We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Pet Friendly Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamb and Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moorestown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pet Friendly Inn”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband, dog and I spent a wonderful long weekend at the Inn in July. What a fabulous find! Our room was spacious and relaxing, and pleasantly out of the way. We didn't use the fireplace, but are looking forward to that when we visit again in the fall. We enjoyed sitting by the pool after a long day of seeing the sites. The yard was great for our dog to run and catch her frisbee. Tom had lots of suggestions for places to dine and galleries to visit. We look for places to return again and again. I think we have found such a place with the Lamb and Lion.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Nice going! You mentioned your husband BEFORE mentioning the dog. Some reviews go the other way! Glad you and your pooch had an awesome time. We happliy jump through lots of hoops to make sure our guests have a great time (obviously some dogs just need a frisbee to make their life perfect). We are proud to announce that just this year Yankee Magazine named the Lamb and Lion Inn "the #1 pet friendly destination in New England, and just this past August CNN announced the Lamb and Lion as "One of the Top 12 Pet Friendly Hotels in the World." Not bad, huh?! We are going into our 15 season and feel like we're just getting warmed up--and this review is another shot in the arm to get us excited for the fall. We hope you and your poochjoin us for the foliage and fall festivals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    15
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
171
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here over Labor day weekend with our little Yorkie and had a great experience. Tom and Ali are amazing hosts. Very helpful with recommendations in the area. Ali is so sweet and went out of her way to make me gluten free blueberry muffins for breakfast. Love their little dogs too. We will definitely return. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rianna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. This couple was pretty special, and we have to admit their Yorkie was just as cute (maybe even cuter) as our 2, which pains us to admit, but, sometimes that kind of cute in undeniable. We hope you come and see us again real soon--and keep spoiling that little baby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Me and my wife spent a week at the Lamb and The Lion in early August and couldn't have been happier. My wife is 6 months pregnant and we were looking for a nice spot on the Cape to have a relaxing "Babymoon" and I am so glad I found the Inn on tripadvisor. It is located on a great stretch of 6A that is near everything but feels secluded. We did day trips all over and never seemed like the trips were long. The houses along this road were beautiful.The Inn and rooms are clean. We did not have a dog with us but several other guests did and I will say we did not once hear barking at night or were in anyway bothered, we actually enjoyed meeting all our furried fellow guests as well as their owners. The courtyard with the pool and hottub are better in person than in the photos. After a day of sightseeing or lying around the beach we loved coming home and having a little time to relax by the pool and take a swim before heading out to dinner at one of Tom's great restaraunt recommendations. The courtyard is also where we got to spend some time with our new friend G. Willikers. Tom and Ali are great hosts there when you need them but give you all the space you need to enjoy your stay. This was my first time visiting Cape Cod and I was very happy to have Tom's knowledge as a sort of unofficial tour guide. Every day we would figure out what we wanted to do and go see Tom. What beach to go to or his driving tours loaded with great places to stop if we were in the mood for a trip to P-Town or Chatham and the Whale Watching tour (he gives you discounted tickets right at the Inn.). Also not to beat a dead horse as if you read any other reviews but Ali's baking is amazing. We would try to guess what kind of bread or muffins we would be getting each morning.(we were never right by the way) The breakfast had plenty of options for us. Yogurts,(homemade and packaged) cereals, fresh fruit, and homemade breads and muffins. Thanks Tom & Ali for a great vacation and we hope to see you again soon. I'll teach the neworn to swim quickly so we can hurry back.

Patrick & Colleen+

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank podps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
What a wonderful review--these mean the world to us. Can you believe it's September already? Where did the summer go?!? This was our 14th season and the best yet. We met many amazing people (like Patrick & Colleen!) and we continue to try and keep things "fresh" and fun. We wish these 2 nothing but the best of luck with their new one coming along. Although, when the pool is open, we can't accept children under 10 years of age simply because of health & liability issues, but we'd love to meet the little one sometime soon. Our favorite season is coming in fast, the outdoor fireplace has a pile of wood stacked next to it and the hot tub is 104 degrees. You should stop reading reviews and book some time! The weekends in the fall are already filling up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at the Lamb and Lion in July and enjoyed it immensely. The owners were very friendly and informativea s to local trips and restaurants. I had one of the best massages ever. The pool is delightful and the room was spacious and charming. Everything was clean and tidy. The breakfasts were adequate. We would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishasmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Yes indeed, our massage therapists are the best on Cape Cod. Make sure if you're coming to the Lamb and Lion you book some time. Stephanie is also a yoga instructor, so she stretches you out while massaging--it's heavenly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Lamb and Lion was the was the icing on our vacation's cake. We spent a week here and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Tom and Ali were gracious hosts and the staff was super friendly to us and our dog.
There were different breads and cakes every morning along with cereals, fruit and coffee.
The inn has a lovely pool area which includes a hot tub.
The location is perfect: 10 minutes from Hyannis and near everything on the mid and lower Cape.
Our room included a kitchen, comfortable sofa and, best if all, a large private deck with table, chairs and a hammock. Our only dilemma was that our room was so large and comfortable that it was hard deciding whether to see the sights on the Cape or just stay in and relax.
We'll definitely be returning to the Lamb and Lion Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fresser48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Everything was perfect about this place. It was absolutely clean, very well located and our hosts the most welcoming people. Their advices regarding places to go were more than accurate, Ali's breakfasts were simply amazing and they made our first visit on Cape Cod wonderful.

Definitely th place to return next year.
Camille and Andrée

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree_C-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
THANK YOU!! Our housekeepers, Donna & Amanda, are simply the best. Not only are they complete neat freaks, but they're wonderful with the guests, know the Cape backwards and forwards, and are always happy to give suggestions on where to go, what to do and what to have with that tartar sauce!! Make sure you say hi to them in the hallways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

PERFECT ... in every way. We stayed 3 nights and couldn't of asked for any more (except a couple more days) from this place, Whether you are looking to just get away and hang out (that was us!) or looking to explore the Cape, do yourself a favor and stay w/ Ali & Tom at the Lamb & Lion Inn. You will not be disappointed.

After a very busy family reunion weekend in Boston, we were looking for quiet, comfortable and relaxing. L&L was all that and more as we lounged by the beautiful heated pool/spa all day. Not a worry in the world.

Tom & Ali are great hosts and make you feel so welcome. Amazing breakfast when you want it, driving tours to any where you want to go, great food recommendations and the rooms so private and comfortable.

Looking forward to when we cn go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sweet 9, right off the courtyard and pool. Great little deck for having morning coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thanks for your 2 cents! We loved these guys, and yes, we love Sweet 9 as well! The historic Route 6A corridor in the mid-Cape area is definitely the best part of Cape Cod. People who travel to other desirable areas like Chatham, Provincetown and Falmouth have 1 major challenge that we don't...TRAFFIC! We find our guests do a lot of exploring. They're able to travel east-west with little to no traffic, then dip down to some of these areas! If you're in Chatham--which we love--you have Route 28 on both sides of you--same with Falmouth--so guests who stay in these towns tend to not move around much, which is a shame. P-Town is up the arm of the Cape and there's 1 road up. SO, if you're exploring the National Seashore you'd better make sure your innkeeper knows about the "shortcuts & back roads" that most tourists don't know about. When these reviewers weren't hanging poolside, they got some great exploring done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,034 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,197 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.9 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Property: Lamb and Lion Inn
Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool, spa & yoga studio, BBQ facilities, complimentary self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Road & Travel. "One of the Top 5 inns on Cape Cod" ~ The Travel Channel. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" ~ Cape Cod Life Magazine. One of the Top 12 pet friendly properties in the World" ~ CNN. One of New England's best destinations" ~ Yankee Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing