We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've been there twice and we'll be back again and again!”
Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamb and Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, PA
1 review
“We've been there twice and we'll be back again and again!”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The service was very friendly and very accomodating. They couldn't have done more for us.. Tom and Alice were gracious hosts.
The room was spacious, spotless and sparkling. We enjoyed the gas fired stove on first stay. On our second stay we enjoyed the fresh air and the fan. (There is a room air conditioner but we didn't need it.) Quality linens, mattress and bedding made us feel like a King and Queen.
The location was quiet and residential, but central to all locations on the Cape. During our stay we visited Sandwich museums, the National Marine Fisheries Aquarium and Oceanographic Institution, Cape Cod Museum of Natural History and much more.
We traveled with our dog Flossy. She was made very welcome. She's excited about going back too.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichAndKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    15
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
174
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
suttons bay, michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2009

I was traveling with my dog and was so lucky to have found such a gem. We stayed in the Lamb's Retreat; a beautiful space with a large master bedroom and an additional loft bedroom. Perfect for myself and a friend who needed her own space. I shared my room with my dog Cara; who enjoyed the accomodations as much as we did. Tom and Alli do a great job of keeping things well maintained; they are the perfect team. Tom as social coordinator and Alli working behind the scene; baking delicious muffins and breads and creating a lovely enviroment for all to enjoy. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creatingkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very disappointed by the tiny bathroom/shower in our room (named 'Lions Retreat' or 'the cottage'. There were 3 of us and only one of us could use the shower in the bathroom- 2 of us had to use the outdoor shower by the pool! If it hadn't been rainy and cold, this wouldn't have been such a problem but it was a real pain. Also, the bathroom had no electrical outlets so you couldn't dry your hair in the bathroom -- you had to go into the sitting area where there was no mirror.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2009
As few negative reviews we receive, we are always "disappointed" as well when someone doesn't have an amazing time at the Lamb and Lion. The Lamb's Retreat is a converted 1740's horse stable. It's nicknamed the "The Cottage" as it is the size of a cottage (actually bigger than many on Cape Cod). It is fun, funky, VERY clean and modernized suite. Although the bathroom is also clean and very efficient, we admit that it is a small bathroom. We don't "pull any punches", and if we know someone is arriving whose emphasis is on the bathroom, we tell them so.
We have made countless major upgrades to the Inn--new tiling, new courtyard deck, the addition of jacuzzis and fireplaces, and our one final renovation will be the enlargement of this bathroom. Once that is complete (this fall) we'll invite this guest back to enjoy it with our compliments. We encourage others to read other reviews on this wonderful suite.
Have a great summer--and come to Cape Cod!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My future wife and I visited Lamb & Lion this past weekend and it more than exceeded our expectations. We stayed at the innkeepers pride and the room was amazing!! From the fireplace to the large deck with views and the jacuzzi tub this was a suite fit for royalty. We'd also recommend you do the self-driving tour as it was very clear and easy to navigate. Allie was extremely helpful and the houskeeping service was superb. Each morning fresh breakfast was provided and the environment is very cozy and pet friendly. The location is also good. It's secluded from the main town, but close enough that you can drive there in no time. Another great restaurant was the "Island Merchant" (this is highlighted in the book from the hotel) as it had awesome food, great scenery and a live band and DJ. Our only regret was not staying long enough, but we can't wait to revisit!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowjackets31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Lamb and Lion. Tom and Alley were great hosts. We enjoyed the room and it's cleanliness. We were the 1st to try the new shower and all of it's shower heads..I loved it!
Sorry to say that we never did see the Kennedy Compound, there was a marathon of some sort and everthing was blocked off. But we kept the directions, thanks Tom.
Hopefully my next daughter will present us with the same gift for her wedding "thank you"
to us.
C&K
P.S. kiss the pups for us

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank typicalme200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Tom and Alice had great communication before arriving. They always responded promptly to emails. There was lovely food for breakfast. We stayed in Inkeeper’s Pride #5 and loved it. The room was very spacious. We even had our own balcony with our own hottub. Tom and Alice were so helpful in helping us plan our weekend. They even helped us arrange the details for our Cape Cod marriage!!! We loved our stay there and can’t wait to get back

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaglow27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We just returned from a night away at The Lamb and Lion Inn. This was our first experience at a B&B and it far exceeded expectations. The room was comfortable with a gas fireplace, and the bed was great. Breakfast was simply but more than enough. While the property owners are on vacation, their assistant made us feel welcome immediately - she is a gem. The added benefit of The Lamb and Lion Inn is it is truly dog friendly. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Liked — Comfort of room and location
  • Disliked — Size of bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ruthieCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,235 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
15.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
7.0 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Property: Lamb and Lion Inn
Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 fireplaces. Solar-heated, salt water pool with outdoor wood-burning fireplace. Wellness studio with massage rooms, yoga studio, Reiki, readings and transformation coaching. BBQ facilities, complimentary self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Road & Travel, 2014 "One of the Top 5 inns on Cape Cod" ~ The Travel Channel, 2015. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" 2008-2016, 9 years! ~ Cape Cod Life. One of the Top 12 pet friendly properties in the World" ~ CNN, 2014. One of New England's best destinations" ~ Yankee Magazine, 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing