We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon.”

Barnstable Harbor Ecotours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pawcatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great afternoon.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a wonderful tour of the wetlands surrounding Barnstable. The naturalist and the captain were so knowledgable and friendly-they made it a perfect day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CatherineMEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
309 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“What a beautiful and educational two hours”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We are fortunate to have a home right on the harbor so we are very familiar with the lovely views we have of Sandy Neck and when friends from California were here this past weekend we decided to mix things up a bit and do this tour. We are so pleased we did. Not only did we get to see the harbor from the tip of the lighthouse to the the hundreds of acres of marshes at the other end of the harbor, we learned much about the flora and fauna and the history of the area. The day was beautiful and with the September sunlight we got some amazing pictures. Andrea, our naturalist, and Captain Pete were really well versed but didn't overwhelm us with chitchat, just really interesting information.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank suzy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beach,Boats,Birds and Beauty!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Captain Pete and onboard naturalist narrator, Gordon, turned a dreary morning into an adventure! We enjoyed a pleasant cruise through Barnstable Harbor and to the tip of Sandy Neck getting a wonderful up close view of the Sandy Neck stilt cottages and light house. Captain Pete and Gordon were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Climb aboard the Horsehoe Crab and the real beauty of The Cape!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank packmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice - But Not For Small Kids”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I guess I should qualify... not for a family, unless you're a family of ornithologist
1. This ecotour is less "eco" and more bird-watching with some history/legend about the development of Barnstable Harbor & Sandy Neck.
2. You should bring a coat because despite being 80 degrees and sunny, the tour of the marsh was 20 degrees colder and windy.

The Captain of the pontoon boat and the guide (naturalist) were both very nice and educated about the environment and their local geohistory but I was expecting more of a lobsters/clams/crabs/fish talk (which my kids would have been into) as opposed to a trees/grasses/birds/local history lecture. All in all it was about 2 hours and freezing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank StopPagingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great two hours out on Barnstable Harbor”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our family of three had a fun and informative tour of the harbor. We just moved to Cape Cod and wanted to explore the area. This was a great two hour tour. Small boat that is covered. We will offer this tour to our future guests and family that visit us here on the Cape.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckerman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnstable Harbor Ecotours also viewed

 

Been to Barnstable Harbor Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing