We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to get back to the LAMB and LION”
Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamb and Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We can't wait to get back to the LAMB and LION”
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Staying at the LAMB and Lion is like being with your family. Tom and Alice, the owners are so warm, friendly and just can't seem to do enough for you. They will tell you what restaurant you might want to go to and if they know a reservation is needed, they'll make it for you.Alice will make you breakfast in the morningand it is simply out of this world. If you are lucky enough to catch the butterscotch muffins, you will be in heaven. They're location is also a major benifit. You can be in Hyannis in 10 minutes. That will get you to the ROADHOUSE, my personal favorite restaurant. The also means that in 10 to 15 minutes you can either be on a sandy beach or enjoying the ocean waves. The Lamb and Lion is also PET friendly. G. Wili will steal your heart. Just the most lovable dog you will ever meet. All in all, if you want to relax, go to the beach, eat great food, you will NEVER go wrong at the LAMB and LION

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeZack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    15
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
171
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My wife and I learned of this gem through dogfriendly.com of all places, and linked to their website. Having lived on the Cape previously for 4 years, I was familiar with their location off of scenic Rt 6A. We planned a last minute getaway and arrived on a Friday night. From the moment we drove onto the property to the Monday we reluctantly left for the real world, our experience at the Lamb and Lion was truly exceptional!

We stayed in Sweet Nine, which was perfect for us and our Keeshond Leif. The room was clean, comfortable, and its newly-redone bathroom featured a roomy 5-head shower. French doors led out to the poolside patio and hot tub. Although we didn't use them, there was also a rolling fireplace, gas grill, patio furniture, and an outside shower there for guests' use.

A nice continental-style breakfast was nicely laid out each morning in the nicely appointed sunroom located between the pool courtyard and the patio overlooking the secluded back deck. Each morning Ali (she and her partner Tom own and manage the Inn) would cook something special - homemade waffle sticks with real maple syrup, butterscotch muffins, country bread during our stay).

What stood out to us was the attentiveness of our hosts - always friendly, congenial, helpful, offering assistance.... always pleasant. Our whole stay was so-o-o relaxed. And the feeling of the property itself was so much of what one would hope the Cape Cod experience would be like. Hospitality, if it were rated above, would be 5 green dots as well!

We cannot say enough good things about our stay here - we will be visiting there again in future months/years!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisip08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Comfortable accommodations in a lush natural setting combined with warm, friendly and helpful service made this B&B a top notch choice for our summer getaway in Cape Cod. The owners took great strides to make us feel as family in this beautiful retreat, offering delicious gourmet breakfasts and informative advice in choosing restaurants and places of visitation. Although we left our kitties in the care of friends, the Lamb & Lion even offers space for those fuzzy critters that could have made the trip with you! A wonderful sanctuary to rest, relax and leave work far far behind!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We had the pleasure to stay in the barn. There were 6 adults in our group and the barn accoodated us well. The breakfast is outstanding--different speciality items daily. Tom and Ali are friendly and helpful. The dogs--all 4 of them are precious and fun to visit with. The location was great--in a quaint, quiet community.
We would return again--good fun had by all.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gator48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2009

If you are looking for a little piece of heaven, then look no further than The Lamb & Lion Inn in Barnstable on Cape Cod. Whether you are traveling alone or with your puppy, this Inn has it all. Our “piece of heaven” at this Inn was based on the fact that we were traveling with our little yorkie, Sushi, and the Lamb & Lion is probably one of the most pet-friendly places any pet-owner could hope for. Besides the four little hosts we encountered immediately, Tom and Alice welcomed us into their home and took care of us as if we were family, all the while respecting their guests' privacy, which is of the utmost importance at this Inn. Please also know that all the smallest inhabitants (puppy guests included) were extremely well-behaved and non-intrusive since the Inn also recognizes that the comfort of their human guests is first and foremost. The Inn itself is lovely, filled with so many interesting things and decorated so warmly with beautiful colors and furnishings. Our room was perfect--Sweet 6 to be exact. First, it was spotless--the bathroom was roomy, the bed, extremely comfortable and it was decorated in a manner that just made you feel tranquil. There was a kitchen area equipped with everything that you could possibly need and the room had glass doors that led to the courtyard. This area (with flowers everywhere) is so welcoming, with a large pool, lots of places to lounge, an outdoor fireplace and a wonderful hot tub to relax in. Breakfast at this Inn is absolutely delicious…besides the normal breakfast fare that also included fresh baked items and seasonal fruit salads, there was always a delicious culinary surprise in store--one morning, some homemade waffle sticks with a warm mixed berry compote, the next, a scrumptious cheesy egg custard and after that, some oh-so-light quiches with little bits of ham and veggies that floated into your mouth--Bravo to you, Ali! Our days were spent exploring the Cape, Hyannis one day with it’s little shops and wharf, and then onto Provincetown the next to whale watch (Tom assured us that the hour plus scenic drive would be worth it and he certainly was right). Along with friends we made at the Inn, Ed, Joann and their yorkie-poo, Ginger, we all boarded the Dolphin’s pet-friendly Portuguese Princess located at the Provincetown wharf and proceeded on a whale-watch adventure that was simply spectacular. The whales performed for us and were so close to the boat that we could almost touch them—a sight that everyone should see at least once in their lifetime. After that, it was onto the streets of P-town to enjoy a wonderful outdoor lunch at one of the many pet-friendly restaurants and to investigate all the nearby shops and interesting places tucked away on every street. We finally left P-town with an exhausted little puppy who made friends with some of the many dogs we encountered all day long. We have never been in such a pet-friendly area and the whole Cape seems to love their animals as much as we do. We finally got back to our haven at the Lamb & Lion to enjoy a dip in the hot tub to unwind after another wonderful day. Unfortunately, we left the next day, very sad to go, and looking forward to our next trip to this place that we call “Puppy Heaven”. We want to thank Tom and Alice for providing such a magical place and to Gracie, Jeepers, G. Willi and Molly for allowing Sushi to come into their world for a few days—she loved every minute of it and we went home with a very pooped puppy!!! If you do not have a four-legged friend, please don’t let that stop you from visiting—The Lamb & Lion Inn is made for anyone who is looking for a perfect place to just stop for a little while to relax, clear your mind and throw away your cares while you explore the beauty that is Cape Cod.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2009

OH MY GOSH! We have found the perfect get-away spot
relax and completely unwind or as my husband say to chillax.
Cape Cod Massachusetts offers us "The Lamb and Lion Inn"
in the quaint town of Barnstable. We wanted a pool, beach
and most of all to take our dog with us. After days of
Googleing " pet friendly" lodging, I called the Lamb and Lion
Inn and asked if Ginger (our Yorkie-Poo) could be poolside
with us. A friendly voice said "of course" he, Tom, continued,
your pet can go anywhere on our 4 acres that you go. WOW!
My husband booked our flight and I booked the room.
When we entered the driveway of the Lamb and Lion Inn our
stress level went down 100%, it was like taking a step back in
time. The Inn is a beautiful Cape Cod style home. The very
charming rooms surround a courtyard with the best ever
built n pool. Lots of flowers, decks and sliding screen doors
grace the secluded courtyard. Overlooking it all is a very
large hot-tub, relaxation at its finest. There's even a
wood burning fireplace outside by the pool area, very romantic at night.
Our room, "Inn Keepers Pride" offered a cozy kitchen, large
bedroom, super cool fireplace, living room, 2 person shower,
jacuzzi tub and oh ya, a private deck with a 2 person hot tub.
We need to mention, the view from the deck was breath
taking. A meadow like yard with squirrels, bunnies,
chipmunks, lots of birds, including humming birds and many
butterflies.
The breakfast area of the Inn was an adventure in itself.
Every morning, cereals, fresh breads, coffee, tea, juice fresh breads, homemade Bakery and endless cut up fruit was offered. Ali, (Tom's) wife made a different warm dish every morning, "Yumalicious"! You can eat in a the open, pretty patio type room or on a large deck overlooking the tree lined yard or even poolside or in your room. What a way to start the day. Don't forget, we had Ginger (our dog) with us all along. I do not believe you could ever find a more pet friendly adventure anywhere. We quickly made friends with the owners dogs, all very cute. It was great fun to meet the other guests who brought their "best friends" also. The pets would greet each other and prance around the courtyard, lots of laughs. We decided to go on a "pet friendly" whale watching boat tour, another couple with their Yorkie "Sushi" joined us and we were treated to a fabulous show of hump backed whales at their finest. It was a humbling experience. To get there, we went to Provincetown, a really neat place with much diversity and alternative life styles, it was much fun. Provincetown offers lots of small shops and great seafood. We also ate at Sesuit Harbor a short 10 minute ride from the Lamb and Lion Inn. Great food and views and you can bring your pet, the entire area is pet friendly, even many restaurants. The Inn offers a full wall of brochures with lots to do in the area. Tom and Ali are very eager to help you plan your fun filled day, they know all the Best kept Secrets of the Cape area. We sat poolside alot and let the world go by. I actually read a whole book. The Inn has books, games and movies to offer. Each and every corner you turn there is a different item or part of nature that will make you smile. I also booked an in room massage for my husband, what a treat! Collectively between my husband and myself we have been everywhere in the USA, (except Alaska), Ireland, England, Scotland, Italy and Canada. I want to return here to the "Lamb and Lion Inn" every summer from now on, seriously, as we hold many heartfelt memories.

Joann, Edward and Ginger Sullivan
Parma Hts., Ohio
July 7, 2009
Our visit was July 2nd -6th.

The Lamb and Lion Inn
2504 Route 6A
Barnastable, Ma 0230
[--]
http://www.lambandlion.com

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osullivan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, PA
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The service was very friendly and very accomodating. They couldn't have done more for us.. Tom and Alice were gracious hosts.
The room was spacious, spotless and sparkling. We enjoyed the gas fired stove on first stay. On our second stay we enjoyed the fresh air and the fan. (There is a room air conditioner but we didn't need it.) Quality linens, mattress and bedding made us feel like a King and Queen.
The location was quiet and residential, but central to all locations on the Cape. During our stay we visited Sandwich museums, the National Marine Fisheries Aquarium and Oceanographic Institution, Cape Cod Museum of Natural History and much more.
We traveled with our dog Flossy. She was made very welcome. She's excited about going back too.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichAndKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.9 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.6 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Property: Lamb and Lion Inn
Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 fireplaces. Solar-heated, salt water pool with outdoor wood-burning fireplace. Wellness studio with massage rooms, yoga studio, Reiki, readings and transformation coaching. BBQ facilities, complimentary self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Road & Travel, 2014 "One of the Top 5 inns on Cape Cod" ~ The Travel Channel, 2015. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" 2008-2016, 9 years! ~ Cape Cod Life. One of the Top 12 pet friendly properties in the World" ~ CNN, 2014. One of New England's best destinations" ~ Yankee Magazine, 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing