintained B&B. Our rooms faced the river which was a plus and we shared a screen porch that had fantastic views. Not much else in the area but since we were just passing through it was fine with us. The host was very helpful with our dining arrangements. The night we stayed the B&B lost electric due to a storm but all the rooms had flashlights and with being on the river the house kept very cool until the electric came back on. We are definitely coming back for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfore93392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

An adorable tiny town on the banks of the Wicomico River, Whitehaven is home to this quaint historic property that was renovated and converted to a b&b. Its best feature is the outdoors. All the rooms are different, none is perfect, and the quietness of each is directly related to its location in the building. (Think antique, hardwood floors and a kitchen that gets started early in the morning.) Room rates include a yummy (usually sweet) breakfast, but daily room service was NOT provided during our stay. Service comes & goes as you never know when somebody will be on-site to help with any questions or concerns. The porches are lovely and beckon you to relax for a while -- although the furniture on them is uncomfortable. Rates are more typical of a full-service inn with every amenity. All that being said, we'll certainly visit again and we'd recommend it. Just go with lowered expectations, and you'll have a nice visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank origami99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

My friend and I went back to the Whitehaven in June, having been there 4 years ago. It's charming, comfortable, quiet as can be. We walked around the town and enjoyed the bird song and, for me anyway, the brackish smell of the marshes. The breakfast was lots of fun with the other guests. Except that my friend was awakened by a strange noise, we had a wonderful visit, and I'll go back in a second.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

My old college friend of 45 years and I love this place for our girls' getaway! We went back for a second visit and were just as impressed as we were when we discovered this hidden gem a few years ago. The setting is a tiny community on the shoes of the Wicomico River, where there is a free 2-car ferry, at the end of a country road on the Eastern Shore of MD. We could feel our blood pressure going down the minute we arrived. The hotel has a long history, and it's been beautifully restored and decorated, and provides a comfortable getaway. There was wine and brownies for us when we arrived, and a computer available to check our email. The breakfast was beautifully served and was totally delicious, and the adjoining store has first-class art and craft items. The innkeeper, Cindy, is friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was a strange knocking noise in the wall, ceiling, and/or floor next to my bed, but my friend didn't hear a thing. (Hmmm, ghost?) We plan on returning as often as possible and know that others would enjoy themselves there too.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury, md
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

My husband & I were surprised with a wonderful gift at Chriistmas with a night away at the Whitehaven Hotel (and free babysitting!). We couldn't wait to take our getaway vacation! We live only several miles from this hotel but staying here, we felt like we were hundreds of miles away.
We were fortunate to stay during one of the Inn's Dinner & a Movie evening. We enjoyed a fabulously prepared dinner with the best salad dressing (I'm still trying to copy the recipe) and fish...it was an extraordinary dinner - and we are usually critical of menus. Since it was the middle of winter, we were the only guests for the evening. We enjoyed a move that was left for us and retired to our room - pristinely reconditioned and absolutely comfortable.
We awoke in the morning and were excited for what our breakfast awaited. The pears were to die for! We were sad to leave and will no doubt, be back and tell everyone else how wonderful this home away from home truly was for us!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jenn3649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salisbury/Fruitland
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salisbury Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
15.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
12.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehaven Hotel

Property: Whitehaven Hotel
Address: 2685 Whitehaven Rd, Whitehaven, MD 21856-2504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehaven Hotel is a beautifully restored, historical Bed & Breakfast nestled on the Wicomico River with two docks for visiting boaters and sits beside a 300 year old Ferry (said to be the oldest in the Continental United States). It is a scenic 20 minute ride to Salisbury, Princess Anne or 45 min. ride to the Maryland beaches, but "who needs beaches with our views" and Maryland crabs waiting to be opened and savored only a few minutes down the road. The Whitehaven Hotel provides kayaks and bikes for its guests, I might add that the kayaking is unique with many vistas and waters ways to investigate, while our property is a sanctuary for birds. On any given day you may see eagles, osprey, purple martins, heron, hawks, red winged black birds, humming birds and many more species. It's a gem of a find. Our motto "Enter as Guests and leave as Friends." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitehaven Hotel Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing