We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Pet Friendly Weekend”
Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamb and Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Pet Friendly Weekend”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My boyfriend and I just got back from a last minute, two night stay at the Lamb and Lion with our dog Samba and it was just what we were looking for! From the moment Ali answered the phone late on a Friday night to help secure our stay, to our good-bye to Tom at check-out, everything was just perfect. Upon check-in the assistant inn keeper, Eileen, gave us a friendly, in-depth tour of the property, making us feel right at home. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious with a mini-kitchenette and sliders to the courtyard and pool area. For Samba there was a nice backyard for quick dog walks, a dog treat in the welcome basket, dog-sheets available to protect the furniture and lots of recommendations from Tom & Ali on dog friendly beaches and restaurants. We had a delicious, relaxing breakfast each morning of baked goods, homemade yogurt and granola, fresh fruit, coffee, juice and eggs cooked to order by request.The driving tours they provide are a great way to explore the Cape. Other highlights included a soak in the hot tub, free wifi and umbrellas and beach chairs available to borrow, just in case you forgot your own. We went to the Cape with no real plan and feel like we hit all the best spots thanks to Tom, Ali & EIleen. If you're looking to stay in a convenient location in mid-cape with your furry friend, than than The Lamb & Lion is for you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Eileen was our assistant innkeeper back when we had our 4-Diamond Relais & Chateaux property in New York's beautiful Dutchess County. After having to go in different directions for a while, we're happy to say that our "Secret Weapon" is back with us full time. NOBODY on Cape Cod can match Eileen's customer service. Don't believe me? I'll prove it. Call the inn and ask a few questions about the property or the area, I dare ya.
Speaking of "pet friendly" last year a little news station named CNN named the Lamb and Lion Inn "One of the Top 12 best pet friendly properties in the world."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    15
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
171
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Lamb and Lion in last week. I have to say that it was incredible. The room we stayed in was beautiful, exactly like the photo on their website showed. They had a beautiful, clean pool and nice hot tub for guest use. The owners were awesome! They were friendly and sooooooo helpful in suggestions on anything and everything. The breakfast they provide each day is delicious and they offer different things each day so you don't get bored. We can't wait to go back and stay next summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lair 4. It was comfortable and nicely decorated. Close to everything the Inn had to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently returned to the Lamb and Lion Inn for a long anticipated weekend getaway. We had not been in a couple of years so we were so pleased to see that the only changes were positive ones! A new salt water pool in the courtyard and an assistant innkeeper Eileen! Tom and Ali do a spectacular job at making us feel like this is our home away from home and Eileen is following in their footsteps. We always ask about the new restaurants and recommendations for dining and we are never made to feel that we are bothering them. Our (many) questions are answered like we are long lost friends rather than paying guests. Our room was spotless, spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast in the courtyard every morning and my husband, the late sleeper, was up early every morning just to sample the delicious baked goods. No trip to the Cape would be complete without a trip to Truro vineyards and this time we even took a Lighthouse Cruise from Hyannis Harbor. The Inn's location makes it perfect for what ever you want to do, beach, shopping, sightseeing, etc.

This trip I added a package to our booking, the "TCB package" but since it was for my husband I asked if we could change the package a bit as flowers aren't his thing but cigars are. They were so accommodating; the fruit and cheese platter that met us on arrival was perfect!

The worst thing about staying at the Lamb and Lion Inn is having to leave. We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My friends and I traveled to Cape Cod with my small dog and stayed at this Inn. It is located centrally making it easy to travel around the Cape. The owners were extremely friendly, and the rooms were cozy and comfortable. Every morning breakfast including homemade breads and muffins and yogurt were out to enjoy. My dog Barbie had plenty of room to roam. Tom and Ali were excellent hostesses. Any questions I had were answered by Tom. Loved it!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to quaint and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
THANK YOU!! I guess it's true...although we are first & foremost people friendly, we do love our visiting pooches, and many people love that we love 'em too!
In 2013 CNN named our little inn "One of the top 12 best pet friendly destinations in the World" and Yankee Magazine just named us the #1 pet friendly destination in New England. But Annette, you just made it official--it was great having "the girls" here and we look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I don't write reviews because I've always had disappointments with properties in the past.
Not here....we found our diamond in the rough. The Lamb and Lion Inn in Barnstable is by far the best place we've ever stayed at. I am talking exceptional. The location, the rooms, the amenities, the grounds are great, but what makes this place exceptional are the Owner/Innkeepers (Tom and Ali). Tom is remarkable with his knowledge of the area and other parts of the Cape. He makes you feel so comfortable the moment you meet, it's like staying with friends. He is truly a professional and knows the hospitality business. Ali is a wonderful and personable host. She is also a fantastic baker and cook. Her homemade goods for breakfast are worth the visit. (breads, muffins, yogurt, granola) If you need assistance with anything, they are always there for you. If you want your privacy and space, you can get that too. This place has whatever you want. We LOVE this place. My son begged me to promise him we would return again..... and again !
Other properties could take lessons on how it's done !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ligoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Lamb and Lion Inn in Barnstable is centrally located, and was a perfect location for our trip to the Cape. We were celebrating my husband's 60th birthday while in the region for a family celebration. We took a walk on a nearby beach and on the National Seashore, kayaked with Nauset Marsh Tours, went Whale Watching out of Barnstable Harbor, ate great food, and enjoyed our lovely room, deck, the flexible breakfast schedule, and the pleasant interactions with the inn keepers and Ilene. We were fortunate to be granted an early check-in on a rainy afternoon, and had perfect weather the rest of the time. We LOVED our accomodations (The Innkeeper's Pride) and were grateful for Tom and Ali's knowledge of the area and their availability to direct us and connect us with activities that made our three days packed full of memorable events and experiences. They do a great job of anticipating your needs and assisting you in getting the experiences you want while at their bed and breakfast. We loved the privacy of our suite and deck area, and were glad to have the kitchen, dressing area, and spacious shower and jetted tub. Their were great breezes and we only needed to turn on the AC one night. We loved the fresh air coming in the windows in July!

Room Tip: We loved the privacy and roominess of The Innkeepers Pride. It does not open to the pool and that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexRoseBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Sounds like a good time! We remember these folks--very wonderful to have you here! We hooked them up with greatly reduced whale watch tickets (innkeeper Tom works part time for the boat and can hook the inn with great deals (and he hooks guests up with his "secret spot" for the best whale viewing. The kayak tours is actually called Great Marsh Kayak tours and they are AWESOME and easy to get to from the inn (tell the naturalist Bobby you're staying here--he's a good friend, a brilliant navigator/educator AND a stand up comic (for real!). There is another company that delivers kayaks to ur guests right to our harbor down the road. Happy summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Lamb and Lion was suggested by another B&B owner and I am glad we listened. Tom was friendly and very welcoming. He also provided us with a list of things to do and they were all great suggestions. The room was clean and comfortable and fun. The bathroom was quite small, as was the kitchen, and that's the reason I didn't provide an excellent rating. We vacationed in May, but I would like to go back when the weather is warmer to enjoy the pool and poolside tables. I would wholeheartedly recomend the Lamb & Lion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for the kind words! Yea, we're not perfect--CLOSE, but not quite. But here's the thing...do you know how unusual it is to stay at a B&B with this much privacy (yes, a B&B with privacy!) and 6 out of 10 rooms have kitchenettes? It's not your ordinary joint.
Some of the kitchens or kitchenette units are bigger than others. Are they great for cooking a Thanksgiving dinner for 6? Maybe 1 or 2 of them, but most of them aren't. Are they all clean, fully stocked & have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators & stove tops? You betcha. In this economy is a great perk to have kitchens--even smaller ones--in your or suite room. For rooms without a kitchenette they have access to a community fridge & pantry.
Some of the rooms & suites have very large bathrooms, some are a bit smaller, but ALL are dead clean, modern & private--and really, what are you doing in there anyway? Get out of the bathroom and hit the beach! (or pool, since you've gone to the bathroom already).
Hope to get you here--and bring a bottle of vino for your fridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,208 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,066 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.6 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Property: Lamb and Lion Inn
Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 fireplaces. Solar-heated, salt water pool with outdoor wood-burning fireplace. Wellness studio with massage rooms, yoga studio, Reiki, readings and transformation coaching. BBQ facilities, complimentary self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Road & Travel, 2014 "One of the Top 5 inns on Cape Cod" ~ The Travel Channel, 2015. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" 2008-2016, 9 years! ~ Cape Cod Life. One of the Top 12 pet friendly properties in the World" ~ CNN, 2014. One of New England's best destinations" ~ Yankee Magazine, 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing