We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tom & Alice run the Best Place on the Cape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamb and Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tom & Alice run the Best Place on the Cape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I have been coming to the Lamb and Lion since Tom and Alice took it over. We keep coming back simply because we love the place. Starting with Alice's morning baked greats and continuing with Tom's great exploring tips and you have a terrific base to see the Cape. Of course if you decide to stay around the protected pool and simply veg out - OK.

We just stayed in room 7 and it has been remodeled with a stone shower.
Alice has put really nice decorations around and even has a few books, carefully selected. These guys really know how to run an Inn.

Room Tip: Check the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roobrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    15
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
171
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I found our way to the Inn through a LivingSocial offer and thought it looked like a nice place to spend a relaxing weekend. We were not disappointed! Tom and Ali were great hosts and everything from our room, the homemade breakfasts and overall friendlness we encountered made for a wonderful 2 days away from our daily grind. There was a whale watch included in the package, and we did see whales and dolphines on that trip. The Inn is a beautiful gem on 6A and is close to many attractions and beaches. Tom has driving tours and endless suggestions and recommendations if you are not familiar with the area. Even if you are, Tom can still direct you to places that you have no idea existed. We hope to visit again in the winter and enjoy a glass of wine in the hot tub!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheeta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We celebrated our 20th Anniversary here and Tom and Allie were wonderful hosts. Genuinely kind and willing to help make our stay on Cape Cod just the way we wanted it. They provided trip tours, dining recommendations, directions and delightful stories and history of the Inn and the various cities and towns on the island. We stayed in Lair 1 and it was not only clean and spacious, but comfortable and private as well. Their pups are sweet as can be and make the Inn even more homey and fun. Allie bakes incredible breads and cakes as well! We just loved it and highly recommend staying here if you plan a visit to Cape Cod.
We will be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful! Many choices to suit your individual needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
And Tom and Ali love you right back!!!
We were just interviewed 2 days ago by a national syndicated reporter who asked my over the phone "How does an innkeeper deal with problematic, unhappy or difficult guests?" I was struck by this question. We are going into our 15th year at the Lamb and Lion (but we've been at this longer than that) and I simply told her that we rarely had any problems. "You get what you give", I told her. Meaning, I think we create a great vibe here at the Inn, and the guests pick up on that and pay it forward. These 2 guests were no exception. We had a magical summer and the fall is already pretty as can be. Come to the Lamb and Lion Inn--from driving tours to restaurant recommendations--we got your back! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I spent this past week-end there can't say enough about it,The property was beautiful,rooms clean,great breakfast,Ali and Tom was so friendly and their dogs.We had room 2 It was decorated beautiful.Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I feel any room would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I booked at Lamb and Lion Inn last spring as part of Living Social offer. We never stayed in that part of the Cape and the deal included a kayak trip so we thought we would give it a try. We booked for late Sepember and just returned from our visit. We were very pleased with the Inn.
One is always nervous about the quality and cleanliness of a inn never seen in person before booking. No worries here. This inn was spotless everywhere. The rooms were large and comfortable, the breakfast always featured a homemade bread or other baked good.
Tom and Ali, the innkeepers, were very friendly and most attentive. Tom has a series of car trips around route 6A that are worth the cost of the room alone. He directs you to many terrific hidden treasures that you would never find on your own. The kayak tour was terrific, but that is for another review.
We will return to Lamb and Lion again. It looks like it might become our fall vacation favorite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mainelovers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We just spent the most woderful week-end( Sept 27-29) at the Lamb and Lion Inn.The Inn was so clean,beautiful room,relaxing,and peaceful.Owners Ali and Tom couldn't of treated you any better than they did.They made you feel so at home and it felt like that.We didn't want to leave.I recommend their place to everyone.Book the Lamb and Lion to see for yourself,you won't be sorry.Ali can I please have the recipe for the Cappoc and choc chip muffins,they were to die for.

Room Tip: We had Room 2.Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have a bucket list….it’s relatively short as most bucket lists go, but it’s mine and I’m actually enjoying the anticipation of all the items on that list. This past weekend, I added another major item…learn how to make Ali’s cheese herb bread…oh wait…maybe her rye bread…or the orange sticky buns…or her homemade granola. Oh my….
In any event, aside from striving to make a single loaf that might do Ali proud, the bucket list now includes a “Must Go Back” and stay at the Lamb and Lion Inn in Barnstable, MA. My husband Chris and I were made to feel very welcome as soon as we stepped out of our car. Our room was lovely…quiet, clean, spacious, and with those little extras that made our stay so special. Their knowledge of Cape Cod, Tom’s driving tours, and suggestions on everything from where to park to great places to eat to stopping at interesting places that we would never have thought of stopping really made our three days on the Cape both relaxing and just plain fun. We loved meeting the family pets each morning as we had breakfast by the pool (and other guests’ pets as well…all extremely well-behaved by the way!) And we appreciated just how beautifully Ali and Tom manage this inn…they have a beautiful inn and we hope to get back again in the not too distant future. (We also thoroughly enjoyed Tom’s writings on their website…full of humor and still informative!) Thank you Tom and Ali….and the tiny four-footed friends…G. Willikers, Golly Miss Molly, Prezza, and Cosmos.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiddlerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
WOW! We love this review..and these people we won't soon forget. We meet hundreds of guests a year and really enjoy helping to orchestrate their days, and some of those guests we know will stick out in a memories for a long time to come--having these 2 folks here was a wonderful way for Ali and I to kick off the foliage season!! We are honored to make it onto the bucket list and we can suggest one thing. They LOVED Heritage Museum & Gardens and the special "Dream Cars" exhibit that ran through the summer, but if you really want to experience the museum & gardens, AND knock something off your bucket list, come back in early December when Heritage does their "Festival of Lights." AMAZING. I can't believe we're talking about the holidays already, but the Cape (and in particular our Route 6A) is an amazing resource for holiday shopping. Thanks to our free driving tours, these folks found Ali's favorite shop in the historic district--The Cook's Shop! Well done!
Now, I don't to point fingers, but a certain TripAdvisor reviewer/1st string violinist should get off the computer and practice that piece she was worrying about over breakfast! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
9.7 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Sandwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Property: Lamb and Lion Inn
Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool, spa & yoga studio, BBQ facilities, complimentary self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Road & Travel. "One of the Top 5 inns on Cape Cod" ~ The Travel Channel. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" ~ Cape Cod Life Magazine. One of the Top 12 pet friendly properties in the World" ~ CNN. One of New England's best destinations" ~ Yankee Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing