We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast or lunch”
Review of Blue Plate Diner

Blue Plate Diner
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Barnstable
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: West Barnstable, MA
Restaurant details
Description: West Barnstable, MA
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The newly refurbished Blue Plate Diner in Barnstable Village, Cape Cod serves great breakfasts and lunches at reasonable prices. I had lunch there twice in one week and the overstuffed sandwiches come accompanied by good-size salads at no extra charge. Coffee is great, service is friendly and they offer specials that change every few days. The décor is quaint (in a positive way). Try the tuna sandwich with cheese and side-salad, all for $6.99.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cape_berkshires25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Barnstable, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“From the Special Burgers Menu”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I usually have breakfast at the Blue Plate Diner but today I decided to have lunch. Starting with the always fresh hot coffee and ending with a sample cupcake, I had a delicious lunch; every sip and every bite. I ordered a bowl of homemade kale soup. Hot and savory, the soup was devoured just in time to be served my entry in the April burger contest. My mother used to make this burger for me. The prime ground beef is mixed with dry onion soup mix and a dash of A1 Steak Sauce. When grilled to your personal preference and served with your choice of condiments, the "No Payne, No Gain Burger" shares a plate with your choice of fries or salad. Don't like onions? No problem, several other burgers of a wide variety are available. Delicious food, excellent service and a friendly atmosphere, all for a modest price! What more could you ask for? Whatever it is, the staff will provide it :).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Barnstable, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good and Plenty”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Under new ownership, the diner has been reborn. The diner is nicely decorated and the decorations coincide with the season. The staff, including the owner are eager to make your meal a most pleasant experience. I have given the owner three requests and in each case, he complied with my request in a most excellent manner. For example, I asked if he could offer a fruit cup as an upgrade to hash browns for breakfast. As a result a most generous helping of delicious nice variety of fresh fruit is available for a modest increase in cost. The food is fresh and is scrumptiously prepared to order by excellent cooks. My favorite is the "Village Omelet." The generous omelet is served with tasty red bliss potato home fries and your choice of bread. The coffee is hot and always fresh. The servers are knowledgeable and honest when answering questions. The meals are prepared in a timely manner and served piping hot. I go at least twice a week, always finding consistent excellence at a very reasonable price. Give it try, you won't be sorry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Two of us ate breakfast here a few days ago. The place was clean, well decorated and the staff was welcoming and friendly. The food came quickly and it was delicious. We had eggs, bacon, sausages, homefries, toast, pancakes and french toast as well as tea and orange juice. Everything was fantastic. The homefries and scrambled eggs deserve particular mention. The price was reasonable. We left very full and very impressed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SoVeryHungry33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Cute small coffee shop, excellent food and spotless inside.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We ate here several times for breakfast Spring 2013. The food is very good, homemade, and the shop is spotless and very kid friendly. Try the corned beef hash - but basically everything is very good. It is in a small strip mall near the post office, quite easy to miss. Worth a stop in before you hit the beaches or shopping.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whodunit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Plate Diner also viewed

 
Barnstable, Cape Cod
 
Hyannis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Blue Plate Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing