We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lamb and Lion Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$122
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Codder Resort & Spa(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Hyannis(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$178
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$161
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Hyannis)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyannis Travel Inn(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
245
15
6
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
15
6
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambhot tubhomemade yogurtthe barncape codb bhappy placesalt water pooloutdoor fireplacedirect access to the poolevery morningother gueststhe hospitality businessbarnstable villagebed and breakfastperfect place to relaxhot breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We stayed at the Lamb and Lion this past August on our way back from the Vineyard. It was an utterly delightful experience! And, I admit, I'm a highly demanding traveler - our family's mantra: if mama ain't happy ain't nobody happy. Our lodging was in the barn - a house unto itself and quirky, immaculate and throughly fun. The breakfasts were outstanding - homemade breads, yogurt, fresh fruit, southwest "quiche" and more. The flowers, the pool, the outdoor shower, all were so well kept and inviting. Ali and Tom were warm, friendly and obliging without being intrusive. I am at a loss with the reviewer who claims the Inn is not accommodating to dogs. Charlie, our golden, was welcomed with open arms. As to leaving a dog alone in the room, I know of no other hotel/Inn that does not also embrace this rule. I suspect that Ali and Tom believe that dog owners are entitled to a peaceful stay free of constant barking emanating from a "people free" room, as well as lovely, well decorated and painstakingly maintained rooms that do not scream "dog friendly" with their odors, stains, chewed up furniture and bed covers that one is reluctant to sit on no less sleep in. And thank heaven! Instead of being relegated to a "doggie hell hotel," we enjoyed a long weekend in a charming environment with great food, great people and lots of smiles (even from our teenager). We have only the best of memories. We highly recommend The Lamb and Lion to both dog owners and non dog owners alike. We, too, will return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewanderlust5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We have stayed in many top rate hotels and the lamb and Lion ranks right at the top of the list. A fabulous location with wonderful amenities. The room was extremely comfortable with all salon products provided and there was direct access to the pool area. We would recommend highly if you want a beautiful setting, luxurious accomodation, exemplar hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble for our attentive and friendly hosts. Their in depth details about sightseeing ensured we visited all the hidden treasures of Cape Cod which we would otherwise not have found. With easy to follow directions we managed to pack more into our holiday which gave us time to relax in their swimming pool and jacuzzi at the end of the day. A comprehensive breakdown of beaches and restaurants completed our stay. We cant think of a better place to stay than the Lamb and Lion.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Washingtonians28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

while the lamb and lion may look very nice and inviting for your furry little friend to bring along on your little get away to cape cod, it is not the most hospitable place for them. The inn itself is nice, cozy with beach like furniture or decore in a setting from a country house perhaps good for a couple looking to get away to cape cod staying in the mid cape area. Unfortunately we were traveling not alone but with our little dogs as well, and honestly speaking even though they may say its dog friendly ITS NOT DOG ACCOMODATING. If your dog barks even a little its is frowned upon, no dogs can be left in the rooms even for 20 minutes?! as this was literally the case for us , EVEN IF THEY ARE CRATED in the room (ours were). The owner upon hearing the dogs entered the room without our PERMISSION?! WHICH IS A BIG NO-NO! Then insulted our dogs later on the next day by saying that our dogs would rile up his little dogs which would run loose on the facilty grounds.....(never minding the fact that his dogs actually tried to bite our dogs and came over to us for no reason..oh btw we had our dogs leashed while his roamed free....). Additionally if your dogs go on your hotel bed they must first wait before they are allowed up as you need to get a special sheet to be placed on your bed given to you by the owner so they wont dirty up the bed...(I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS AT ANY "DOG FRIENDLY" PLACE I HAVE BEEN TO)... and on top of that honestly, the breakfast was mediocre at best. Ive stayed at tons of hotels literally all across the world, and never did i have this problem, Lamb and Lion was literally a last minute decision for us as few places on Cape Cod took pets that werent "motels" . My advice is if your going to the cape leave fido at home, as it doesnt seem there are many decent places at all on the cape, unless you rent a house for $2000 a day in the peak season....overall honestly if this was rated the best B&B on the mid cape, then believe me .......im very dissapointed and they need a new ranking system. Bottom line, good for couples, bad for couples traveling with a dog.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamisD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LambAndLion, owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2009

After you read this review please read all of our other TripAdvisor reviews-many written by guests who brought their pooch to the L&L Inn.
Our "pet etiquette" page is on our website and states our pet policies.
Pet's are typically not allowed alone in the room if you leave the property (ie: go out to dinner, to the beach, etc.). It's the same as traveling with a baby. Do we bend this rule? Yes, sometimes. BUT we have to be sure the dog will not bark while you're out. We are very pet friendly, but we are "human friendly" first & foremost. Guests are assured that they won't be staying in a room with a yappy dog vacationing in the suite next door. We own 4 little 6-pound dogs. We understand dogs will give you a reminder bark when it's past dinner time, or they want to go out and play, or whatever. We are not unreasonable--we just don't allow excessive barking.
Will you get a dog sheet for your bed if your dog(s) likes to hop on the furniture? Yes. This is why we rate so highly in "cleanliness". Our rooms are very clean. As a future guest, would you prefer that we did NOT go through such a small & simple measure to ensure a spotless room? Of course not.
For the record, There is a place that WILL allow the dog to bark and make a mess. It's called a "kennel." We are not a kennel. We are an Inn for people who like to have fun, like to be pampered, and--if you want to vacation with your dog--like to spend some fun seeing the sites with their furry best friend (not leaving them locked up in a place unfamiliar to them).
What can your dog expect while they're here? They'll be shown dozens of places that they can enjoy, via our "self-guided driving tours"--Pet friendly restaurants (in-season), beaches, parks & shops. They'll be welcomed to join you for breakfast, or to lay out by the pool and catch some rays with you.
They'll be welcomed to stay in the room by themselves while you are here at the Inn (perhaps they--or you--need a bit of "alone time").
If Mom & Dad want to go out for dinner and are concerned that Rover will bark or scratch, they'll be treated to an in-room dog sitter who will play with them, watch Animal Planet with them, and love them.
Fall is approaching (our favorite time on the Cape!). The 12 fire places are ready to take the place of the pool, and the hot tub is set at 103. Hope you and your furry offspring can get here soon....arf, arf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Me, my husband, daughter and son-in-law stayed in one of the large suites with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen. For my first trip to the Cape, the Inn was everything I expected and more. Tom was a wealth of good information on restaurants, trips, etc. A friendly place to stay and I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reeneepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We just got home last night but already booked for next year while we were still there!
We LOVED this Inn and so did our young daughter. If you are looking for a quaint oasis and a cozy Inn to 'chillax' then you found the right place. We feel so refreshed after our stay. Everything was just wonderful. I am not sure if i can edit this review later on, but i took a ton of photos...such a lovely setting.
If you like something a little different while you are visiting and enjoy communing with nature, DO take the 'driving tour' and go to the 'beach' off the beaten path beyond the cemetery. The tidal pools were spectacular and we had it to ourselves!
We were there for just a short visit but i honestly can't think of anything we didn't like.
Thank you to the wonderful hosts..and special shout to Michelle =)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisajulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews