We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, peaceful B&B in a central Cape location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beechwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beechwood Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic, peaceful B&B in a central Cape location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, romantic B&B to get away from it all, Beechwood is perfect. The building itself—a classic Victorian—is charming. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. My husband and I stayed in the Cottage Room and found it to be plenty spacious. We enjoyed relaxing in the rocking chairs on the wrap around porch and in the parlor. The lighting was a little dim in our room, but other than that, no complaints! Breakfast was definitely a full meal—each morning started with a slice of baked coffee cake, fresh fruit, then was followed one morning by omelettes and another by a sweet Portuguese bread bake with chocolate chips and strawberries. Barnstable where Beachwood is located is more of a sleepy town, but there are a few nice restaurants nearby, and it is within easy driving distance of more bustling (and expensive) cities. Ken the inn keeper is extremely friendly and welcoming, though he is not at the inn most nights (we had everything we needed though.) Overall, definitely a solid choice, and we would stay here again!

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in the Cottage Room and found it to be plenty spacious and the handpainted f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    20
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seven Valleys, P
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I need to preface this review by saying the owner has some serious health problems which may have affected the quality of the inn. The house itself is amazing, a rabbit warren of rooms entering into rooms, staircases everywhere and original architectural details that are incredible! We stayed in the Lilac room (so named because of the bathroom). The room was huge, as was the bathroom. There is a separate room for the shower. Although the bed was king size, it wasn't the most comfortable. The mattress was thin, so the fitted sheet wouldn't stay put. I found myself tangled a few times. My husband and I live in an old house that we restored, so we are used to steep staircases, and believe me, these staircases are steep! Not recommended for the elderly. Although Ken (who is very friendly and personable) was there to greet us, he could not be there to greet the other guests who arrived much later. This resulted in them looking for their rooms, trying to get through our doors, and generally making noise late at night. (I hope it was the late arriving guests. Afterall, it is an old house!). The breakfast was excellent!

Room Tip: I can only stress that if one has trouble with stairs, specify a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Beechwood is situated on a very picturresque, pretty landscaped property. Ken ,the innkeeper was very pleasant and helpful. Food was very good. The only faults we could find with this property was that yes, it was old and could use some improvements. (small cracks in the walls, wood floors uneven when you walk across them, and some parts of the room the planks would shift completely, dusting was needed in areas). Overall was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redheader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Beechwood Inn was the perfect choice for our six night stay on Cape Cod - the mid Cape location made exploring simple - nothing is more than a one hour drive from the inn!; our room (The Cottage Room) was stunning - lovely antique furniture and gorgeous stained glass windows!; Ken (the innkeeper) is friendly, welcoming, and full of excellent recommendations!; the grounds of the inn were lovely, even in early Spring, and the inn itself is beautifully appointed and lovingly maintained.

We were treated to a three course breakfast each morning - decadent and filling! This will be a special treat for those who favour sweets - many of the dishes feature chocolate! In addition, there is always coffee available in the dining room and fresh cookies in the parlour.

In response to a prior post referencing lack of attention - we had a wee problem with the sink drain clogging during our stay. Ken immediately treated the clog, and offered us the use of the bathroom in a vacant room across the hall. Within 24 hours, the problem was solved, with very minimal inconvenience. Our take was it was just one of the quirks of staying at an historic property, and we appreciated the efforts made for our comfort.

Convenient location, stunning inn and grounds, charming host - perfect combination for a thoroughly enjoyable stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hismissusNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

First off booking this vacation was ridiculously easy and affordable! We got there and we were instantly greeted by Ken, the inn keeper. He was incredible friendly and helpful with telling us a bit about the area and offering to help us make dinner reservations. We were there for 3 nights and each was just as amazing as the last. The lilac room was so comfy and cozy and the bathroom was gigantic! i was in heaven!. The bed was insanely comfy and felt like sleeping on clouds. Breakfast was to die for. i unfortunately slept through day twos breakfast but my boyfriend made is sound delicious. This was by far the best location for a B&b as well, close to a small village with excellent coffee and close enough to other shopping and dining experiences. Best vacation and by far best B&B ever!!!

Room Tip: the lilac room is its own floor with a doorway into the breakfast room. its huge and airy and the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

My wife and I received a weekend stay at the Beechwood Inn as a wedding gift from her friends at work. What a great gift!! The Inn is charming and very comfortable. The antiques sprinkled around the premises are beautiful and, thanks to Ken, the Innkeeper, many have an interesting story. Ken, as well as being very friendly and down-to-earth, is a wealth of knowledge about the Cape and really helped us plan our weekend visit, maximizing our time there. I highly recommend staying at the Beechwood Inn (we stayed in the Lilac Room) and, hopefully, will be back soon! Thanks, Ken!!! Kim and Steve

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful but, if you like a big claw and ball tub, choose the Lilac Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

It was a quiet and restful Inn. Very comfortable. Our host, Ken, gave us great recommendations as to where we can go biking, great places to eat, and what to see at Cape Cod. He knows a lot about the history of his Inn and surrounding area. For breakfast we had homemade cakes, muffins, fresh fruit, Portuguese french toast, a wonderful egg dish. There were cookies and lemonade, coffee and tea midday to have while relaxing on the victorian porch next to the 150 year old beech trees. Will come back!

Room Tip: East Lake room accommodated our two adult children and my husband and I. Very nice bathroom; comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.1 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#8 of 22 in Hyannis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.4 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Property: Beechwood Inn
Address: 2839 Main St, Barnstable, MA 02630-1017
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beechwood is an award-winning romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn located in the heart of Cape Cod's quaint historic district. Furnished with elegant period antiques, all rooms have king/queen beds, private baths, air-conditioning and tv/vcr's. Gourmet breakfast. Centrally location, convenient to Hyannis, beaches and all the pleasures of Cape Cod. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Beechwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing